Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars12
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 16 September 2003
I find myself reviewing this masterpiece after having owned it since it was originally released. Where does one start with music on this level? I wish that this wasn't the only individual project that they did but there again how could they top this effort? The whole album is an absolute joy to listen to and if you have never heard it then you should really give it a listen. This has been generally regarded as a masterpiece since it was originally released. Also agreeing with one of the other reviewers Carleen has never consistently topped her performance on this release.
All roads on this CD lead to the absolute gem that is the 15 minute Freedom Suite. It has everything, powerful lyrics, excellent groove, rap..... But having said that this is a real album to explore that set a standard that hasn't really been surpassed since 1991.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
This album for me is the best UK album ever produced as pound for pound it's the best out there even more than 10 years later as its one I always play a couple of times a year now. I was always puzzled why they only made one album however it's best to go out at the top. This album summed up the UK music scene in the early 90's vibrant and inventive unlike today. I still believe that the Americans aren't creative enough to have ever produced anything as good as this to this day.....
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2000
Talkin' Loud are re-releasing this as part of their 10th anniversary celebrations and it's not before time. As deep and soulful as Massive's Blue Lines and from the same year, Road to Freedom contains the infectious soul rub of 'Apparently Nothing' and the beutiful 15 minute 'Freedom Suite'. Carleen Anderson, the female vocalist went on to work as a solo artist but never came close to topping this. Listen to it and you'll realise how important it was!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2003
Fantastic Album- words from the heart. Carleen Andersons Haunting voice, teamed up with Marcos famous bass sound. This Album is so so good. Should now be re released. Deserves to be in everyones collection
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2016
25 years on and this album is still sounding fresh. Can't understand those who mark it down because they only like the singles released from it. Although they are good the album as a whole is so much deeper than that. Fantastic production and a great blend of soul, juzz and hip hop. Obviously freedom suite is massive but as we come is the tune that will pop up in my head from time to time and just has to get played. A classic album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2001
Great beats a fantastic voice topped with lyrics that show the artists actually have something to tell the world. You may not agree with everything, but most of their messages are from the heart and definitly worth thinking about... and listening to...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
This and brand new heavies debut best of the acid jazz genre
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
The tracks you know are great - reminded me of great times. But many tracks seemed week/filler. Good service buT not as great as I had hoped. Still worth it for the few stand out tracks. Hope they have calmed down a little now - very angry!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
An unbelievably good album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
very good cd's ! thank.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£13.27

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)