Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this, buy all the albums
This is a supreme greatest hits collection it has to be said, featuring all the famous Zeppelin songs such as "Stairway to Heaven" and "Whole lotta love" but I really do suggest buying all the other albums as they are very cheap these days. By buyingthis, you miss out so many classics songs which couldn't fit on this album such as "When the levee breaks", "Bring it on...
Published on 24 July 2003

versus
35 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What's the point?
If you've stopped on this page long enough to read a review, I'm going to assume you're not a hardcore Led Zep fan who already has every single album. So I'm writing this review for you guys.

Instead of simply reviewing the band like some people who've given five stars seem to have done, I'm going to review what the point of someone who has no Led Zep CDs...
Published on 18 May 2007 by Guitar Fan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this, buy all the albums, 24 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Remasters (Audio CD)
This is a supreme greatest hits collection it has to be said, featuring all the famous Zeppelin songs such as "Stairway to Heaven" and "Whole lotta love" but I really do suggest buying all the other albums as they are very cheap these days. By buyingthis, you miss out so many classics songs which couldn't fit on this album such as "When the levee breaks", "Bring it on home" and "Moby dick" are just few examples of what people miss out on by purchasing this album, the latter which proves Bonham was the and still is the greatest rock drummer of all time. You lose the greta feel of all the albums with this so i suggest you buy the DVD and all the albums and discover in the best way possible why Zeppelin were the best band of all time and not many bands have come even close
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compilations don't come any better (or generous) than this, 11 April 2003
By 
Touring Mars (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Remasters (Audio CD)
After the release of this stunning compilation, Jimmy Page must have had mixed feelings... on the one hand, he had personally remastered, and done justice to, all of Zeppelin's greatest tracks, and assembled them into a truly breathtaking line-up.. on the other hand, he had single-handedly made it far too easy for any Zeppelin newby (like myself at the time) to lay their hands on just about every essential Zeppelin track without having to fork out for 5 or 6 albums, hence doing themselves out of a fortune in record sales.
As such, this double album is a steal, as well as being THE definitive collection of Zeppelin classics. Sure, it may be a short cut to an 'instant' Zeppelin collection, but it is not entirely comprehensive, so there is plenty left on other albums to explore. That said, I have never come across a more generously loaded compilation from any other artists, and therefore this album definitely deserves to be described as 'essential'.
I hesistate to say anything about the actual tracks themselves, as just about every one can pretty much speak for itself. What I would say, however, is that anyone who may not have any Zeppelin in their collections would be well advised to buy this particular collection, and that anyone who is looking to simply find out what this group was all about, could do with starting right here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best ever re-master, 20 Jan 2007
This review is from: Remasters (Audio CD)
How anyone true Led Zepplin fan can discount this masterpiece of re-engineering as an item that gathers dust on the shelf is beyond me. For anyone who loves their music and has a half decent hi-fi system, this has to be the best re-mastered CD package in music history. Jimmy Page's re-works breathe new life into every track. We can all moan that our favourite Zep track is missing etc. etc. but there is more than enough on here to savour. A classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power, Mystery and the Hammer of the Gods, 15 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Remasters (Audio CD)
Strange, the Zeppelin legacy. Nowadays, Zep. are largely regarded as the last true rock dinosaurs whose cartoon excess on tour and on stage cataysed Punk and killed off the 60's. Odd that, as listening to this collection of songs I can't find a SINGLE bloated heavy metal track among them. If Metal spawns from below the waist, Zep music comes from an altogether more sinister and mystic place. Sure, it has balls, and Zep could rock with no peers (Rock & Roll, Black Dog, Immigrant song etc) but there is a restraint and spiritual discomfiture in this music which has more in common with mediaeval troubadour folk than Deep Purple style lumpen metal. Zepplin music is of shadows and needful things, not of MTV.
Tracks like 'No Quarter' are EVERY BIT as chilling as Robert Johnson's timeless recordings : ' The dogs of doom are howlin' more' indeed. 'Gallows pole' is desperate, and 'the Battle of Evermore' is pure Canterbury tales: Gothic, existential disquieting.
There is lyrical conceit for sure (unintentionally Parodied later by bands like Rush) but the sheer magnificence of tracks like 'Kashmir' justify the Homerian timbre of the lyric: ' O Father of the four winds fill my sails..'. Truly inspired by ethnic music at is purest and most spiritual long before Paul Simon made it trendy, Zeps best music draws from a huge variety of sources ALL of them base, ancient, spiritual.
Page's restrained guitar work is more effective than any cranked-up modern metaller can ever be, it's what he doesn't play which says the most.
'the Rain Song' is just plain beautiful, but again the retraint renders the song imploring, unfulfilled, fearful like almost no other modern music.
Plant's early shredding vocals (Whole Lotta Love, Communication breakdown) were effective enough, but gave way to an unsettling existential moan over time, (Kashmir, Achille's last stand, No Quarter). John Bonham's sex groove underpinned all their best work, and gave Hip Hop-pers an obvious drum sample along the way '(when the levee breaks, the Ocean)
Don't buy this album as a historical document, as you would , say, a Who album, for Like Gregorian Chant , Zep music is both of it's time and timeless.
Buy it, love it and be unsettled. We will never see their like again.
This album is essntial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have ears - buy this., 30 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Remasters (Audio CD)
12 years of Led Zeppelin all squashed into 2 discs. Not everything brilliant they did is included here but that would need to be a 10 disc set. It is an excellent introduction to the band or for a casual listener, an excellent "Greatest Hits" Album. I would think that most people will buy this and then seek out more Zeppelin. Truly the best band ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compiltations don't come any better (or generous) than this, 11 April 2003
By 
Touring Mars (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Remasters (Audio CD)
After the release of this stunning compilation, Jimmy Page must have had mixed feelings... on the one hand, he had personally remastered, and done justice to, all of Zeppelin's greatest tracks, and assembled them into a truly breathtaking line-up.. on the other hand, he had single-handedly made it far too easy for any Zeppelin newby (like myself at the time) to lay their hands on just about every essential Zeppelin track without having to fork out for 5 or 6 albums, hence doing themselves out of a fortune in record sales.
As such, this double album is a steal, as well as being THE definitive collection of Zeppelin classics. Sure, it may be a short cut to an 'instant' Zeppelin collection, but it is not entirely comprehensive, so there is plenty left on other albums to explore. That said, I have never come across a more generously loaded compilation from any other artists, and therefore this album definitely deserves to be described as 'essential'.
I hesistate to say anything about the actual tracks themselves, as just about every one can pretty much speak for itself. What I would say, however, is that anyone who may not have any Zeppelin in their collections would be well advised to buy this particular collection, and that anyone who is looking to simply find out what this group was all about, could do with starting right here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars led zeppelin the fathers of rock, 28 April 2005
This review is from: Remasters (Audio CD)
This epic collection of led zeppelins music selected and produced by Jimmy Page (who i beleive is one of the greatest guitarist of all time) is brilliant for new listeners of led zeppelin and is a great summary of their best material if you are a distinguished fan.
Of course as you know led zeppelin are an awesome band and one that will always have a high reputation amongst music lovers. The first album is probably the best ending with the fantastic stairway to heaven but the second album also has some amaizing songs such as Kashmir, Houses of the Holy and many others.
If you dont have this already buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation, but start with the albums, 29 Aug 2003
This review is from: Remasters (Audio CD)
A slightly different perspective from someone relatively new to Led Zep.
I bought this some time back but never really got into it. Sure, the music is peerless, but this didn't really work for me as a whole. Recently I invested in the cute reissues with little gatefold replicas and all became clear: Zep are an albums band. If you are new to Zep, I suggest you start with any of the albums up to Physical Graffiti. My faves are III (laid back), IV (slick) and PG (rocks). Having now bought all of the albums, this compilation works a lot better for me, but I would recommend it as a good round up for Zep fans rather than a starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SYMPHONIES OF GUITAR EXCELLENCE, 16 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Remasters (Audio CD)
The 'Remasters' album is (in my view) one of rock music's finest moments. The diversity and improvisation, as well as the technical excellence of the music is simply mind-blowing. You really need to listen to these songs again and again just to appreciate how advanced and original they are. Without a doubt, there is not one song in the album that doesn't show merit of some kind. Every single song is incredible in it's own right. Maybe if more people heard Led Zeppelin, they could begin to recognise how much awful music swamps our radio playlists and music stores. This is a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars has me frothing at the mouth, 14 Mar 2006
By 
David Johnson "El Burrito" (Buenos Aires) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Remasters (Audio CD)
If you want a piece of magic and were too young for this amazing group first time round this serves as an excellent introduction to their music.
You can see why they´ve influenced so many bands.
It´s riffs galore from the ranging,"Dazed and confused," to the crunching," A whole lotta love." I love the real bluesy stuff an example being the solo on,"Since I´ve been loving you."
The first CD ends with the signature tune,"Stairway to heaven."
They really are blues music´s present to Rock and Roll, I love the long intricate solos on,"Nobody´s fault but mine," and ,"Achilles last stand." Then you have the wonderful creativity of,"No quarter," and throttling riff of,"Kashmir."
This has basically got the lot, the remastered version gives these songs yet more life and zip.
A record that will have music fans quite literally frothing at the mouth. Essential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Remasters
Remasters by Led Zeppelin (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews