Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mmmmmmmmm..........nice!
I bought this album thinking that it would be one of those that I would listen to occasionally but intensely. Now I find that it's just nice to have on as background music. FC fans may wish to shoot me for saying that, but it isn't meant to be derogatory. There is the beautiful voice of Sandy Denny of course, and the unforgettable 'Who knows where the time goes', but...
Published on 7 Feb 2004 by John Williams

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fair port
I know that, to the die-hard Fairport fan, none of their innumerable incarnations can do any wrong. To the less committed of us, the problem here is that you have two essentially different bands with little more than a rhythm section in common - very much as though the Peter Green Fleetwood Mac was put together on a compilation with the Rumours version. Except that, in...
Published on 21 Sep 2012 by gille liath


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mmmmmmmmm..........nice!, 7 Feb 2004
By 
John Williams (Apeldoorn, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History Of Fairport Convention (Audio CD)
I bought this album thinking that it would be one of those that I would listen to occasionally but intensely. Now I find that it's just nice to have on as background music. FC fans may wish to shoot me for saying that, but it isn't meant to be derogatory. There is the beautiful voice of Sandy Denny of course, and the unforgettable 'Who knows where the time goes', but there is more to Fairport Convention than that. There's such variety here, from traditional and contemporary folk songs, to music verging on blues or soft rock. The title of the album accurately reflects what you get. Included is a 'family tree' of the band, tracing its chganging line-up and the various musical influences that were brought to bear over the years from 1967 to 1972. Good grief, was it really that long ago?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Best of' by any other name .., 14 Sep 2004
By 
This review is from: The History Of Fairport Convention (Audio CD)
This is the best single CD introduction to Fairport Convention that you are likely to come across, and covers their golden years from 'What We Did on Our Holidays' through 'Babbacombe Lee' as well as is possible, in my opinion.
Of course, once you have this, you'll probably want to start collecting all the original albums .. even their 'not best of' tracks are generally worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, emotive, interesting and ENGLISH, 30 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The History Of Fairport Convention (Audio CD)
I have to admit that the thing I most like about Fairport is that you can sing along to the songs without having to pretend you're American. Having said that, the songs are lovely, and each tell a story, so anyone who's sick of random strings of words that sound nice together, but don't actually mean anything: this is a CD you'd enjoy. Particularly The Bonny Black Hare, that's a classic. The album takes you through most of the band's career, with such beautiful and haunting melodies as Meet on the Ledge, all the way to the lively and amusing Angel Delight. It's a veritable feast of loveliness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Folk Rock in the rough.............., 12 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whereas Steeleye Span were the Beatles of folkrock, Fairport were the Rolling Stones of folk rock. Just a bit less respectable, Earthier, probably having drunk a few more pints of real ale........... Steeleye were consistently good. Fairports were never consistently good - they were brilliant 70% of the time, ordinary 30%! Some songs which shouldn't really have seen light of day, but overall capable of producing amazing music when they get a head of steam up. And live some of their music is absolutely mesmeric.
It's sort of reflected in the music here. This greatest hits compilation reflects all of that. And sort of reflects the age when the tracks were recorded.
There is the odd weaker track here - sadly some of the tracks when Sandy Denny was singing (amazing voice, bad chooser of songs to sing...........). There is some of the great tracks: Sloth, Matty Groves are both here for example.
Overall this is a good compilation because it is representative of the band - it shows Fairport at it's very best - and at their best they are fantastic - but it also shows Fairport when they were rather ordinary. And the recordings feel a bit rusty reflecting age in which they were recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very comrehensive, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History Of Fairport Convention (Audio CD)
great for the collection. Contains examples of most of the important line ups. No folk rocker should be without this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all fairport fans, 29 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History Of Fairport Convention (Audio CD)
If you are new to fairport and want an introduction to what they do then this is the album for you. I am a big fan and have been for years, i had this album on vinyl years ago and have only just replaced it on cd. All the best stuff is on here it is great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Classic, 5 Aug 2004
By 
This review is from: The History Of Fairport Convention (Audio CD)
Unfortunately only covers the first (but the classic) years of the band
Electro-folk is sometimes appaling but here you have genuine freshness and clarity and some amazing tracks - "Tam Lin" for example
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fair port, 21 Sep 2012
By 
gille liath (US of K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The History Of Fairport Convention (Audio CD)
I know that, to the die-hard Fairport fan, none of their innumerable incarnations can do any wrong. To the less committed of us, the problem here is that you have two essentially different bands with little more than a rhythm section in common - very much as though the Peter Green Fleetwood Mac was put together on a compilation with the Rumours version. Except that, in this case, one version of the band is a lot better than the other.

The Richard Thompson - Sandy Denny Fairport was one of the most interesting left-field bands of the 60s, producing music worthy of anyone's attention. They didn't always hit the spot but they were touched by the hand of God more often than most; they're represented by the the first half here, up to Matty Groves. With the departure of those two, though, most of the songwriting talent had left the band. The second half (taking us up to the mid 70s) is earnest, workmanlike, and a little dull; to my mind, it's only for dedicated folk rockers complete with bald pate and ponytail.

This compilation is still reasonable value, but half of it is superfluous. Criminally, Crazy Man Michael and the seminal Dance medley have been missed off the CD version; that also means there is only one track from Liege & Lief, which everyone in their right mind knows to be the greatest folk-rock album ever: completely ludicrous. If something had to be omitted it should've been the slightly tiresome Sailor's Life (or better still, any of the post-Denny tracks). Overall, it makes me wonder why there doesn't appear to be a decent 'Early Years' release for Fairport, comparable to the many there are for Steeleye Span.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars curate found with egg, 3 July 2014
This review is from: The History Of Fairport Convention (Audio CD)
Fairport are one of my favourite bands of the late 60s but I can see little point in this compilation . Tracks 10 - 18 feature a band without it's two leading lights - Sandy Denny and Richard Thompson . These tracks inevitably stand hidden in the huge shadow cast by the first nine . Newcomers would be better off spending their hard earned cash on What We Did on our Holidays or Unhalfbricking or Liege And Lief . A curate's egg is rarely worth eating .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JUST GREAT, 12 May 2014
This review is from: The History Of Fairport Convention (Audio CD)
Dave is either tone deaf or just out to annoy.This is a brilliant album by one of the best groups this country has produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The History Of Fairport Convention
The History Of Fairport Convention by Fairport Convention (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews