Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Underrated Writer Ever?
This double album truly shows that Dean Friedman, for all his magic, will forever be unknown to the general population. While having a number of successful singles in the 70's, the two albums here are the finest quality, showing Freidman's beautiful voice and penmanship.
The first half of the album is Friedman's eponymous debut. It features such songs as the folk...
Published on 4 Oct 2004 by Mr. GJ Borrows

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great music but avoid this disc
Forgetting the music which is great. A few tracks seem to be filler but a good handful of real classics. Onto the disc. This is 2 albums on one disc which has 18 tracks. I think this seems to be the problem. The last 3 tracks don't play on some systems, particularly computer drives so it won't import into iTunes properly. That aside, a couple of tracks have awful...
Published on 7 Jun 2012 by ziggy starburst


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Underrated Writer Ever?, 4 Oct 2004
By 
Mr. GJ Borrows "[green eyes]" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dean Friedman/Well Well Said the Rocking Chair (Audio CD)
This double album truly shows that Dean Friedman, for all his magic, will forever be unknown to the general population. While having a number of successful singles in the 70's, the two albums here are the finest quality, showing Freidman's beautiful voice and penmanship.
The first half of the album is Friedman's eponymous debut. It features such songs as the folk styled 'Company', and hit single 'Ariel'. His writing style hasn't developed to its fullest here, and the music takes most influence from folk and pop. The second half of the album is the phenomanal 'Well Well Said the Rocking Chair Album'. I have loved this album since I was 4 years old and would say all but one song on this album is a perfect example of pop at its best. Here the influence is clearly pop, with key ballads including 'Lydia' and hit single 'Lucky Stars'. Other favourites include the title track 'The Deli Song' and 'S&M'
I urge any budding songsmith to buy this album as it an unearthed gem of music. Thoughs who own it will agree this a fantastic album worthy of anybodys cd player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 27 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dean Friedman/Well Well Said the Rocking Chair (Audio CD)
I first heard Dean's music when I was ten as I searched through my dad's record collection.
Twelve years on I still regaurd "Well well said the rocking chair" as possibly the best album ever made.
Songs such as "The Deli Song" captured my imagination as a child.
His music is straight from the heart and the lyrical content is outstanding.
His vocal range has always amazed me. I have never heard anyone with the range and tonality of Dean, with possibly the execption of Kenny Loggins
His work is truely genuis and would recommend this album to everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated Treasure, 26 Dec 2004
By 
Darren Stuart (Howey-in-the-Hills, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dean Friedman/Well Well Said the Rocking Chair (Audio CD)
I discovered "Ariel" by Dean Friedman early in 2004 on volume 20 of the excellent series "Super Hits of the 70's." I was washing dishes when "Ariel" came on and I had to stop and listen, and it hasn't gotten out of my head since. In my opinion, it is one of the two or three best pop records, ever. What glorious layered vocals on the choruses, and such an original storyline. You'll think of it every time you say "Hi" to someone again.
Through Dean's website I obtained all five of his CD's. While they all have good songs, I can particularly recommend this twofer set that contains his first two albums. The first, "Dean Friedman," shows a developing talent - but "Ariel" alone is worth the price of the whole disc.
I agree with a couple of other reviewers, however, that "Well, Well, Said The Rocking Chair" is Dean's crowning achievement. Here he comes into his own with a unique perspective and complex, rich characters. Take the relationship between the loser with a heart of gold and the codependent woman in "Lydia." Or the excitement of first love on "The Deli Song." Or the man who finds hope in his everyday belongings in "Rocking Chair." All nine tracks are brilliantly written, and sung beautifully in Dean's unique voice.
It's a shame that Dean didn't achieve greater success (two Top 40 hits in the UK and only one in the US), but not a surprise, given that his music is hard to categorize and wholly original. Treat yourself to this excellent twofer and enjoy some great writing and singing whose quality has stood the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weird, Wacky but Superb, 15 Jan 2006
By 
Martin Burgess "martincburgess" (Bicester, Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dean Friedman/Well Well Said the Rocking Chair (Audio CD)
Dean will admit himself that he is an acquired taste! However, his very unique style of songwriting is clever and witty, melodic and in the case of some songs very profound. He is very much an unsung hero of his day. He still appears from time to time in the UK; if he does make it to your local drinking establishment (a cosy pub somehwre is the best environment), go along and be entertained. And ye, I am another saddo who knows all the words to Lucky Stars!! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous, 21 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dean Friedman/Well Well Said the Rocking Chair (Audio CD)
Fantastic offering from the 70's. Title track says it all - bit silly on one level but gets you right in the heart on another, just like Lucky Stars:
"What are you crazy? How in the hell can you say what you just said?
I was talking to myself. Shut the door and come to bed.
By the way, I forgot to say, your endearing mother called today.
Did you see Lisa? Yes I saw Lisa.
Is that why you're angry? I wasn't angry.
Maybe a little. Not even maybe.
Must be the weather. Now don't be a baby."
Terrific stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars simplisistic song writing at its best, 8 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Dean Friedman/Well Well Said the Rocking Chair (Audio CD)
i have had this album 10 years and it is still my most listened to,the song lyrics are a passage through your weekly routines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lyrical treat for the over 30s. Worth being that bit older, 27 July 2001
By 
Andrew Corless "luggy" (Northern France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dean Friedman/Well Well Said the Rocking Chair (Audio CD)
From the opening chords of the first track the memories come flooding back after more than 20 years. This double-album CD is unlikely to appeal to anyone under 30 but if you were there in the 70s you might well love it.
Dean Friedman bears inevitable comparison with Paul Simon - he's not an easy guy to categorise but he IS an American singer/songwriter, so that'll do. No, file him with Paul Simon if you will, there are songs here that fit the comparison - Shopping Bag Ladies for one. Why not go for the passion and virtuoso modern loungeroom jazz vibes of Humor Me or Funny Papers and slot him in near Joe Jackson. Or there again, go for the humor of S & M or the quirkiness of Aerial and keep this CD alongside then likes of Jonathan Richman or Jona Lewie.
There are songs here that are funny, songs that are melancholic - Song for my mother, songs that are sweetly naif - Deli Song (corned beef on wry), songs that are optimistic - Lucky Stars.
If Leonard Cohen had been born in New York of an age to sport an affro and a major league moustache, he might well have made music like this. The lyricism is all there, the sentiment is all there, the musicianship and logic defying rhyming are all there. This is an album to file under F for Friedman in a category all its own and, once filed, take it out and play it again and again. Wonderful stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic songs from a well-kept secret talent!, 30 July 2008
This review is from: Dean Friedman/Well Well Said the Rocking Chair (Audio CD)
It's very unusual to find a perfect album, and even more unusual to find a perfect album from a relatively obscure talent. The Beatles did it often, McCartney occasionally, and Dylan, The Stones, Simon & Garfunkel and even Oasis on at least one occassion. Here, with "Well Well Said The Rocking Chair" we have another perfect album to sit alongside these luminaries.

This "twoser" contains the first two albums by New York singer-songwriter Dean Friedman. He had a huge UK hit with "Lucky Stars" (still a karaoke favourite today!) and lesser hits with "Ariel" and "Lydia", which demonstrate the wide range of his musical style. His debut contains many fine songs - especially the folky "Company" and "Woman Of Mine" along with the previously mentioned "Ariel" which surely cannot fail to cheer the stoniest of hearts.

The follow-up "Well Well Said The Rocking Chair" is stunning, a collection of great songs with no filler, a singer-songwriter at the top of his game. Exquisite melodies are matched by moving, sometimes humourous lyrics, the musicianship is first class and Dean's voice unique. I won't go through it song by song, they are all so good. If you appreciate proper songs with great tunes go and buy it now!

Dean's timing, though, is perhaps the reason this album didn't propel him to superstardom. In the UK at least, Punk and Disco were in, and there was no room for singer-songwriters. But such is the strength of Dean's music that 30 years after this pair of albums he still retains a strong and loyal fanbase across the world. He would follow up with the excellent "Rumpled Romeo" a few years later, and continues to record and tour today. This reviewer had the pleasure of catching him live recently in Glasgow, he gave a very enjoyable show to a very appreciative audience, who obviously adored him. And you know, his new songs are just as good as these oldies! Now that's talent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dean freidman for the under 25's, 27 Dec 2001
This review is from: Dean Friedman/Well Well Said the Rocking Chair (Audio CD)
I am of humble years (20) and so in theory should like only mainstream older music. Dean is an odd one to classify because, like marmite, you either love him or you hate him. This CD incorporates his first two LPs and touch on a number of subjects in a way that only dean knows how. Well worth investigation and at such a reasonable price. Also if you get the chance see him live, he tours the UK so rarely that you cannot miss an oppotunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utter genius, 9 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dean Friedman/Well Well Said the Rocking Chair (Audio CD)
Only a corpse could fail to be touched, in some way, by the genius songwriter that is Dean Friedman. A master craftsman of both lyrics and music, arguably the greatest of his generation, and one of the most underrated. Unique is a greatly over-used word, but in this case it is completely correct. There is no-one like Dean Friedman, a master singer / musician and wordsmith, who tells everyday stories in a beautifully crafted fashion. His superb musicianship is showcased in this double CD, firstly in one of the finest debut albums, then in the classic "Well well said the rocking chair". Buy the CD, love it, and see the man when he tours the UK, as he regularly does. If you are a lover of popular music, and especially a musician, at least some of these songs should strike a chord with you. Go on, buy these albums. I did, firstly on vinyl then cassette then on CD. I was smitten from my first hearing of "woman of mine" on a late night John Peel radio show, and will never cease to be a fan of this charming fellow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dean Friedman/Well Well Said the Rocking Chair
Dean Friedman/Well Well Said the Rocking Chair by Dean Friedman (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews