Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars15
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
5
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 January 2002
My all time favourite Aerosmith album! Aerosmith are definitely at their best when live and this album captures the often mercurial, but raw, bluesy feel they had in the seventies. For me the essence of a good live guitar band is the way the musicians play off one another and improvise upon their songs - much better than just rehashing note for note. Perry and Whitford manage this gloriously throughout the album (headphones on, Perry right ear, Whitford left...I think). The highlight is definitely "Lord of the Thighs" which has a bit of an extended jam with loads of texturing by the guitarists. Other highlights are Mama Popcorn - a James Brown cover with heaps of sax & Tyler scats - and Last Child - great Whitford solo. ...they sure had their moments of genius........
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2005
it was 15 yrs ago when i bought Live Bootleg...
and it still rocks, it's one of the best Live rock albums ever.
along with Made in japan and if you want blood..
Great riffs, Tyler is amazing
Really amazing, worth every penny
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
I have been listening to this album for 35 years. No point in commenting on the album except to say please Sony dig through the source concerts and make it a double.

Disc 2 proposed tracklist:
from Aerosmith: Make It, Movin' Out;
from Get Your Wings: Same Old Song And Dance, Seasons Of Wither;
from Toys In The Attic: Adam's Apple, Big Ten Inch Record;
from Rocks: Rats In The Cellar, Nobody's Fault, Get The Lead Out, Lick And A Promise;
from Draw The Line: I Wanna Know Why, Kings And Queens, The Hand That Feeds, Milk Cow Blues;
from Night In The Ruts - live versions as played by original band before Joe Perry left and album's release: Chiquita; Reefer Headed Woman, Bone To Bone, Think About It.

And for the record this CD has the following tracklist (not as listed on Amazon UK):
1.Back In The Saddle
2.Sweet Emotion
3.Lord Of The Thighs
4.Toys In The Attic
5.Last Child
6.Come Together
7.Walk This Way
8.Sick As A Dog
9.Dream On
10.Chip Away The Stone
11.Sight For Sore Eyes
12.Mama Kin
13.S.O.S.
14.I Ain't Got You
15.Mother Popcorn (includes Draw The Line as a hidden track)
16.Train Kept A Rollin'/Strangers In The Night
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2009
First of all, for those wondering about the inclusion of the track Draw The Line, yes it's all here. It's not listed on the cover or the disc, and it isn't 'track marked' as a separate track on the CD either. It can be found as the second part of track 15, after Mother Popcorn. After 7 minutes of Mother Popcorn the track continues as Draw The Line for another 4:32.

As a live rock album this is a classic. Very live and raw it retains all the feeling of an Aerosmith concert. It's got to be my favourite Aerosmith album. Sweet Emotion and Lord of the Thighs are definite highlights with both Joe Perry and Brad Whitford showing what superb players they are. But there's no filler here. Last Chid, Dream On, Sight For Sore Eyes, the list goes on. A must have album for any rock fan!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2012
This was a raw recording to be sure. Mistakes and all are included in here. As well as good moments. Their live show is actually much better these days! because the substances are not a factor. however back then they were able to do it right most nights in concert. usually though mixups are corrected by recording the same song at various locations or in the studio. But this one didn't bother. By and by though even the biggest mistake here is still part of a overall good song experience. This is worth a fans time and money. But it's not polished like the later live stuff.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2015
This album tends to receive around 3.5 stars. The general consensus seems to be "it's OK". I disagree. This is a solid 4* album. It is raw, the performances are, (I understand), untouched and there are a great selection of songs. One of the criticisms seems to be over the raw sound. I'm sorry, but they should have a hat tilted at them for refusing to add studio touch ups. This album sounds this way because it is simply a collection of untouched recordings culled from various concerts during Aerosmith's 77/78 tours. That's the attraction of this album, it's pureness and rawness. It is a great concert document of crazy, drugged up late 70's Aerosmith. It captures the band in full swing. It's a great guitar album as well, Whitford and Perry's guitars working together, with the sold bass and drums of Tom and Joey. Steve's vocals are raw. Sometimes this rawness is all to clear, like with the opener 'Back in the Saddle'. They do the ultimate version of 'Come Together', which I think is one of the highlights, as well as cracking versions of 'Sick as a Dog', 'Mama Kin', 'Lord of the Thighs', (where we are treated to an extended jam), 'Draw the Line' and the great 'Chip away the Stone'. For me, the album looses half a star becuase of the sound. Due to the fact there was no studio magic attached to it, the sound isn't as loud as other live albums, (think Kiss's Alive!), and the other half star is lost due to the inclusion of the two 1873 performances. While the perfomances are great, and showcase early Aerosmith on their first tour, It just seems too random, popping up like that. Maybe they could have added 'Get the lead out' or 'Seasons of whither' or 'Kings and Queen's from the late 70's concerts to make it flow more. Either way, if you love raw live albums, love 70's Aerosmith and love dueling guitars, i'd buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
I love Aerosmith, especially their 70s stuff and to me this album is the pinnacle of that era. A great track listing, from a variety of shows, that really seems to get to the essence of the Toxic Twins most substance indulgent period. You can almost smell the class As and liquor on some of these performances. I'm particularly partial to the Ain't Got You and Mother Popcorn segment. What I'd have done to be at that gig, although as I'd only have been about 4 years old I don't suppose I would have seen much. Anyway, if you like 70s Aerosmith this is an essential album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2009
Sloppy, slipshod, slapdash. Live! Bootleg shows you Aerosmith how they should be experienced: alive, dirty and under the influence of illegal substances. The release received quite some bad press because it was such a hodgepodge of recordings (understandable) and because of the very careless performances, but I'd rather have this than a studio-polished fake document and with how it's going these days, who actually believes in so-called honesty of bands and their live albums these days? That said, Live! Bootleg might be particularly annoying if you've always thought that rock 'n' roll should be experienced from a sofa with headphones on. Steven Tyler's vocals during opening song "Back in The Saddle," and more specifically, his "Ridin' hiiiiiiiiiiigh" parts, are atrociously bad, more comparable to the useless caterwauling of a cat travelling from the 7th floor balcony to the ground, than a real human voice. There are more instances like that, moments where Tyler's broken voice actually hurts your ears with same chicken-like, screeching sounds ("Mother Popcorn," "Draw the Line"). Also the rest of the band repeatedly seems to care more about the after-party than the gig they're playing. It's not that songs completely break down, but the timing (especially Perry's) is occasionally off, the wrong notes are played and there are accelerations that shouldn't really be there. But hey, it's a live album and that's what happens on a stage. The sound's actually pretty good, certainly because the cover and title promise sub-par bootleg quality. The man drawback is the fact that the songs are pasted together from different performances, so there's not one homogenous sound throughout the album. And I didn't even mention the ever-changing size of the audience (ranging from filled stadiums to their take on The Beatles's "Come Together," which they apparently performed for that night's supporting act. But the actual sound of the music is quite good: you can actually hear two guitars (sometimes the interplay really steals the show), drums, bass and vocals separately. If you didn't like the first few albums, you won't like this live document, and if you're a fan of the studio albums, there's no way you're gonna hate this one. It's just that... it won't make any new fans. Some of the songs sound better than their studio counterparts ("Lord of the Things," for instance), some sound a bit less interesting ("Back in the Saddle," "Mama Kin," "Walk This Way"), and the versions of the ones I wasn't fond of before ("S.O.S.," "Sick As a Dog," "Sight for Sore Eyes") didn't change my mind. The selection of the songs is rather predictable, but makes sense I guess - you can't please everybody. Finally, there are the covers: "Come Together" sounds menacing, heavy and dark, "I Ain't Got You" is decent blues-rock and their often-criticised "Mother Popcorn" is actually pretty good (although Tyler should have kept his mouth shut during a few instances), just like the steaming version of "Train Kept a Rollin'" and its reference to "Strangers in the Night." So there you go: nothing spectacular (sloppy, predictable), nothing to be ashamed of (energetic performances and a bunch of excellent songs), just a fine rock 'n' roll album that's required for fans and optional, but certainly not obligatory, if you wanna have a taste of the band.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
Don,t be fooled this is not a Bootleg, the sleeve is designed to look like a Bootleg but infact this is a very good live album of 70,s live concerts by this gr8 band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2011
When you look at the track listing, you think that your in for the ultimate live experience, unfortunately what you get is a very hit and miss live compilation of Aerosmith classics.

The main issue is Steven Tyler's voice. You can tell that the excess was catching up with him, hence you get a fair few questionable vocal performances. " Back in the Saddle ", " Draw the Line" & " Mother Popcorn" are pretty atrocious to be fair, the band's timing is also dodgy on several tracks, with one or two obvious wrong notes being hit. It's obvious that they couldn't wait to get off stage to get steamed all over again.

There are a few good points however. " Lord of the Thighs", " S.O.S", " Sick as a Dog", " Mama Kin" & " Come Together" are all superb and the version of " The Train Kept a Rollin'" Is just sublime.

It's an imperfect ( But honest and not overdubbed) live scrapbook.

OK, but not essential.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)