Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GO OUT AND BUY IT
Haunting,Soothing,Exciting, the full gamut of emotions stirred by this album. Made me want to buy a violin and learn to play it.
Published on 11 Jun 2000 by Mr. D. N. Mcqueen

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Kennedy - when he was young?
When I first heard Kennedy I thought he was a rank amateur. I'd never heard of him at the time and I assumed it was some youth being given the chance to play with a proper orchestra on Jim'll Fix It. It was the only way I could explain the bung notes played in Vivaldi's Four Seasons. It was only later I realized the bung notes were really brilliant artistic...
Published 21 months ago by lockeyb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GO OUT AND BUY IT, 11 Jun 2000
By 
Mr. D. N. Mcqueen "davmcq4" (Nottingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Classic Kennedy (Audio CD)
Haunting,Soothing,Exciting, the full gamut of emotions stirred by this album. Made me want to buy a violin and learn to play it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classis.kennedy, 11 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Kennedy (Audio CD)
how do you rate a man who is so brilliant at his craft he brings you a lot of enjoyment with each cd great artist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A voyage of discovery into the familiar!, 1 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Kennedy (Audio CD)
This is a wonderfully varied collection of short pieces from traditional tunes, popular violin favourites, arrangements of piano works (Chopin, Satie), Gershwin, Joni Mitchell to finally a piece written by the man himself.

Nigel Kennedy brings something new and special to each of these pieces. He plays the Meditation from Thais as my heart would play it! I confess that when I saw 'Danny Boy' and 'Ave Maria' on the list I thought 'Oh no!', but had to hear these only once before my reaction changed dramatically to a positive. What beautiful pieces these are!

The amazing virtuosity of his playing of The Flight of the Bumble Bee, Banjo and Fiddle etc is much, much more than 'just' that. He adds feeling and spirit from the heart of the music and yet he never gets in the way. Nigel Kennedy's own composition, Melody in the Wind, is a lovely, wistful, jazzy, piece.

He makes me hear things afresh, makes me really listen! I thought this might be a good background listening CD. Forget it! There's something about Nigel Kennedy's playing that makes me give him full attention and this CD is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Kennedy (Audio CD)
After watching the Proms last year I was keen to get his album. This classic album does not disappoint. Quite wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Kennedy, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Kennedy (Audio CD)
Love my 'Classic Kennedy' .My special favourite on the CD is Nigel's wonderful rendition of Danny Boy.
The man is Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's "what it says on the tin!", 11 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Kennedy (Audio CD)
There is a good variety of music and styles in this recording. -- If you like the way Kennedy plays, you'll like this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE it, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Kennedy (Audio CD)
What is there to say about Nigel Kennedy but that the man is a xxxx Genius .If I could use expletives I would .He knows how to make classical music accessible to those of us who might not have been brought up with it and ever gone to classical concerts but he makes it rock .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting and relaxing, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Kennedy (Audio CD)
Kennedy at his best. Thoroughly enjoyable, lovely compilation. Unbelievable how soft and gentle, and strong and energetic the violin can sound. Helps me both to destress, and to energise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Classic Kennedy, 11 July 2010
This review is from: Classic Kennedy (Audio CD)
Definitely a must listen to compilation for all Kennedy fans - hit the replay over and over. This is part of a collection of Kennedy CDs I own and one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, sweeter, sweetest, 23 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Classic Kennedy (Audio CD)
Twenty pieces from as many composers or nearly (two author repeats) from baroque times to modern times, from Italy to the United States, though only from the Western world. The objective of this CD is to show the immense variety of the performer, his virtuosity, flexibility and adaptability. The second objective of this CD is to provide a showcase for the violin that is the real star of the show. But the CD has no real unity in its extreme variety, and it does not speak one language, not even that of the violin, because the violin is only the vocal cord of the composer's language and there is so little in common in the languages of Vivaldi and Gershwin, except the harmonics of the good modern classical violin, which is historically false. Yet the pieces chosen here are so well-known that we can consider the CD as a real success because we move from one beauty to the next, from one piece of candy to the subsequent next sweet. It looks like the table laden with all the sweets and pastries at the beginning of Forman's film "Amadeus", that table under which Mozart is smooching with his future wife, and from which the glutton and jealous Salmieri is satisfying his sweet tooth, his gluttony. In the end we can even get slightly sick with too much sugar, honey or hydromel. A menu must have some unity beyond contrastive elements but we cannot really enjoy a four course meal, or a twenty course banquet at that, if all the courses are nothing but different preparations of one single element, be it pumpkin, mint or cherries. But such a CD has an audience. Those who want to enjoy one three to four minute piece after another with no obligation to bridge or cement the eighty minutes or so of the whole CD together. Twenty drops of pleasure that do not make an ocean in which one could get drowned. The unity comes really from Nigel Kennedy's personal harmonics. But that's not what I expect. I expect a Bohemian, even gypsy, or Jewish style for some pieces. And I do not hear the ascetic Lutheran Bach the same way as the brilliant bright exuberant Catholic Vivaldi. They don't even see the instrument the same way. Too much homogenizing makes things kind of less original.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris Dauphine, University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne & University Versailles Saint Quentin en Yvelines
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classic Kennedy
Classic Kennedy by Antonio Vivaldi (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews