Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Pure Grunge Album
Recorded on a shoestring budget and released back in 1989 when Seattle was still a relatively obscure musical backwater, it was nevertherless clear that Nirvana were something special. Grunge contemporaries like Tad, Mudhoney and Soundgarden certainly had some fine moments but none were able to produce records of such consistent excellence.

All of the...
Published on 31 Aug 2007 by D. Newton

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special
Certain cloth-eared punk puritans would have you believe this is a superior album to Nevermind. In reality in only hints at the songwriting talent Kurt Cobain would develop into.

It's a perfectly prefunctory slab of sludgy riffage and snarling nihilism but on it's own merits contains nothing to set it apart from the pack of bands doing something similar at the...
Published on 27 Jan 2009 by J. Jenkins


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Pure Grunge Album, 31 Aug 2007
By 
D. Newton (Swindon, Wilts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bleach (Audio CD)
Recorded on a shoestring budget and released back in 1989 when Seattle was still a relatively obscure musical backwater, it was nevertherless clear that Nirvana were something special. Grunge contemporaries like Tad, Mudhoney and Soundgarden certainly had some fine moments but none were able to produce records of such consistent excellence.

All of the ingredients for a grunge classic are here: slow, heavy riffing of sludgy guitars and lyrics which convey the stifling frustration of being a social misfit in a small American town.

What sets `Bleach' apart from its peers, though, is Cobain's seemingly innate deftness of touch and pop sensibility. This really shines through on `Blew' and the rightly celebrated `About a Girl' (which Cobain feared might be too poppy for his label) but is also present on heavier numbers like `Floyd the Barber', `School' and the claustrophobic `Sifting'. Even the out-and-out thrilling thrash-fest of `Negative Creep' can be sung (or screamed) along to.

`Bleach' caught the ear of David Geffen and `Nevermind' catapulted Cobain to reluctant superstardom, but the seeds of greatness were sown in this brilliant record, arguably the greatest grunge LP recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wont you believe it's just my luck?, 11 Nov 2003
This review is from: Bleach [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Yes, this is Nirvana's premier album, brought back to life on attractive white vinyl.
Although some of the songs on this album may take a while to get into, others like 'Love Buzz', 'About a Girl' and the classic 'School' drag you right into the storm of Nirvana from the late 80's.
This is a very raw and stripped back album, with a sound not unlike early 80's punk, but it is Nirvana pure and simple.
"I really can not say enough nice things about this band!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasent Surprise, 18 July 2006
This review is from: Bleach (Audio CD)
This is actually the first album ive ever brought by Nirvana which most of u mind consider strange coz BLEACH is not the first thing people usually start their musical Nirvana-journey-thingy with .

Well , my sister owned the Best Of CD and i thought that some of the tracks (most of them actually) were bloody brilliant and my favourite at the time was About A Girl . So when i heard it was on their first album i happily purchased it excepecting some lovelee little songs like About A Girls.

Boy how wrong i was ...

At first i was kind of left speechless by the opening basslines of Blew and all of of this mettal-influenced riffs .

So i kind off gave it another go and , what do u know , i loved it..

This piece of evil , aggressive , cringy , mind-blowing and EXTREMELY emotional music is very good and actually its almost as good as NEVERMIND and IN UTERO.

Its not their best record ever but it definitely deserves your attention....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their first and best album., 12 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bleach (Audio CD)
I remember buying "Bleach" when it was first released in 1989,and it was so fresh compared to the other alternative music of that time. it was one of the most outstanding releases from the Sub-Pop label and is still one of my favourites... Nirvana became less and less underground from then on but "Bleach" is a definite must-have album from the Grunge era. From real down and dirty heavy stuff like "Negative Creep" to slow ballad type music like "About A Girl" this album is quality from start to finish. It rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most brilliant debut albums in history., 5 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Bleach (Audio CD)
They had total control over the album,as it says on the back cover it was made for just $606.17 Dollars. Sub Pop released it and then Nirvana was born. Kurt was angry that 'Love Buzz' was the biggest song of the album as it was a cover. Such songs as 'School, Negative Creep and Floyd the Barber' prove that this band was the back bone of the Seattle scene with songs like these this will make you want to start your own band. You will dance, rock and totally enjoy this album through and through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy., 3 May 2005
This review is from: Bleach (Audio CD)
The album that started it all is a mixture of energy and melody. Argubly the best of the albums due to the closeness of the sound to the attitude of the time. This is the sound of being 18 and hating Guns N Roses and Van Halen, and moshing to Blew. Enjoy, because these days talent is absorbed and energy is manufactured so we my never experience this again.
PS Love Buzz is an added track - my vinyl(!!) doesn't have it on. But its a track well worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nirvana: pre-Grohl, pre-Spirit, pre-popular..., 26 Mar 2003
By 
Glen "Yellow Peril" (Vale of Glamorgan, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bleach (Audio CD)
It would be wrong to give this album 5 stars, as it isn't 5-star material - as much as I'm a Kurt Cobainiac, I must admit that they didn't start churning out the really good stuff until Grohl jumped aboard and Nevermind was released.
But that isn't to say that this isn't any good - Floyd the Barber is brilliance, and About A Girl is one of my personal favourites. When you think that this is Nirvana's first studio recording (they started as a live band), it's quite good - but it's done in such a way that the thing has the aura of an "inside joke" - almost as if Cobain balked at the band taking off (he didn't, of course).
If you enjoy the work of Nirvana, this album is interesting, as it helps to see where the band started off. Also, this album is like someone explaining the key line of a story you don't understand - when you listen to this album, most of Nevermind and In Utero becomes alot clearer. A must have for any rock/Nirvana entheusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have, 25 May 2004
This review is from: Bleach (Audio CD)
This cd is a must-have for fans and newcomers alike. Not only because it is Nirvanas' first ever album but because of the songs, ofcoarse. All the songs on here have a grunge-like, underground sound, experimental if you will. It really gives one a mental image of a seattle garage band makeing it's way out of the dark, danky basement into the mainstreem world. It's this underground sound which makes this cd my favorite of all Nirvana albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bleach kills it all, 15 Aug 2005
By 
C. L. Griffiths "serve the servants" (West Yorkshire,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bleach (Audio CD)
hmmmm....well very disturbing with early success at the end of the 80s bleach portrays kurts full emotions in this debut album although people remain dazed by nevermind and in utero,this is actually the album that kicks ass just by the the first song blew which is about rondom thoughts in kurts head you can tell whats coming next a must by album for any music fan not just a nirvana fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the birth of grunge., 15 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bleach (Audio CD)
modern music in the late eighties was going belly up like a fat decadent aging rockstar. T-RExs eventually suffered gout according to paleontologists. and punk was dead. the music was sentimental no-brainer trash. even the innovative heavy metal acts from the mid to late-seventies were suffering. in a garage in seattle, according to legend, a band were making grunge, a type of music that spewed forthe a bile of reaction from the decadence and inhumanity around it [musically]. not that i credit nirvana for creating grunge..but as early pioneers who pushed it forward. This debut album is work of genius and turned heads when it was first released failed to reach a huge audience. but even now this album is innovative and a must have. especially those who already own nevermind, see where it came from, the great lyrics and rhythms and 'who cares? rawness' really make its milestone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bleach
Bleach by Nirvana (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews