Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wo's Last ?? never in a million years
There will never be a Who's Last album, not with all the repackaging of their older material that keeps getting released, and not as the band keeps going, no matter who's left in it. While the US version of this cd was 2 discs (I only had disc 2) I find the single disc UK release much better with some of the crowd noise and band comments removed. MCA in the states put...
Published on 4 May 2009 by Bill Krohn

versus
36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Who's last - this is the last who album you should buy
Just a couple of points first - I love the Who, they are my favourite band of all time and I'm very biased when I discuss their music. However, this album is absolutely rotten. This is mainly due to the production and transfer to CD. If you listen very carefully at the start of the CD and half way through the CD, YOU CAN HEAR THE NEEDLE BEING PUT ONTO THE...
Published on 21 Feb. 2006 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Who's last - this is the last who album you should buy, 21 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Who's Last (Audio CD)
Just a couple of points first - I love the Who, they are my favourite band of all time and I'm very biased when I discuss their music. However, this album is absolutely rotten. This is mainly due to the production and transfer to CD. If you listen very carefully at the start of the CD and half way through the CD, YOU CAN HEAR THE NEEDLE BEING PUT ONTO THE RECORD!!!
They transferred the music to CD from vinyl! How rubbish is that?!!!
The production is tinny and, although I'm sure he played like the genius he was, Entwistle's base is barely audible.
I'd love to think that this album isn't as bad as it seems to be. To achieve this the album needs to be completely remastered and reproduced. If MCA are listening, please do this!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great songs - but a sadly poor recording, 16 Feb. 2007
By 
J. I. G. Burt (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who's Last (Audio CD)
I had to give it some stars because I love (understatement!) their music and this CD has many of the greats, but sadly the recording has been very poorly produced. It seems as though the original stage set-up on many of the tracks (for they are picked from multiple performances on the USA/Canada 1982 tour) were badly miked... especially Daltrey's vocals which on some tracks - especially "I can't explain" - you can hardly hear! In fact, if it wasn't for the fact that most people buying this will be Who fans (who listen to the tracks knowing all the words!), you wouldn't be able to tell what poor Roger was singing. By contrast, Pete's guitar is sometimes far too loud whilst, as one of the other reviewers commented, the usually fantastic bass is far too quiet... suggesting it was badly mixed/produced in the studio afterwards. On top of this - again I find myself merely concurring with other peoples' comments - the transcription onto CD isn't of a high quality either.

In summary, if you're a Who fan, do buy it for the collection and to enjoy some of the energy of the live performances (and some tracks are great), but you might well be disappointed with the recording quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A VERY rough diamond., 14 Dec. 2012
By 
This review is from: Who's Last (Audio CD)
'Whos Last' was an album I waited to hear back in 80's with great anticipation. The news was that The Who had either split or were about to so I was keen to get my ears round it. Sadly other events occurred and that listening at the time never happened.

The album was trashed by the critics who complained that the whole effort was just a ploy to cash in on past glories. I could never understand their cynicism back then but now?

Fast forward to 2012.

In its defence theres a good representation of the Who's music over the previous 20 odd years. Three are also some brilliant flashes. But thats the good news over.

The biggest problem here is sound quality-AWFUL! It is unacceptable in 2012 to have an album out which sounds like a CD copy of the vinyl record of 1984.

And strangely the track listing omits any material from "Face Dances" and "Its Hard" despite the fact it was certainly being played at the time.

Well it can still be remedied but it will be hard...

Nothing short of a total revision is needed.

The master tapes need digging out and the album needs a complete remix as well as remastering to get it into shape.

Plus of course the post Keith Moon material needs to be represented.

As it stands I couldn't in any way recommend this album unless you are in need of completing your Who collection.

And thats a shame. The talent is there but it has so totally wrecked it should be avoided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wo's Last ?? never in a million years, 4 May 2009
By 
Bill Krohn "Bill Krohns Boulevard Records" (Richland, Michigan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who's Last (Audio CD)
There will never be a Who's Last album, not with all the repackaging of their older material that keeps getting released, and not as the band keeps going, no matter who's left in it. While the US version of this cd was 2 discs (I only had disc 2) I find the single disc UK release much better with some of the crowd noise and band comments removed. MCA in the states put out the 2 cd set because it was a double album set, much the same thing that was done with Who's Better, Who's Best - in the states, a double album, in England, it was all crammed on to a single disc, with just a little loss of volume, but thats what the knobs on the stereo are for - to turn it up when its lower. This is a really nice overview of their greatest hits live, something that Pete Townshend once said he didn't care for, he always wanted a new stage show, but since this was supposedly their last tour, they trotted out all the old hits and did them good, a version to remember for most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a not as good as it should be sort of album, 28 Mar. 2001
By 
Mr. Martin Davies "blackcatdavciq" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who's Last (Audio CD)
due to much preassure,pete and co took the band on the road for the farwell tour of the u.s the tracks on this album are mainly from canada and toronto. on its release,it was also broadcast on satellite,which also produced a video(the who rocks america) the performance itself,although from sellout tours,seems to lack something.kenney jones from the small faces replaces the late keith moon who although is a great drummer,does not fullfill the part of keith.whos last is like the studio albums of that period,(face dances and its hard),in the fact they have a few shining moments,but not enough to be highly rated. on reflection,the who now are doing a back to the rootes tour and the performances are 100% better,so it would be of more intrest for them to produce a tour album now than then
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some with fire & some with not................, 8 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Who's Last (Audio CD)
This cd contains music recorded in 1982 with Kenny Jones on drums. The Who will always be a competent band on an average night and absolutely brilliant and the greatest live rock band on a good night. This cd features the band at their very best on only two songs: Dr. Jimmy (rarely played) and Wont'Get Fooled Again. Kenney Jones drumming on this one, is full of passion and it ignites the band. You can feel the fire on this particular song. The rest of the songs are played in a very profesional manner and some of them sounds very good (My Generation, Magi Bus and Boris the Spider). But there are others that sound lifeless (Behind Blue Eyes, Pinball Wizzard, Baba O Riley and See Me Feel Me).
Even that, this is a great collection on songs and it features a period of the band. There are great shows recorded with this line up. Lets hope one day, another cd of this period with some unreleased songs (like Dance It Away and Face Dance, will appear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Seemed better at the time, 23 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Who's Last (Audio CD)
I bought this on vinyl when it came out. Having seen the UK dates of the tour and been dismayed by the break up in the USA it seemed like a good record (in both senses) at the time, I played it constantly. My vinyl is long-gone so I can't do a direct comparison but the CD has only been played once. It's just not right.

There are so many better live CDs (Leeds, Hull) and DVDs (Kids are Alright, Albert Hall, Woodstock) that this is really not worth bothering with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a big fan., 13 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who's Last (Audio CD)
Not a GR8 Who fan loved Quad but that's all, some of their songs are ok on other albums but this is not one of them I never kept gave it away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just Good, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who's Last (Audio CD)
It's worth buying only for completists like me. John Entwistle's bass guitar is barely audible and the sound of the drums are pretty dreadful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who's Last (Audio CD)
Have not stopped playing it in the car. Has all Greatest hits on album. Wish I had seen them live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Who's Last
Who's Last by The Who (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews