Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars listening with prejudice in favour of this album!
This album is a masterpiece! From the energetic upbeat Freedom! '90 to the musically enchanting They Won't Go When I Go, or the musical wizardry of praying for time there isn't a bad track to be found. George Michael really has come of age with this album. The Lyrics are as fine as you'll find, with the words of praying for time in a league of their own. Whether you...
Published on 24 Jun 2005

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars George got faith
An overlooked classic and compared to his later output, this is the last really good album from the man who made stubble look questionable on a bloke.

Great songs and still to be bettered by him
Published 17 months ago by Conan the Stamp Collector


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars listening with prejudice in favour of this album!, 24 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Listen Without Prejudice Vol. 1 (Audio CD)
This album is a masterpiece! From the energetic upbeat Freedom! '90 to the musically enchanting They Won't Go When I Go, or the musical wizardry of praying for time there isn't a bad track to be found. George Michael really has come of age with this album. The Lyrics are as fine as you'll find, with the words of praying for time in a league of their own. Whether you want to join in with George in the singing of something to save, or if you want to be drawn almost hypnotically away by mothers pride there is something for everyone. Buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the top 5 cd's of the 90's, 18 Aug 2000
This review is from: Listen Without Prejudice Vol. 1 (Audio CD)
Without question, in this area of the world, this is the record that had people scratching their heads when it came out. No longer he of the "biker-femme" persona, GM came out (you know what I mean) with an incredible sophomore effort. Serious, vulnerable, so much different than Wham! or "Faith." Most people I know have never even listened to the record (which says a lot about how difficult it is to hear any GM in the States), others doubted it could be anything more than Faith II. Those who gave it a listen were hooked. Even those who despised George from Faith. Even those who don't necessarily like his style. They all had to admit that this is a record that reaches near epic, operatic proportions. "Cowboys and Angels" is the most interesting track, but it is the more radio friendly "Waiting for that Day" that is widely held to be the "song" of the album. Just an opinion, but maybe George was going through some sort of spiritual struggle while writing these songs (and as I understand had just been dumped by Kathy Jeung). Who knows? These last few years have proven that whatever kind of struggle it was, he lost (see LA cop fiasco). This is the George Michael that I want to remember when he retires to the South of France and stops making music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding song writing.One of The Worlds Greatest Talents, 24 Jan 2004
By 
This review is from: Listen Without Prejudice Vol. 1 (Audio CD)
This Album is outstanding.It is a great example of an artist being able to put what very personal feelings he has and turn those feelings into beautiful song and outstandingly produced music.George Michael has,with this album,created an album that really shows what music is;A medium in which to project ones personal feelings into a beautiful and enjoyable thing.Personal feeling,passion,emotion and heart is what music is about and George just does it with this album.Listen to the words and music and you cant help but feel what George is trying to say.Beautiful.Simon Edwards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George's Finest Hour?, 15 Mar 2011
This review is from: Listen Without Prejudice Vol. 1 (Audio CD)
More than 20 years on, and this album has stood the test of time. It's a masterpiece, and overlooked by many.
George's singing, as always is flawless. In fact, he provides all the vocals on the wonderful 'They Won't Go When I Go'.
If you're in any way curious about George Michael's music, and are unsure where to start, start here. You can go back and visit 'Faith' later on. These are two very different albums, but 'Listen..' is far superior.
Has GM made a better album than LWP? I don't think so, but others have come close -check out 'Older' for some outstanding vocals, and haunting performances, aswell as some subtle dancefloor beats.
Highlights on 'Listen Without Prejudice' for me, are 'Praying For Time', 'They Won't Go When I Go', 'Cowboys and Angels', and 'Mothers Pride'.. but it's hard to pick just those few..
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George doing what George does best, 22 Mar 2006
By 
Mr. John Mulrine "comatised2" (darlington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Listen Without Prejudice Vol. 1 (Audio CD)
If like me you have kind of always floated around the outskirts of GM then I would recommend this album as a stern follow up to Faith.
Yes Faith is pop but the melodies are strong and you really need that in your mind when you take on this album.
Firstly this album is GREAT - it is full of different layerings of songs and melodies that just stick in your head all day.
It took me a while to get this album but actually the maturity in just 3 yrs is fabulous. You should also discount the chart placings - the low charting singles was because George was sabotaging his own career in a way - not appearing in videos, having no text on his singles or having text and no pic.
Anyway his artistic views kind of covered the value of the songs and speaking of the songs:
1) PRAYING FOR TIME 5/5 what a cracker of a song - the tip of the iceberg really - if you get this song you will get the album. It is a crashing ballad about opening our eyes to the world. UK #8 - 1st single (B-Side: If You Were My Woman).
2) FREEDOM 5/5 THE song that got me into this album - it was the only song I considered from this album as being worthy for a long time before the rest grew on me. About reflecting on the Wham days. UK #28 - 3rd single.
3)THEY WON'T GO WHEN I GO 4/5 A broody ballad his voice is faultless on this - I love his rendition of this classic, he really shows that he can apply his voice to anything. I just marked it down because it is not a GM composition.
4)SOMETHING TO SAVE 5/5 A cheeky little track in my opinion - acoustic guitar driven pop very upbeat and well just nice (love his high voice around 2:40 over the strings). Seems to deal with not communicating in a relationship. B-Side to Cowboys & Angels UK #45 - 5th Single.
6)COWBOYS & ANGELS 5/5 WOW what a strumpy, swinging piece of jazz this is. Carries itself so well. It is a grower you just need to keep putting it on because it has its melody. I can't describe it is genius at 7mins. UK #45 - 5th Single.
7)WAITING FOR THAT DAY 5/5 Oh yeah THAT song - the song of the album most say and yes it is a clever song by not having much about it but a hook of a line in "My memory serves me far too well". The line "and if these wounds are self inflicted" always sticks in my head. I think this is spliting up and trying to find another woman but having the memory there all the time - not able to move on. UK #23 - 2nd Single (B-side: Fantasy (found on the Best of....such a great song!)).
8)MOTHERS PRIDE 5/5 A soft and tense piano ballad. I feel the emotion in this one. Stark with a panpipe that shouldn't work but does. All about sending a boy off to war....very poignant. Could get boring but its on 4mins which is its saving grace. B-Side to Freedom UK #28 - 3rd Single.
9)HEAL THE PAIN 5/5 Great great great - he gets it spot on here. Clever pop and I really appreciate it - the hook here for me is "how can I help you, please let me try to" the lyrics fit the melody so well. This guy is a genius with this song. UK #31 - 4th Single.
10)SOUL FREE 5/5 The oddest track for me. That piano sounds dated here and very early 90's but it works and the song is strong - great vocal range expressed here. It seems this song does signal the arrival of Too Funky. B-Side to Heal The Pain - UK #31 - 4th Single.
11)WAITING (REPRISE) 5/5 This track is needed - it provides great closure after Soul Free tails off a bit. Follows on with the melody of Waiting for that Day a bit. I think it is George asking for people to look again at him. B-Side to Praying For Time - UK #8 - 1st Single.
Knowing that there was a plan for LWP Vol.2 of more dancey songs planned for the following June (91) makes Freedom and Soul Free seem out of place - but thank god they got on here because the album needs them. I would have liked "Fantasy" on here and "They Won't Go When I Go" off cause its a non GM track.
BUT this is one of the most complete continuously good George albums and LOOK 9 out of 11 of the tracks appeared on the CD singles from this album showing just how strong it was (plus I guess George didn't want old Faith tracks or live performances appearing except Father Figure/Kissing A Fool (the most mature of Faith) on WFTD).
Final words
Get this album - put it on and wonder what GM must have gone through between 1987-1990 - the man has had so much struggle and vented it delightfully through an amazing album
I WISH he had never wrangled with Sony this album would have been HUGE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXPOSED . . ., 6 Dec 2012
This review is from: Listen Without Prejudice Vol. 1 (Audio CD)
. . . and I'm talking about George Michael's sheer musical talent of course.

This epic was released at the height of George Michael's stardom in 1990, following his first solo album FAITH three years earlier. Intentionally, it was a different direction from 1987 and worlds away from his 1980s collaboration in the mega successful boy band WHAM.

I can only second all the rave reviews here. This must rank as George Michael's best work in my opinion, and one of the best albums ever recorded. Musically and lyrically, every track is pure art, with Heal The Pain easily being my favourite.

It is almost impossible to fault any of this artist's recordings anyway but I strongly recommend you add this particular album to your music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instant stand-out classic from George, 14 Jun 2011
This review is from: Listen Without Prejudice Vol. 1 (Audio CD)
George Michael recorded this album when he was trying to break away from his leather-jacketed, shades-wearing image from 'Faith' which enabled him to reach mega-star status in the USA. This one is a more personal affair, going for a classic B&W photograph instead of a posing mug shot, and the US-style production in favour of much more acoustic feel, which really showcases his incredible voice. He's since said he wouldn't do this kind of album again, but I'm willing to bet 99% of his fans would want another one of these than another 'Patience'. This is a gentle, often melancholy album of instant classics. 'Praying For Time' is unique in that it's laconic yet still a powerhouse track. 'Cowboys And Angels' is beautiful and relaxing, while 'Mothers Pride' is a painful anti-war song that brings a lump to the throat. Apparently this album is labelled 'Vol.1' because George wante dthe accompanying Vol 2 to be a more upbeat CD, but his battle for freedom from Sony Music put the brakes on that one. So we'll never know. I fI were to point out the weakest thing on this album of undeniable classics, it would only be the use of the 'Funky Drummer' beat that accompanies "Waiting For That Day" - It works alright, but I'm sure it'd be just as good without this audio cliche. Its still the finest album that George has ever made. That's my opinion, but I know I'm not alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic older should of been vol 2 fantastic album!!, 27 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. S. L. Smith "musicman" (england carlisle cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Listen Without Prejudice Vol. 1 (Audio CD)
fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! older and this one are both fantastic and the cover of stevie wonders you wont go when i go is fantastic stevie wonder need i say anymore what a singer and songwriter!! buy this and older fantastic albums!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George Michæl has great musical skill after all, 16 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Listen Without Prejudice Vol. 1 (Audio CD)
Gee, Mr Michael (or Michæl as he spells his name on this album), why didn't you release such grown-up stuff before? I kinda liked your discopop from the Wham! times - but on »Listen Without Prejudice«, you really show an amazing talent.
The songs are very emotional, and the instrumentation is really great. My favourite is the funky »Soul Free«, narrowly challenged by the tense atmosphere in the jazz song »Cowboys And Angels« as well as the fluteplay and strong vocals on »Mothers Pride«.
The least good song is the far too easy Wham! leftover »Freedom 90«, but apart from that one, they're all really really great songs.
An album that doesn't need prejudice in anyway. Simply beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By George, this is superb, 8 Feb 2004
This review is from: Listen Without Prejudice Vol. 1 (Audio CD)
Simply one of the best albums of all time. I'm a big fan of George, he came out of a boyband and managed to repurpose himself as a brilliant solo artist, way before Robbie did (I do love Rob too though) with some brilliant music. And 'Listen Without Prejudice" is the best album of his career.... by far. I loved Older too but it doesn't compare to LWP. Sadly his recent releases have been a bit lacklustre ('Outside' being the best), I would love George to release an album of this calibre again but maybe his priorities have changed from the music industry (which he would be understandably disillusioned with after the Sony fiasco) to his home life. Who can blame him? But his talent is missed.... by me anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Listen Without Prejudice Vol. 1
Listen Without Prejudice Vol. 1 by George Michael (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews