Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GNR Must Have Loved Making This Album
After the two great »Use Your Illusion« double albums, with complicatedly arranged songs, Guns N'Roses must have felt like showing the World they still can do simple stuff as well. And they did good!
Through the power and musical talent expressed in every song on this mostly-punk album, you can just feel how the band loves to just play songs which have been its...
Published on 16 Jan 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick Reviews!
Once there was this rock and roll band rollin, but by the time 93 came around all the wheels had come off, someone had nicked the engine, and the driver was a limbless entity pushing the chassis slowly off a cliff. Rather than concentrating on fixing things, writing and recording new material, the band decided to do a quick album of covers as their previous cover work had...
Published on 7 Jun 2010 by carlosnightman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GNR Must Have Loved Making This Album, 16 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Spaghetti Incident? (Audio CD)
After the two great »Use Your Illusion« double albums, with complicatedly arranged songs, Guns N'Roses must have felt like showing the World they still can do simple stuff as well. And they did good!
Through the power and musical talent expressed in every song on this mostly-punk album, you can just feel how the band loves to just play songs which have been its greatest inspiration sources.
From the heart-squeezing guitar and vocals on the opening track »Since I Don't Have You«, Guns N'Roses take the listener on a journey through their favourites. It goes via the all-over British punk song »Down On The Farm« (the album's best track) and the melodically rocking piano and percussion of »Human Being«, endning in the nearly melancholic unlisted track »The Game« by Charles Manson.
Guns N'Roses simply combines their joy of playing with their highly-developed musical skills on this tribute.
Somehow sad that it became the band's last release - but on the other hand, the joy of playing expressed on this album is a good way of ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GN'R Go punk!, 26 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Spaghetti Incident? (Audio CD)
Just picked up this album from a shop and listened to it. I was surprised at how different it was.
Highs:
Slash still remains fairly strong with the guitar solos of course.
Duff McKagan surpisingly is included alot more in the main vocals this time, he too along with Axl is a fairly powerful singer.
It seems they have taken some punk songs and done covers of them and modified them a bit, such as making them sound a bit more GN'R type.
Best Songs on this record are New Rose, Attitude, Aint it fun, Hair of the Dog etc.
Lows:
Gilby has replaced Izzy Stradlin', Don't get me wrong he is a great replacement, but he isn't really the same and it definitely feels there is something missing without Izzy.
You have to really appreciate punk to like this record alot, I'm into mainly rock and metal, but I admired the ramones, Sex Pistols etc but otherwise Punk isn't what I like as much as rock and Metal
Overall this isn't too bad an album, the best description I can give of this to the older GNR fans ( I am one myself too ) is that it is like 'Get in the Ring' type music 12 times in different formats. The sad thing is it is by far the most disappointing GNR album yet, and I can only see their forthcoming album 'Chinese Democracy' getting worse. If you are new to GnR steer clear of this album, go for appetite For Destruction and the Use Your Illusion albums, If you are a long term fan of GnR and know all the best music they produced, then its up to you, but it would probably be a wise idea to check this out for more Slash, Duff and Axl. Just don't expect another AFD or UYI album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GNR Must Have Loved Making This Album, 16 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Spaghetti Incident? (Audio CD)
After the two great »Use Your Illusion« double albums, with complicatedly arranged songs, Guns N'Roses must have felt like showing the World they still can do simple stuff as well. And they did good!
Through the power and musical talent expressed in every song on this mostly-punk album, you can just feel how the band loves to just play songs which have been its greatest inspiration sources.
From the heart-squeezing guitar and vocals on the opening track »Since I Don't Have You«, Guns N'Roses take the listener on a journey through their favourites. It goes via the all-over British punk song »Down On The Farm« (the album's best track) and the melodically rocking piano and percussion of »Human Being«, endning in the nearly melancholic unlisted track »The Game« by Charles Manson.
Guns N'Roses simply combines their joy of playing with their highly-developed musical skills on this tribute.
Somehow sad that it became the band's last release - but on the other hand, the joy of playing expressed on this album is a good way of ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick Reviews!, 7 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: The Spaghetti Incident? (Audio CD)
Once there was this rock and roll band rollin, but by the time 93 came around all the wheels had come off, someone had nicked the engine, and the driver was a limbless entity pushing the chassis slowly off a cliff. Rather than concentrating on fixing things, writing and recording new material, the band decided to do a quick album of covers as their previous cover work had arguably always improved on the originals. Unfortunately no-one cared anymore- the band were worn out, Kurt was ruling the waves, and any relic of the 80s was being hunted down and executed. It looked like this was going to be a final hurrah, one last shot before collapsing into a coma of excess but in the end it was more like a weak, old drunk swinging at the barman for refusing his final dollar bill and keeling over in his own vomit.

`Since I Don't Have You' opens promisingly enough with a big, lazy guitar from Slash before morphing into something which wouldn't have sounded out of place in Dirty Dancing. It's about as different a song you could imagine G'n'R playing although they manage to make it sound like it suits them with the lyrics about falling apart. It's a good opener and has some little tweaks of experimentation which hinted at what could have come next.

`New Rose' gets the rock rolling, a cover of The Damned song which shows the band's (particularly Duff's) love of punk bands. Duff sings here as he does on many of the songs, it's fast, the drums are huge, and Slash and Gilby add as many twiddles as they can find room for.

`Down On The Farm' is a pretty good cover of the UK Subs song, quite humourous because of Axl's accent (and the sheep stuff). It's played well, sung well, but as with a lot of punk it is short verse chorus verse style which never fitted in well with the way Guns played. This problem doesn't affect this song too badly, but is clear on many others here.

`Human Being' suffers from great repetition and being too long. Although the NYD song is good I think Guns really should have gone down the super fast route on this one. The solo is a bit of a non starter and doesn't stand out, although Slash lets loose for the final couple of minutes much of which is covered by other noise.

`Raw Power' is thankfully much shorter and quicker although there isn't enough of interest here to warrant more than a few listens. The dual vocals don't really work well, maybe it was the production, maybe it was the song that didn't suit it. Again it isn't until the end where the guitars come out but by then we don't care.

`Aint It Fun' sees Michael Monroe join Rose on vocals for one of the better songs. This one is quite sultry during the voices, then the chorus comes pumping out with some style. The middle part is quite silly with the macho/drug fuelled lyrics, but the rest of the song is good with a subtle solo and effective lyrics performed well.

`Buick Makane' mixes T-Rex and Soundgarden for a quite funky song with swirling guitars but it's all very boring until the last few moments of swearing and jamming which spice things up. Slash helps out with the vocals.

`Hair Of The Dog' is a Nazareth cover sounding like Daytripper, a decent enough song but doesn't have any great moments to make it truly memorable.

`Attitude' sees the Misfits song covered, really they could have squeezed in a few more of their famously short songs for a medley. This is good again, just the right length to not be repetitive.

`Black Leather' is one of the least interesting songs on the album, maybe because I don't find the original too hot, maybe because there are no big melodies. The riff is seductive enough but it becomes boring and repetitive quickly.

`You Can't Put Your Arms Around A Memory' raises things well, another Duff tribute to Johnny Thunders. His voice suits the drawling, lazy nature of the song, and thankfully this one has decent melodies in the verse and chorus. It mixes acoustics with big drums and backing riffs by Slash.

`I Don't Care About You' is quite interesting with Axl doing more strange things with his voice, although who knows what's going with the lyrics. This soon morphs into a Axl cover of a Charles Manson song which the band weren't happy about. It's a good enough song, again not really like anything the band had done before with soft guitars and backing. Whatever the reasons for choosing this song, and the misunderstanding of it, it's a strange end to the album, and quite a nice tune.

And so, it all came to and end, for a while at least. Slash fell into a Snakepit, Axl and Dizzy kept rolling and eating, while Duff, Matt, and Gilby eventually went off to other pursuits. I remember all the metal mags arguing over what was going to happen, saying the band was finished after such a lackluster effort, while it would take another 15 years for the next album to finally arrive. In truth most of the covers here are played with high energy, it's just that the songs themselves aren't iconic enough, or good enough. Too many are short, too many are samey, and we miss the G'n'R writing. In the end this is an album which I very rarely listen to now, maybe with a couple of truly great songs it could have been good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album that kept GNR alive for a few more years., 12 Feb 2010
By 
J. Arthur "Axl" (U.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Spaghetti Incident? (Audio CD)
This album kept GNR going and if not for this album who knows this is a important album everything about GNR did songs they loved and turned them into songs that really suppressed me this has to be the best cover album ever. A must for any GNR fan or Punk fan their is not a weak track on this album and shows what the Guns have got with only 3 original members left. The band really do play well on this record and it is a record you can put in and you will leave it in your player for days let alone weeks. This is the next step of what could have been and to me really kept the band going and alive for a few more years and not fading out. 1993 saw some really good albums come out of everywhere and for a cover album to be released seems like it was gonna fail which it didn't. This is a strong as any other GNR album. And anyone saying this is the sound of the band breaking up is talking complete crap. This is what kept them going and not dropping out of the Rock fans eye. I like how they have Duff in vocals and even got slash on backing vocals of Human Being which has never been done before or since. And the guitar is Great and solo's with some proper hard rock riffs from Slash and Gilby. Axl's vocals out this world on every track and Matt's drumming and duff basses gel so well together. Axl tries an English accent on U.K Subs song Down On The Farm which has never been done before or since so this album is shinning new and full of new tricks and ideas which fit together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spaghetti Incident?, 12 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Spaghetti Incident? (Audio CD)
After having this album on itunes and my ipod for longer than i can remember i finally decided to stop ignoring it and try listening to it without changing to something from an earlier guns album and after listening to it all I'm actually really surprised at how good it is, Originally when i got this album i had a read of many reviews and comments on it and most where bad saying that the album wasn't proper guns and that it was just bad covers but now i disagree even though they are covers their far from bad ones!!! New Rose, Down On The Farm, Since i Don't Have You and by far the best on the album Attitude are definatly i think the best songs oof them all but they are all good so take no notice of bad comments and if you have the album but like me haven't wanted to listen to it because of the reviews or if you don't have it then get a copy and have a listen you may be surprised =D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spaghetti Incident? (Audio CD)
Everything was well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Only Worthwhile to find the originals, 4 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Spaghetti Incident? (Audio CD)
Whilst Guns should be saluted in finding tracks that otherwise may not have been heard by the majority- the way they play them is awful. Indeed the only reason to look the record up is to go find the originals, which are all classics. Though why Since I don't Have You is here is anyones guess, Ok we get the irony joke Axl.

Down on the Farm is fun at least for Axl's cockney accent. Original prints had the Charles Manson track added at the end. Again like My World on UYI 2, Axl didn't tell the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spaghetti Incident? (Audio CD)
Quick delivery, great album when you actually listen to it, people often write it off immediately as it's a cover album but great solos, great vocals and just a great album
Any punk/rock or Guns N' Roses fan should definitely get this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I'm not saying I hated it......, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spaghetti Incident? (Audio CD)
At the time this CD was released, I had already heard the criticism. I'm not sorry I added it to my collection and there are some good songs on it, but of course with things deteriorating for the classic lineup, a release of covers could never measure up to original material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Spaghetti Incident?
The Spaghetti Incident? by Guns N' Roses (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews