Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the groove
Released during the LP age, weighing in at only forty minutes and missing the later hits, 'Time Is Tight' and 'Soul Limbo', this collection nevertheless works like a an original album in its own right. This is the early Booker T and the Mgs, the era that contains their finest performances. The later hits are OK, but wouldn't really fit in here. Their classic groove,...
Published on 27 Feb 2007 by D. J. H. Thorn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars sound tracks
Two or three tracks sound good with others following booker t sound & surprisingly a cover version
But generally acceptable
Published 1 month ago by john smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the groove, 27 Feb 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Released during the LP age, weighing in at only forty minutes and missing the later hits, 'Time Is Tight' and 'Soul Limbo', this collection nevertheless works like a an original album in its own right. This is the early Booker T and the Mgs, the era that contains their finest performances. The later hits are OK, but wouldn't really fit in here. Their classic groove, 'Green Onions', kicks off the album and is followed by a couple of tracks with a similar style, but thereafter the band explore a diverse range of soul, r&b and latin rhythms, without straying too far from their basic strengths. While the organ provides the colour, the rest of the band form the tightest rhythm section of the 1960s. These instrumentals will move any part of you that can move (with a couple of honourable exceptions), with only their magnificent, brooding cover of 'Summertime' to slow things down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Band Who Define The Word 'Tight', 2 Oct 2003
By 
This is great compilation from the best Soul 'instrumentalists...ever! My only criticism is that the 'Red Beans & Rice' version on here, is a live one from the European Stax Tour in 1967. This is a real shame, as the studio version is a real cracker. It is available on a Cd called 'Great R&B Instrumentals' by various bands, on the 'Ace' label. Apart from that its superb. This is the band that, along with the Mar-Keys, were present on almost every Stax classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the great house bands, 7 Feb 2007
By 
Andy Edwards "staxasoul" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
You will probably know several of these (if you like cricket for instance) but there is much to recommend from this collection of instrumentals from the STAX house band. As well as playing on virtually all that labels greatest hits, they found time to record some hugely entertaining stuff. So you get "Soul Limbo" and "Green Onions" rubbing shoulders with lesser known, but still excellent tracks like "Bootleg", "Soul Dressing" and "Hip Hug Her".

Each member of the band can claim fame in their own right, Booker T, Steve Cropper, Al Jackson and "Duck" Dunn set the standard for Soul instrumentals and were probably rivalled only by the Funk brothers at Motown, and the bands James Brown put together for their influence.

For those interested in Soul, well worth your attention and you might find something you haven't heard before too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Of: Booker T and the MG's -Groovin'!, 9 Jun 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
As anyone looking here probably knows, Booker T and the MG's were the house band for Stax studios, and where an integral part of the sound of many of their hit records, especially those of Otis Redding.

So what did the guys do when not backing classic records? They recorded some of their own. The big smash hit that everyone knows is Green Onions, and wisely not tampering with a winning formula the group recorded a few more in the same vein, with driving organ, and funky rhythms. This set collects a few of these together for those who want a bit more than just Green Onions.

A set of some excellent tunes, essential for anyone with an interest in the classic Stax sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of post-Atlantic period, 21 Oct 2007
By 
Mailian (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of Booker T and the Mg's (Audio CD)
These are the best of the Booker T & MGs recording from 1968 to 1972, after their succesful Atlantic career. Time is tight, Soul limbo and Melting pot were the huge hits with a more funky and outspoken sound. The other instrumentals vary from good to excellent (great versions of Born under a bad sign, Something, Mrs. Robinson) except for the weak vocals on Johnny I love you. This is the one to buy after the Atlantic Best Ofs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool and easy listening, 21 Jan 2002
By 
MRS SARAH SCHOLES (REDRUTH, CORNWALL United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of Booker T and the Mg's (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of BT & MG,s since i was a teenager, my all time favorite being time is tight. I usually don,t like organ music, you know the sort you get in the local social club! But this is absolutely brill it also has some good memories for me, i find you can chill out or step it up abit depending on your mood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but . . ., 12 Jan 2014
By 
B. P. Roberts (Southern UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this collection of music by one of the best, tightest bands from the US in the 60s. Only wish they'd inluded TIME IS TIGHT!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Help, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent way to replace at reasonable cost old cassette albums that I want to storeas mp3 in my music library on the home PC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST OF BOOKER T & THE MG`S, 21 Aug 2010
By 
Lesley Bashford (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great cd, a tiny bit dated, but `Green Onions` is as outstanding as it was many years ago. `Mo Onions` is really good also, would recommend to all you jazz and hippy fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars better than the best, 24 July 2010
This review is from: The Best of Booker T and the Mg's (Audio CD)
i have tried for a long time to get this product,and was told by the record shops that it was deleted.so i tried amazon,and there it was much to my amazement,since then i have purchased two more so called deleted records,and am in the process of some more,so why look further than amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Booker T and the Mg's
The Best of Booker T and the Mg's by Booker T. & The MG's (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews