Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Class Classical 100
This is a great low cost box set which does exactly what it says on the box - it gives you 100 classical music hits, covering all the styles such as baroque, classical, romantic and modern, and includes music from all the popular composers.

Some of the tracks are simply excerpts from the full piece, for example Beethoven's Ninth symphony, originally over 60...
Published on 3 April 2007 by Mart

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I purchased this box set of 100 classical hits specifically for use in the car. It contained a lot of my favorite classical musical and I thought it would be ideal, for long journeys. However, whoever put the original music together obviously didn't listen to it because the sound quality and volume between tracks on all the discs is diabolical. You have to turn the volume...
Published on 20 July 2012 by frank


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Class Classical 100, 3 April 2007
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 100 Classical Hits (Audio CD)
This is a great low cost box set which does exactly what it says on the box - it gives you 100 classical music hits, covering all the styles such as baroque, classical, romantic and modern, and includes music from all the popular composers.

Some of the tracks are simply excerpts from the full piece, for example Beethoven's Ninth symphony, originally over 60 minutes long, is reduced to a two and a half minute rousing chorus of the popular `Ode to Joy'. Likewise, Tchaikovsky's 1812 overture is cut from 15 minutes down to the last few minutes of the exciting thunder and fireworks finale.

This editing enables a great range of `hits' to be squeezed onto five discs, and gives the classical music novice a chance to dip their toe in the water and maybe move onwards to more comprehensive works from their favourite artist if they like what they hear.

For the more serious listener, who will probably already have much of the music, this collection may have less appeal but I think it's a great set to have, even just to keep in the car or use as a little background music for those dinner parties...

A bargain box of classical music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for beginners, adequate for enthusiasts., 1 Nov 2006
By 
C. M. Beese Jarvis "Josh J" (Berksire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Classical Hits (Audio CD)
If you are more inclined to call yourself serious about classical music, this box set will surely not bring you much in the way of new and exciting recordings. However, for a beginner (such as myself) this box set provides a good variety of perhaps the greatest and well known of classical pieces. It also gives you an idea of the different composers and their music, providing a foundation on which to build on. For beginners to classical music, highly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


122 of 127 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Selection, but perhaps not for serious classical fans, 23 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: 100 Classical Hits (Audio CD)
I've been a classical fan for many years and it has often been the case that classical compilation CDs that I've listened to have been short exerpts of composers' most famous works. This box set includes some of the best loved compositions and I really cannot fault the selection of the pieces. My main critique is that several tracks have been shortened to only what the makers consider to be 'the most famous bits' like the haunting opening to Bach's Toccata and Fugue, while leaving out some of the essential parts. For example, Liszt's Hungarian Rhapsody #2 has been shortened to just under 5 minutes beginning only at the main crescendo and Bach's Toccata and Fugue in D Minor is reduced to only 3 mins 18 seconds. So overall, if you are perhaps just getting into classical music, this is an excellent introduction to help you find out which composers you like or don't like, however I don't think this should be a purchase for serious classical fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soothing Music, 10 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: 100 Classical Hits (Audio CD)
Not being an expert in classical music, I purchased this item to get an 'all-round' experience of it. I loved it. I would recommend this CD to total beginners in classical music and I have no doubt that those more experienced in this subject would enjoy it equally, as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good classical compilations!, 2 Dec 2010
This review is from: 100 Classical Hits (Audio CD)
this is a great catalogue of various beautiful classical pieces, from Verdi to Grieg, and Mozart to Ravel all the best airs are there! There is some opera singing too but very little. The quality is also good for such a big selection which is also important. I would definitely recommend it- great value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 100 Classical Hits CD, 18 Feb 2011
By 
R. Ebers ""Summerley"" (Woking UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Classical Hits (Audio CD)
This compilation, on five discs, is wide sweeping and has many familiar pieces on it which are pleasing to the ear. The only thing that annoys me is fade outs and there are a few in selections from symphonies or piano concertos.

Other gems are superb because you hear them in their entirety and it would have been better if there were six discs instead of five so that you can listen to a particular movement instead of fading it out to cram in 100 pieces into five discs. Alternatively have 80 or 90 Classical hits on five discs so that we can at least hear selections complete with NO fade outs.

Nevertheless this is a good value for money classical collection.

Robin Ebers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Selection, 8 Mar 2010
By 
Michael V. Rogers "vern" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Classical Hits (Audio CD)
100 Classical Hits
I found this collection wonderful and would reccomend to others who would like to hear a selection of all types of music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of good CD'S, 20 Feb 2010
By 
Big Al (Rep of Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Classical Hits (Audio CD)
Again class cd's (5) in all over an hour per cd, and good value to boot!!! What more do you want again I have them in my car with me all the time.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Collection of Classical Music, 16 Jun 2010
By 
Kevin Foster (Coventry UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This collection was an inexpensive way to get a large amount of the most popular classical music items. Perfect for someone who does not want to spend money on buying a number of albums, but would like a varied choice of popular classics to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the Classics, 14 Feb 2010
This review is from: 100 Classical Hits (Audio CD)
A great starter box set for anybody wanting a great collection with all the well known classics, at this price you can't go wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Classical Hits
100 Classical Hits by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews