Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
30
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2001
'bizzarre ride to the pharcyde' has got to be an essential for any hip-hop listener. it is sure the fresheest album i have ever heard in the world of hip-hop. i can describe these guys in two words , 'genuine genius'. they do not boast the 'gangsta' image, or do not reflect the gentrification of the movement, they are pure and in it for the music. even down to the inlay cover, everything is perfect, it shows a wacky journey of leaness on a rollercoaster taking you to all different hights of fun and feeling!! the beats range from fast and kinda dancy old-school funk, to more relaxing vibes which show the heavy jazz influence in the music. and the MCing, the rhymes are all like poetry and the speed could sometimes be drum n' bass, exept always presenting something new and never repetitive. so crack on this album, it wont let you down!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2004
This album is one of the best albums ever! This album has a hidden depth of sweetness, On first listens its a cool fresh kinda HipHop with each MC holding their own brilliantly, after a while This album had me putting it on Repeat for hours, it dominated all my tapes on my walkman...(yes WALKMAN!!) I would now give a list of the tightest tracks on the album, but each track is way too beautifully crafted to pick just a few. The Rhymes are Slick, Fresh, Funny and you'll always find a verse that'll make you smile. I have played this album to death but its Sooooo Damn Fresh i could never get bored.
Beautifully Perfect
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2004
A bizarre ride it is indeed. What a debut! From the men that proved west coast does'nt have to mean gangster. This album pleases on so many levels. The production is tight, the rap styles were and still are fresh, and the beats get better and better. At times sentimental, at times thought provoking, but always funny, this album is a very rare thing indeed- a truly feel good rap album, from a time when rap was'nt 'supposed' to be funny. The album peaks a little over halfway and continues to thrill throughout the entire second half. It really kicks off with the hilarious 'Ya Mama', mellows out with 'Passing me By' and 'Otha Fish', and goes just about horizontal with 'Pack the Pipe'. The album's second half embarrasses the first half (which is'nt bad itself) just because it is so damn good! I have loved this album since its release. It really does get better and fresher with every play. If you have'nt already...jump on and enjoy the ride!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
100% better than 95% of anything being made in studios these days, that somehow sells millions. This packs a punch without all that self adoring hype and the bling and hating on the next rapper too, which personally I don't care for any of that. If you are sick of the same old shizzz then buy this, you WILL be refreshed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2001
This album is a must have for any true hip hop fan. Please go out and buy it now to be taught the real sound of the hip hop music. Still fresh sounding today. "Ya Mama" is a classic
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2001
This is my favoutite CD ever bought. It rates right up there with the best of them and is a must buy. Dope rhymes mixed with the freshest beats are what Bizarre Ride is all about. Stand-out tracks include "Ya Mama", "Passin Me By" and "Oh Shit" but I genuinely loved every track. Highly recommended, please buy it to support a highly under-rated rap group and to have the best album you'll ever own.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2009
This album is incredible. The production, the beats, the lyrics, the style, everything. It never takes itself too seriously but it is so much better than 99.9% of mainstream rap/hip hop today. A real shame there are only a few Pharcyde albums, this and labcab are really great. Do yourself a favour and listen to this album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
I clearly remember the first time, a friend of mine played all tracks from start to finish, and I was instantly a fan.
A the time "gangster" was the flavour, and it was so tiresome and agonising listening to tiny egos ramping about popping someone's kneecaps and claiming the hood with Glocks and Uzi.
The Pharcyde was so different and had that crazy/happy vibe about them. I would never ever be able to pick a favorite track. It is so freaking awesome from start to end. The way they play with words and sentences is second to none! So clever!
I would recommend this album to anyone, regardless to whatever style/genre that person normally listen to.

Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2009
at time of writing this albeit long overdue review/add-on (in april 09- the lp cameout in '92!): there was already 14 other glowing reviews of this lp and for good reason: its i.n.d.e.s.p.e.n.s.i.b.l.e.

"bizarre ride 11 the pharcyde" - is SO funny ( "ya mama", "officer","jigaboo time" etc etc),has great vocal irreverent skits, is inventive and for ANY fan of great pop/hip-hop/contemporary black music. just buy and put a smile on your face. band member - fat lip in particular with his chris tucker style high pitched whiny ad libs always hit the comedy spot. 2nd lp - "labcalifornia" was arguably more "mature" with more soulful writing + hits such as "runnin" etc BUT really "bizarre ride" is still considered the pharcyde's peak lp for its sheer joyous, inventive sense of fun. i long way from the surly, machismo of some witless hip-hop i can think of.

BUY
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2007
Ok, I take this kind of thing very seriously and I didn't want to jump to any rash conclusions so I have mulled this over for 10 years.

This is the best Hip Hop album ever written.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)