Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars66
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is a great low cost box set which does exactly what it says on the box - it gives you 100 classical music hits, covering all the styles such as baroque, classical, romantic and modern, and includes music from all the popular composers.

Some of the tracks are simply excerpts from the full piece, for example Beethoven's Ninth symphony, originally over 60 minutes long, is reduced to a two and a half minute rousing chorus of the popular `Ode to Joy'. Likewise, Tchaikovsky's 1812 overture is cut from 15 minutes down to the last few minutes of the exciting thunder and fireworks finale.

This editing enables a great range of `hits' to be squeezed onto five discs, and gives the classical music novice a chance to dip their toe in the water and maybe move onwards to more comprehensive works from their favourite artist if they like what they hear.

For the more serious listener, who will probably already have much of the music, this collection may have less appeal but I think it's a great set to have, even just to keep in the car or use as a little background music for those dinner parties...

A bargain box of classical music.
0Comment|87 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2006
If you are more inclined to call yourself serious about classical music, this box set will surely not bring you much in the way of new and exciting recordings. However, for a beginner (such as myself) this box set provides a good variety of perhaps the greatest and well known of classical pieces. It also gives you an idea of the different composers and their music, providing a foundation on which to build on. For beginners to classical music, highly recommended!!!
0Comment|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2004
I've been a classical fan for many years and it has often been the case that classical compilation CDs that I've listened to have been short exerpts of composers' most famous works. This box set includes some of the best loved compositions and I really cannot fault the selection of the pieces. My main critique is that several tracks have been shortened to only what the makers consider to be 'the most famous bits' like the haunting opening to Bach's Toccata and Fugue, while leaving out some of the essential parts. For example, Liszt's Hungarian Rhapsody #2 has been shortened to just under 5 minutes beginning only at the main crescendo and Bach's Toccata and Fugue in D Minor is reduced to only 3 mins 18 seconds. So overall, if you are perhaps just getting into classical music, this is an excellent introduction to help you find out which composers you like or don't like, however I don't think this should be a purchase for serious classical fans.
0Comment|127 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2009
Not being an expert in classical music, I purchased this item to get an 'all-round' experience of it. I loved it. I would recommend this CD to total beginners in classical music and I have no doubt that those more experienced in this subject would enjoy it equally, as well!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2010
this is a great catalogue of various beautiful classical pieces, from Verdi to Grieg, and Mozart to Ravel all the best airs are there! There is some opera singing too but very little. The quality is also good for such a big selection which is also important. I would definitely recommend it- great value for money!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
This vast selection of 100 classics covers a great choice of music over 5 discs. Some tracks you get to hear in their full-length (e.g Prokofiev's "Dance of the Knights", Beethoven's "Symphony No' 5", Mozart's "Eine Kleine Nauctmusik") however others are so severely excerpted and you can instantly tell something is missing. This was probably necessary in order to cram 100 tracks onto one 5-disc album but I do think at least some of them could've been less heavily excerpted. The covers of each disc are all different colours of the ocean as shown on the main cover - very tasteful, I think! Overall, this is a lovely album with a great selection of classical music.

Please note that there is a misprint on the inlay of CD 1 about Mozart's "Symphony No' 40" being 7:02 but on the album it is not even half this length.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2010
100 Classical Hits
I found this collection wonderful and would reccomend to others who would like to hear a selection of all types of music
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2010
Again class cd's (5) in all over an hour per cd, and good value to boot!!! What more do you want again I have them in my car with me all the time.....
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
A great starter box set for anybody wanting a great collection with all the well known classics, at this price you can't go wrong
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2011
This compilation, on five discs, is wide sweeping and has many familiar pieces on it which are pleasing to the ear. The only thing that annoys me is fade outs and there are a few in selections from symphonies or piano concertos.

Other gems are superb because you hear them in their entirety and it would have been better if there were six discs instead of five so that you can listen to a particular movement instead of fading it out to cram in 100 pieces into five discs. Alternatively have 80 or 90 Classical hits on five discs so that we can at least hear selections complete with NO fade outs.

Nevertheless this is a good value for money classical collection.

Robin Ebers
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)