Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome To The Real World...Mr Mister
Every song on this album is excellent and in keeping with the other tracks. I don't think it matters what order you listen to them (I happen to have a different order of tracks- think its the American version I have) Every song could have been a hit so its easy to see why this album was so sucessful in the 80s.

Its very well done in a very American 80s pop/rock...
Published on 4 Sept. 2006 by Ms. V. Hughes

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars liked one song from another mixed disc
Not what I expected.liked one song from another mixed disc.thats why I bought it.
Published 2 months ago by david morris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome To The Real World...Mr Mister, 4 Sept. 2006
By 
This review is from: Welcome To The Real World (Audio CD)
Every song on this album is excellent and in keeping with the other tracks. I don't think it matters what order you listen to them (I happen to have a different order of tracks- think its the American version I have) Every song could have been a hit so its easy to see why this album was so sucessful in the 80s.

Its very well done in a very American 80s pop/rock way. The lyics also seem to be heartfelt and interesting and Richard Page matches that with a great range.

Black/White

The opening song draws you in immediately with the powerfull synths and drums and lets you know whats in store. Everything about this song is punchy!

The Uniform of Youth

This one has great drums and succeeds in being defiant.

Don't Slow Down

This is arranged so well and pashionately sung

Run To Her

This has a dream like feel to it and a nice contrast to the song before. This love song could have been a hit.

Into My Own Hands

Driving, very spirited and about taking control of your own life

Is It Love

This song is also very driving and desperately sung which suits the lyics to the core, asking the girl if she feels the sme way.

Kyrie

No, not 'carry a laser' as it turns out! A great rock song.

Broken Wings

It is easy to see why Broken Wings was such a hit. It conveys a sense of freedom and the will to mend a broken relationship. It is also very well arranged with just the right amount of synth.

Tangent Tears

This has a softer sound to it, a nice pop song about unrequited love.

Welcome To The Real World

The titled track builds into a dramtic chorus, welcoming one that has just been born to the 'real world'. Good ending too.

Sorry, but there is not that much that's bad about this album so get it if you want it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 7 Mar. 2006
By 
Ms. D. G. Winer "miss2tone" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Welcome To The Real World (Audio CD)
Absolute All American Joyousness.
Richard Page has got the most fabulous voice, and as dated and as Brat Pack Soundtrack as this may sound now, it is still an utterly brilliant, melodic powerhouse of an album, and still perfect to go running to.
I love this album especially the opening of 'Is it Love' and althought the obvious hits are on here, personally I am and was always more in love with the not so recognised stuff, I love 'Uniform of Youth' and 'Tangent Tears'.
If anyone ever saw them on our British 'Saturday Live' back in '86, they were simply amazing, Page sang 'Broken Wings' live and I will never forget it, he was like an angel. I even have it on video.
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Classic, 21 May 2011
Every now and then you get an album that stands the test of time. The indication of how good it can be is that every track is superb.
This album is one of those. Yes its 80's dated but every track has melody each songwriter looks for. Richard Page still have a fantastic vocal. Buy it and play it over and over and over again.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true 80s AOR masterpiece, 9 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Welcome To The Real World (Audio CD)
Mr Mister were one of many soft rock AOR bands that flooded the American playing fields in the early to mid 1980s. Their synthesizer driven guitar heavy pop songs sound pretty dated more than 25 years later, but I have to say that as a fan of the 80s music scene you have to appreciate this collection of tunes as top quality drive time ballards that I personally never get bored of listening to. 'Welcome To the Real World' is the band's second studio album that was released in 1985. The album topped the album charts in the states and grossed two number one singles.
Richard Page's remarkable voice help make tunes like 'Broken Wings' and 'Kyrie' (their two number one hits) typical radio favourites that make you want to crank up your radio a little bit. The feel of the album makes you ponder over an era of the music industry that is sadly no longer with us. Each song on the album stands up on it's own merits so you can listen through the whole set without skipping tracks. A nice collection of AOR gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Guitar work, the album with all the hits!!, 31 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome To The Real World (Audio CD)
This is the Mr Mister album with all the great hits. To be honest every song on it is a classic, Uniform of Youth is a great song. Broken Wings being a big hit of theirs. Kyrie also received massive success. Is it Love is a powerhouse of a track.

I originally brought this on vinyl and I needed it on CD so I could listen in my car.

Buy it whilst you can :).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All time classic!, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album has never lost any of it's charm over the years since it was released in 1985. A trully under rated album from a very under rated band. I own all the Mr. Mister albums and this is my favourite. The songs are beautifully written, performed and produced. Every track is a masterpiece in it's own right. Excellent vocals, guitars and some of the best keyboard melodies I've heard on any AOR/Melodic Rock album.
I would rate this album in my top 10 albums of all time. I first bought it on cassette on a trip to Canada in 1985 and I have been in love with it ever since.

Pure class, just outstanding brilliance!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly one of the greatest bands ever, 26 April 2001
This review is from: Welcome To The Real World (Audio CD)
Memories of the 80's... hmmmmm
I had it on vinyl...no I've got it on CD... and when it comes out on some other format, I will get it again. The cream of 80's music and a nice break from the New Romantics (not that there is anything wrong with New Romantic music)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to the real world, 17 April 2006
By 
John Kops (Kolding, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Welcome To The Real World (Audio CD)
Mr. Mister rules! Happy, good rock you can listen to for a long time. Too bad Mr. Mister stopped in the early 90'ties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome To The Real World (Audio CD)
Had this album on repeat for a while, excellent stuff, really showcases some of the gems of past (less recycled) music. Lots of faves on here, can't really be bothered to listen them but yeah, good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars liked one song from another mixed disc, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome To The Real World (Audio CD)
Not what I expected.liked one song from another mixed disc.thats why I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Welcome To The Real World
Welcome To The Real World by Mr. Mister (Audio CD - 1988)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews