Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Southern Accents
Originally conceived as a double album (but released as a single) 'Southern Accents' delivers another CD packed with that Heartbreaker sound and Tom Petty's unique songwriting and vocals. It is less accessible than other Petty albums but still has some tracks that stand out. 'Rebels' is especially good and although 'Don't Come Around Here No More' is one of the most...
Published on 13 Feb 2008 by Spider Monkey

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This item was bought as gift for someone.
This item was bought as gift for someone else so I can only comment on the service I received. The item arrived in good time although I was disappointed at the condition of the casing it came in. It was cracked and as it was for a gift, I had to replace the casing myself.
Published 17 months ago by LOR_ALL


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Southern Accents, 13 Feb 2008
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Southern Accents (Audio CD)
Originally conceived as a double album (but released as a single) 'Southern Accents' delivers another CD packed with that Heartbreaker sound and Tom Petty's unique songwriting and vocals. It is less accessible than other Petty albums but still has some tracks that stand out. 'Rebels' is especially good and although 'Don't Come Around Here No More' is one of the most well known from this CD, it's sound is the most unlike the rest of the album. 'Spike' is a light and fun track and the title track delivers some great lyrics. Overall this is a great addition to any Petty collection, especially as it is so often overlooked. There are better albums to buy if you've not tried Tom Petty before, 'Full Moon Fever', 'Wildflowers' and 'Anthology' are all good starting places, but this album has a great sound and is well worth a buy.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Petty, 18 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Southern Accents (Audio CD)
this album a bit different for TP using brass for the first time it makes this album unusual for petty but still as good as any of TP's albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent exploration of their roots, 27 April 2013
By 
Lotta Continua (Doncaster, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Southern Accents (Audio CD)
I first bought this album in a sale in 1985: suspect that Petty was soft-rock filler, the gutsy roots sound and the incisive lyrics got me hooked. Whilst some of the brass and mid-80s synth effects date this, it remains a evocative and exciting album showing the depth of Petty's songwriting and composition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great and unusual album., 11 Jun 2004
This review is from: Southern Accents (Audio CD)
This is a great album,mainly because it is so varied, and doesn't sound like the usual Tom Petty,i.e. a very poppy soft rock sound.
Bits of it sound very eighties production, i,e,2 women do- wopping in the back ground, especially track 5-make it better, you can imagine being played alongside Belind Carlisle, but a good party track that will have you dancing around the room.
It starts off with Tom acting the hardnut southerner with a sneer in the voice, singing "i was born a rebel one foot in the grave and one on the pedel, a good foot tapper, you'll soon be singing along to.
But it does sound like 2 different albums one the poppy jingle jangle pop, and the other a different melancholic more seious Tom, which is a nice contrast.
The best tracks are the more serious ones i.e.the slower ones-southern accents a real heartfelt ballad on piano with minimal strings not overdone, and the best of everything a nice sad little tune about an old sweetheart with Tom sounding close to tears, very moving.
Weird track is Spike, like a bluesy jam session with Tom sounding very loose sounding almost half cut.
Essentially a good album you will want to listen to all the way through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I had this when it first came out..., 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Southern Accents (Audio CD)
Takes me back to the days before CDs....Used to listen to regularly but it was my sisters. So finding it again took me back in time like a little time capsule. It's sound is dated in parts but contains a couple of classic tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always Reliable, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Southern Accents (Audio CD)
Tom Petty's music is always reliable both to engage and to take the listener on an interesting journey. This early to mid - career release shows him flexing his writing and arranging muscles, particularly on "Don't Come Around Here No More", which is something of a departure from his "usual" sound. The title track alone is worth the album's value, but there's much more than that to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Southern Accents Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Southern Accents (Audio CD)
My first impressions were that they have subsequently done better and more commercial albums.I still hold that view except after several plays this album is really growing on me. You have to be patient and persevere sometimes.It's surprising how good music becomes hypnotic finally before you get into the words and rhythm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This item was bought as gift for someone., 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Southern Accents (Audio CD)
This item was bought as gift for someone else so I can only comment on the service I received. The item arrived in good time although I was disappointed at the condition of the casing it came in. It was cracked and as it was for a gift, I had to replace the casing myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fresh and varied, 15 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Southern Accents (Audio CD)
This is the album that made me listen to TP more. Having written TP off as dull American soft rock I started seeing a chap who liked that sort of thing. However I found I liked this album - the songs are all a bit different and I do like his straightforward but incisive lyrics. I now own several albums my favourite is probable Full Moon Fever with Southern Accents a close second. I bought the CD as the original tape had stretched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Southern Accents
Southern Accents by Tom Petty (Audio CD - 1985)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews