Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant eighties rock band with sixties influences
In the eighties, when pop music (at least in Britain) was dominated by synthesisers, the Bangles provided a contrast with their guitar-driven rock music. They were not alone, of course – Dire Straits and Bruce Springsteen also come to mind – but they were very much in the minority. The Bangles recorded a lot of upbeat, fun songs so did not always get the...
Published on 3 Oct 2003 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A misjudgement
Years ago I heard what were The Bangles only two or three really good tracks and remembered them. Upon returning to pop music I remembered them and ordered the CD. Apart from those tracks it is very average indeed.
Published 2 months ago by JF Horton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant eighties rock band with sixties influences, 3 Oct 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bangles : Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
In the eighties, when pop music (at least in Britain) was dominated by synthesisers, the Bangles provided a contrast with their guitar-driven rock music. They were not alone, of course – Dire Straits and Bruce Springsteen also come to mind – but they were very much in the minority. The Bangles recorded a lot of upbeat, fun songs so did not always get the credit they deserved.
This compilation contains the three huge international hits that everybody remembers. Manic Monday is an up-tempo rocker. Walk like an Egyptian is a novelty song that (to some people) destroys their credibility but I love it. Eternal flame is a lovely ballad, more recently revived by Atomic Kitten who had a huge UK hit with it.
Apart from those three, they had several other hits, not as successful as the famous three but very entertaining. These include the original songs If she knew what she wants, Walking down your street, In your room and Be with you, together with a cover of Simon and Garfunkel's Hazy shade of winter.
Anybody who loves guitar rock of the type that was common in the sixties and early seventies will surely love the music of the Bangles. If you want just one of their albums, this is the one to go for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For All Music Fans, 1 Jan 2001
This review is from: Bangles : Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Bangles are the most successful all female band in UK chart history ( the Spice Girls are not a 'band' because they don't play their own instruments. They are counted as a 'vocal group'). When you listen to this hits compilation, it is easy to see why. The songs are terrific and varied; Susanna's voice is fantastic; the four members make top-notch harmonies and play their instruments skilfully. 'Eternal Flame', their 1988 no.1 , is of course a highlight, as are the well-known hits 'Manic Monday' and 'Walk Like An Egyptian'. Other standouts include the US no.1 'Hazy Shade Of Winter', Debbi's 'Be With You' and the Bangles' first single 'Hero Takes A Fall'. That said, every track is very good and most are excellent. Now that the band has reformed, expect to see this hits collection added to in the near future!
The Bangles are:
Susanna Hoffs (Vocals, Rhythm Guitar) Michael Steele (Vocals, Bass Guitar) Vicki Peterson (Vocals, Lead Guitar) Debbi Peterson (Vocals, Drums)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'ONE OF 'THE EIGHTIES' MEMORABLE GIRL GROUPS', 23 April 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bangles : Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Though 'The Bangles' didn't have a long chart career in the U.K, they
did however record a couple of the most memorable numbers of that era.
Must admit I spent a few pennies on the Juke-Box playing 'Walk Like
an Egyptian'
The number they are best known for of course is 'Eternal Flame' which
was in fact their only number one, it stayed at the Top for four weeks
back in 1989 and of course appears on numerous 'Best Of' and Love
albums' down the years and continues to do so.
They achieved seven Top 30 hits which included five Top 20 those being
'Manic Monday' 'Walk Like an Egyptian' 'Eternal Flame' 'Hazy Shade of
Winter' and 'Walking Down Your Street' (all the hits on-board this album)
The Group certainly a significant part of the 80's Pop-Scene.....as with all
my music reviews, I'm playing the album whilst writing the review,
A Must for collector's of 80's music- memorabilia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
N. P. Englefield "puddlegum1" (west sussex england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bangles : Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
all good thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. Marion Cooper "Tankman" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bangles : Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 17 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. M. Bevan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bangles : Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Bought this album to replace a copy that I had originally on Cassette. The Bangles were what I would consider to be a very good female rock band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A misjudgement, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bangles : Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Years ago I heard what were The Bangles only two or three really good tracks and remembered them. Upon returning to pop music I remembered them and ordered the CD. Apart from those tracks it is very average indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bangles : Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
All the old favourites, takes me back to when I was young !
Love it !
More words required !
Ok, if you liked the bangles you will like this !
They were great musicians and did some brilliant songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bangles Greatest Hits - Excellent album, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bangles : Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
good album nice to hear songs you haven't heard in a while - forgotten how good they were..

Delivered promptly and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars s'wonderful, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bangles : Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
My brain cancer operations removed my memory and a big chunk of my life is missing, its good to have it bought back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bangles : Greatest Hits
Bangles : Greatest Hits by The Bangles (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews