Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Memories
This LP by Elvis was the first one I ever bought many years ago, very basic recordings and style,
but that's how it was back then, really happy with Amazon service once again.
Published 5 months ago by Susan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid this version...
Great songs, great album, poor edition. Really; avoid this hallmark garbage! The songs have been taken off vinyl and had noise reduction or compression or something and just sound terrible. Save your money and buy the Sony releases instead. You'll thank yourself in the end, believe me...
Published on 23 Jan 2012 by GARY HIBBS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid this version..., 23 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Date With Elvis (Audio CD)
Great songs, great album, poor edition. Really; avoid this hallmark garbage! The songs have been taken off vinyl and had noise reduction or compression or something and just sound terrible. Save your money and buy the Sony releases instead. You'll thank yourself in the end, believe me...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Songs only the wrong ones!, 13 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Date With Elvis (Audio CD)
This review only applies to the RCA/BMG release 1996 edition 'The Original Elvis Presley Collection' 74321906092

I bought this CD thinking that it was the 'Original' release as stated in the title... only I was wrong.

The proper track listing is:
Blue Moon Of Kentucky
Young And Beautiful
(You're So Square) Baby I Don't Care
Milkcow Blues
Baby Let's Play House
Good Rockin' Tonight
Is It So Strange
We're Gonna Move
I Want To Be Free
I Forgot To Remember To Forget.

The CD completely omits:
Young and Beautiful
(You're So Square) Baby I Don't Care
I Want To Be Free
I Forgot To Remember To Forget

Adding instead:
I don't Care if the sun don't shine
Tutti Frutti
I Gonna Sit Down and Cry
I got a Woman
Blue moon
Just Because
One Sided love affair
Let Me.

Ok so you get a load of good songs and I know i'm nit picking! But I really wanted the original track listing rather than a bunch of tunes that have already appeared on previous Golden Records compilations and at the expense of tunes I haven't heard. Not Amazon's fault but if you are a Elvis purist avoid this cobbled together edition.
The album artwork is also nothing like the original and the one displayed which is also really annoying as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Memories, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Date With Elvis (Audio CD)
This LP by Elvis was the first one I ever bought many years ago, very basic recordings and style,
but that's how it was back then, really happy with Amazon service once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars elvis, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Date With Elvis (Audio CD)
not as good as i expected i thought it would include pictures of elvis whilst he was in germany and some details the quality of the cd was ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis - nearly at his best., 1 Aug 2001
By 
jsagw@tay.ac.uk (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Date With Elvis (Audio CD)
This Cd comprises some of Elvis' greatest tracks from the SUN studio in Memphis along with some others from 1957. It is Elvis, nearly at his very best, which maks this CD one of the finest one could hope from any artist or group involved in the Rock genre. The SUN tracks are of course legendary. This was the moment when the youth culture was born and without it, there would have been no Beatles or Rolling Stones. The 60s started here and this moment is ecapsulated in this CD. Miss it at your peril. The RCA recordings from '57 have lost that edge, hence 4 stars and not 5, but nothing remains revolutionary that long! Elvis is still excellant as he sings Baby I Don't Care or the moody Young and Beautiful and these later tracks show why Rock n' Roll could not hold him. He was just far too good a singer; far too accomplished. 4 out of 5 and an excellant buy. I'd recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Date with Elvis, 22 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. Robert Mathers "chickers43" (Aberdeen Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Date With Elvis (Audio CD)
Arrived quickly and as stated by Amazon.
Updating my Elvis collection to CDs
Still enjoy listening to the young Elvis. I recommend this CD for young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Date With Elvis
Date With Elvis by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 1989)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews