Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!!!, 5 Nov 2004
By 
Mr. D. Booth - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bizarre Ride II The Pharcyde (Audio CD)
This album is one of the best albums ever! This album has a hidden depth of sweetness, On first listens its a cool fresh kinda HipHop with each MC holding their own brilliantly, after a while This album had me putting it on Repeat for hours, it dominated all my tapes on my walkman...(yes WALKMAN!!) I would now give a list of the tightest tracks on the album, but each track is way too beautifully crafted to pick just a few. The Rhymes are Slick, Fresh, Funny and you'll always find a verse that'll make you smile. I have played this album to death but its Sooooo Damn Fresh i could never get bored.
Beautifully Perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best godamn hip-hop ever made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 3 Oct 2001
This review is from: Bizarre Ride II The Pharcyde (Audio CD)
'bizzarre ride to the pharcyde' has got to be an essential for any hip-hop listener. it is sure the fresheest album i have ever heard in the world of hip-hop. i can describe these guys in two words , 'genuine genius'. they do not boast the 'gangsta' image, or do not reflect the gentrification of the movement, they are pure and in it for the music. even down to the inlay cover, everything is perfect, it shows a wacky journey of leaness on a rollercoaster taking you to all different hights of fun and feeling!! the beats range from fast and kinda dancy old-school funk, to more relaxing vibes which show the heavy jazz influence in the music. and the MCing, the rhymes are all like poetry and the speed could sometimes be drum n' bass, exept always presenting something new and never repetitive. so crack on this album, it wont let you down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lesson in Voodoo blessing, 24 Nov 2009
By 
Andrew (London, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bizarre Ride II The Pharcyde (Audio CD)
This album is incredible. The production, the beats, the lyrics, the style, everything. It never takes itself too seriously but it is so much better than 99.9% of mainstream rap/hip hop today. A real shame there are only a few Pharcyde albums, this and labcab are really great. Do yourself a favour and listen to this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent debut from the quirky westsiders!, 10 Dec 2004
By 
G. J. Shanks "DJ Max-Ray" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bizarre Ride II The Pharcyde (Audio CD)
A bizarre ride it is indeed. What a debut! From the men that proved west coast does'nt have to mean gangster. This album pleases on so many levels. The production is tight, the rap styles were and still are fresh, and the beats get better and better. At times sentimental, at times thought provoking, but always funny, this album is a very rare thing indeed- a truly feel good rap album, from a time when rap was'nt 'supposed' to be funny. The album peaks a little over halfway and continues to thrill throughout the entire second half. It really kicks off with the hilarious 'Ya Mama', mellows out with 'Passing me By' and 'Otha Fish', and goes just about horizontal with 'Pack the Pipe'. The album's second half embarrasses the first half (which is'nt bad itself) just because it is so damn good! I have loved this album since its release. It really does get better and fresher with every play. If you have'nt already...jump on and enjoy the ride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Ever Album, 29 Jun 2010
This review is from: Bizarre Ride II The Pharcyde (Audio CD)
Simply my most cherished album. One of literally only four or five albums I can genuinely say I never get tired of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant funny hip-hop genius, 13 April 2009
This review is from: Bizarre Ride II The Pharcyde (Audio CD)
at time of writing this albeit long overdue review/add-on (in april 09- the lp cameout in '92!): there was already 14 other glowing reviews of this lp and for good reason: its i.n.d.e.s.p.e.n.s.i.b.l.e.

"bizarre ride 11 the pharcyde" - is SO funny ( "ya mama", "officer","jigaboo time" etc etc),has great vocal irreverent skits, is inventive and for ANY fan of great pop/hip-hop/contemporary black music. just buy and put a smile on your face. band member - fat lip in particular with his chris tucker style high pitched whiny ad libs always hit the comedy spot. 2nd lp - "labcalifornia" was arguably more "mature" with more soulful writing + hits such as "runnin" etc BUT really "bizarre ride" is still considered the pharcyde's peak lp for its sheer joyous, inventive sense of fun. i long way from the surly, machismo of some witless hip-hop i can think of.

BUY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars timeless, 22 April 2008
By 
Mr. K. Tiplady (sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bizarre Ride II The Pharcyde (Audio CD)
like other reviews on here this is the best album i own !
have not stopped listening to it for the last 10 yrs , its in my car , my house , my mp3player ,i advise anyone who has any clue about hip hop to buy this !
*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal Stuff, 22 Jun 2001
This review is from: Bizarre Ride II The Pharcyde (Audio CD)
This is one of my favourite hip-hop albums ever. The Pharcyde approach combines everyday experiences with humourous rap, with funky samples and turntablism that complements the lyrical brilliance very well. Short skits set the atmosphere in between tracks, and it's perfect smokey summer afternoon listening. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best hip hop in a long time, 30 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Bizarre Ride II The Pharcyde (Audio CD)
This album represents true hip hop music with slick, intelligent ryhmes mixed with a little humour and some of the best beats around. A must for any fan of the genre. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply a master piece, 28 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Bizarre Ride II The Pharcyde (Audio CD)
This album is a must have for any true hip hop fan. Please go out and buy it now to be taught the real sound of the hip hop music. Still fresh sounding today. "Ya Mama" is a classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bizarre Ride II The Pharcyde
Bizarre Ride II The Pharcyde by Pharcyde (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews