Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELVIS ROCKS VEGAS
If you ever needed solid proof of why they call Elvis Presley THE KING OF ROCK'n'ROLL, then any argument ends with this CD. Believe me, look no further.

This is Elvis Presley live on stage in August 1969 at his rocking and wildest best. Just pure unadulterated rock'n'roll with a couple of balads. And playing behind him is the tightest rhythm section you will...
Published on 12 Mar 2011 by tommyboo

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Album cover it's not exactly this
the cd worked nice,if you care for the album cover like i do then search it before buying it.To have this cover that is shown go for the 1991 copies the others from 1996-1997 are not as shown here
Published 10 months ago by Visa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELVIS ROCKS VEGAS, 12 Mar 2011
This review is from: Elvis In Person (Audio CD)
If you ever needed solid proof of why they call Elvis Presley THE KING OF ROCK'n'ROLL, then any argument ends with this CD. Believe me, look no further.

This is Elvis Presley live on stage in August 1969 at his rocking and wildest best. Just pure unadulterated rock'n'roll with a couple of balads. And playing behind him is the tightest rhythm section you will ever hear, put together by Elvis himself and led by guitarist James Burton.

As if to make you sit up to attention, Elvis kicks off with the heaviest and fastest BLUE SUEDE SHOES ever performed, and without leaving you any time to catch your breath he explodes into an electrifying version of JOHNNY B GOODE. By the end of those two songs you feel like you have just been thrown off a moving rollercoaster. Knowing that, Elvis takes pity and soothes you with ARE YOU LONESOME TONIGHT?

But suddenly the pity ends as he again stampedes through the next few tracks. He belts out HOUND DOG, MY BABE and MYSTERY TRAIN/ TIGER MAN with the aggression of a lion who's had a huge rock dropped on its' paw.

As you listen, you are thinking: Is this person real? Is it possible for someone to be this good?

Your question is soon answered as Elvis rips into SUSPICIOUS MINDS. It is shockingly powerful. This performance alone can supercharge your phone without connecting a charger.

In between this whirlwind of hits, Elvis dazzles you with ALL SHOOK UP, IN THE GHETTO, I CAN'T STOP LOVING YOU, and the Bee Gees' WORDS.

After closing with Can't Help Falling in Love, you realise there is no equal to Elvis Presley.

Check out this CD and I dare you to think otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This really is superb!, 20 April 2001
This review is from: Elvis In Person (Audio CD)
This was recorded live at The International Hotel Vegas in August 69. If you are looking at the content and thinking there are only 12 tracks and I've heard them all before - think again. This CD is awesome..its before the 2001 spacey odessy stuff, I think Elvis is wearing a karate suit and there is no orchestra, the sleeve notes are pretty thin and the stage looks like the sort of thing a scout pack would use to put on a gang show.....but Elvis was only about 35 and he lets rip..just play this CD LOUD because its amazing ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis's voice at its rawest, 5 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Elvis In Person (Audio CD)
Elvis tears through some fantastic rock'n'roll material on this live in Las Vegas album recorded in 1969. The best, eg 'Johnny B. Goode','My Babe' and a riotous take on 'Suspicious Minds' are terrific, particularly the latter. However some of the songs (eg, 'In The Ghetto', 'Words') are marred by the poor mix in which the female choir is way too up front and the showroom location sometimes lends too cosy a feel to the music. But who wouldn't want to open their mouth and sing like that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It has all been said, 27 Dec 2013
This review is from: Elvis In Person (Audio CD)
Perfection, as almost always, but this is 'perfect' perfection. This period of Elvis' varied career stands out like a beacon and one doesn't have to be a 'fan' or 'follower' to appreciate the man performing on this album.

Close your eyes and let this enigma of sheer brilliance wash over you - absolute magic from the one and only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis in the 50�s, in 1969, 8 Sep 2004
By 
Mr. J. Hadwin "John Hadwin" (England, Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis In Person (Audio CD)
We don't really have a live concert from Elvis in the 50s, due to the screaming fans and poor recording technology there simply wasn't the chance, but if you're really interested this is the closest we'll ever get.
Recorded in his return to live performing in mid '69, a lean and mean Elvis belts out a collection of his hits, from the 50s rockers ("Blue Suede Shoes" and "Mystery Train") through his then recent hits ("In The Ghetto" and "Suspicious Minds") and finally juices things up with some cover versions ("Words" and "My Babe"). All are fantastic. Elvis is fully committed to all the material, and in deed there isn't a better version of "Blue Suede Shoes" on the market. Elvis at the top of his form is funny, lively and raw. God I wish they had this in video.
Why not 5 stars? The value for money is terrible. The album pulled together songs from all over the gigs, so why not release the whole of one concert or release a best of with more tracks. I know for a fact he sung "What I'd Say", why not pad the album out with that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis in Person, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis In Person (Audio CD)
Excellant album I am glad it is on CD now.First got this on LP when it came out first.Good quality in sound and the first Concert(s) on LP.A must for the Elvis fan.One of my favourites!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Because it rocks!, 12 Sep 2013
By 
Samuel Bond (limerick, limerick Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis In Person (Audio CD)
Sound is great, forget the fact you may have heard these songs before or have them on another live album, you NEED this one. The sound is so clear, Elvis sounds so fresh, when I heard the album first I was like wow, this is really good and I have good few Elvis albums on cd.
Get it and enjoy, your ears won't believe it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis In Person (Audio CD)
Perfect but I was expecting the double album that I had in the 70's still I shall have to buy the other half now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Album cover it's not exactly this, 28 May 2013
By 
Visa "Herc" (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Person (Audio CD)
the cd worked nice,if you care for the album cover like i do then search it before buying it.To have this cover that is shown go for the 1991 copies the others from 1996-1997 are not as shown here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa493ea0)

This product

Elvis In Person
Elvis In Person by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews