Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan: Bob Dylan - Don't think twice, this is an essential album, 25 July 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan (Audio CD)
Bob Dylan's second album is totally different to his debut. A somewhat more mature and polished effort it shows just how much he had learned and developed in the few short months between. The style moves away from the raw folk to something more recognisable as Dylan - political protest, streams of consciousness, a mixture of direct, to the point lyrics with some that are almost surreal, tender love songs. All this and also probably his best known song `Blowing In The Wind', beloved by a generation of guitar strumming hippies around campfires.

I find it a lot more accessible than his debut, and very listenable. The songs flow nicely, opening with the social conscience of `Blowing in the Wind', through the country stylings of `Girl From The North Country', back to political statement with `Masters of War', and so on with a great deal of variety. Dylan was an artist with a lot to say, and it is here that he started to earn his sobriquet as the voice of the generation with tracks such as the angry `Hard Rain's Gonna Fall'. His bitter ode to love gone wrong `Don't Think Twice, It's All Right' still resonates today, and I have to say is probably my personal favourite Dylan track of all time. Despite being full of anger and bitterness there are moments of tenderness (the aforementioned `Girl From The North Country', and an interesting reading of `Corrina Corrina') and the album ends on a note of hopefulness with the elegant `I Shall Be Free'.

One of Dylan's most consistent and accessible albums, and probably the best from his early acoustic years. 5 stars easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, 10 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan (Audio CD)
Following all the years of critical spiel about Dylan's rejection of folk-protest in the classic albums Bringing it all back Home, Highway 61 and Blonde on Blonde and the incendiary live shows of the time, it's easy to forget that the stuff he walked away from wasn't so bad either. I'm a relative novice to his recordings but it's impossible not to be awed by the sheer talent on display here. Opening with 'Blowin' in the Wind' -if you think Dylan is tuneless, give this song a listen - and following with the album's highlight (for me) 'girl from the north country' the album gets off to a blazing start and barely lets up throughout. Later albums may have been more acclaimed but this is the first Dylan masterpiece and easily stands comparison with those albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The young Bob Dylan was realy good, 7 Jun. 2013
By 
Pierre Brewee - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan (Audio CD)
Still going on after all these years but I prefer his old work, the first albums, the beginning of his career when he played accoustic and later on the first electric things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album everyone must own., 31 Dec. 2003
By 
J. C. Eames "Winston" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan (Audio CD)
Iv'e been listening to Bob Dylan avidly for just over six months, and to say the least I will be a lifelong fan.
I have purchased over ten of his albums in this period of time. I am proud to say also that I saw him live on the 20th of November 2003 at the Sheffield arena something I will never forget and will repeat, it being my first ever concert!!
This man has also inspired me to pick up guitar and the harmonica
both of which I am loving and recommend anyone to do the same,
and a person who can do that has got to be worth something!
I mean you don't see Britney Spears inspiring people to do the same, her and other's alike just inspire vanity and talentless fools going on such shows as Pop Idol. They may be able to sing and be taught to dance ( half decently ), and why listen to cover versions of songs you can get the original to which have far more meaning and feeling. They don't, write, play or know music.
Bob Dylan, however does know music, and is music and drew from and was inspired by the Blues as other greats have done and more will continue to do so. He knew and played with Woody Guthrie and met loads of blues legends, i mean come on!!
Now enough on the artist more on the album. This is one of my favouite Dylan albums and as with all "good" musicians all the tracks are palatable ( in comparison to the pop tripe around at the minute where one hit single leads to an album! )
However Bob Dylan's latter album songs are all amazing when listened to not just for the music but the words/poetry which is what you should really be listening to.
Notable tracks are the obvious " Blowin in the Wind" a great protest song others which include Masters of War and A Hard Rains A-Gonna Fall all of which are amazing. He also has a few songs about the opposite sex including the " Girl of the North Country ", " Corrina, Corrina " and " Honey Just Allow Me One More Chance ". One of my favourites is " Talkin' World War III Blues " which is similar to " Bob Dylan's 115th Dream " off of the album " Another Side of Bob Dyaln " in respect of the vivid imagery and story telling feel to the song, and proves the fact that Dylan is essential listening.
If your " considering " buying this album then you simply have not heard it. If you do not own it buy it. If you do own it give it to someone else and buy another !!
" Bob Dylan Forever "
( p.s if you ever get chance to see Bob Dylan live grab it with both hands!! )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exemplary Politico-Folk music from the inimitable Bob Dylan, 10 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan (Audio CD)
What can one say about this album, but for the fact that it is truly mesmorising. From the outset (the CD begins with the classic "Blowin' in the Wind") the thoughtful, thought-provoking lyrics transport you to the time of their conception, 1960's Cold War fearing America. The album plays timelessly through 13 sultry tracks which were written in the early to mid-sixties, a time when fear of nuclear apocalypse played heavily on the minds of lyricists like Bob Dylan. A must buy if simply for the classic songs "Don't think twice, it's all right" and "Bob Dylan's World War III Blues".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock's premier songwriter gains the national conscious!, August 20, 2001, 11 Sept. 2012
This review is from: The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan (Audio CD)
One of the single most important albums of the 1960s canon of music, THE FREEWHEELIN' BOB DYLAN, along PLEASE PLEASE ME, introduced that era with a bang. Sure, the decade had been underway since 1960, but with this release we finally get the Dylan that will change the face of popular music. Although the album before this one can be entertaining in spots, no one could guess the genius of this sophomore effort by listening to the first Bob Dylan disc. And what genius it is. It also has a lesson produces nowadays could learn from: you don't need tons of insturments to produce an effective sound or music. This is just Dylan, a guitar, and a harmonica with the exception of "Corrina, Corrina," and he makes it work. Boy does he ever. Compositions like "Blowin' in the Wind," "Don't Think Twice, It's Alright," "A Hard Rain's Gonna Fall," "Masters of War," and "Girl of the North Country," quickly established Dylan as the premier songwriter for the social conscious of the early 1960s, a role Dylan would quickly move away from (just listen to the mid 1960s trilogy of BRINGING IT ALL BACK HOME, HIGHWAY 61 REVISITED, and BLONDE ON BLONDE to see how far he left this stuff behind). However, Dylan would never cease to be the premier songwriter of rock and roll, and he is still regarded as the poet laureate of this genre. AMG ranks this as the single most important song collection released in the 1960s. While he did go radically reinvent himself, Dylan never sounded better here, and while he may have come up with music as good as the songs on this album he never made one that surpassed it. We also get the really mean Dylan with "Don't Think Twice," though he tells the lover off in such a way as to guise how mean it really is. This album produced many of his most important compositions and signature songs.

The central problem with protest albums is they have a tendency to become dated and awkward, but not here. These songs sound just as glorious as when they were first released. Where THE FREEWHEELIN' BOB DYLAN does sound dated, this effect actually enhances the album, especially on the last cut of the album where he is talking to President Kennedy who was alive at the time. That alone gives the cut an endearing quality. For the just utterly blah, monotonous routine protest albums can be we go to the next album, THE TIMES THEY ARE A'CHANGIN', and while most of the cuts off that record are certainly worthy additions to the Dylan catalogue (considering the stuff that was being recorded at the time by Dylan, did we really need "With God On Our Side,") when taken as an entire album THE TIMES wears its listeners out emotionally. That is one album that desperately needed some light-hearted moments like "Eternal Circle" or something to break up the monotony. Sadly, two of the best compositions ("Percy's Song" and "Lay Down Your Weary Tune," both available on BIOGRAPH) were left off. Dylan does not make that mistake here. While certainly a protest album, it somehow transcends that and becomes a rather timeless piece of music. When compared to The Beatles' debut album, the other (much smaller, though to be fair The Beatles were very prolific for only being around seven years) body of work that all mainstream (and other) music is judged by, Dylan had them beat by a long way.

For those who are looking for a place to start, this album stands as an excellent introduction to Dylan. It makes more sense to start at the beginning and travel through his albums one by one to trace his artistic evolution. As for myself, I made a CD-R with a lot of the cuts that should have been on the album but weren't because of time restraints. For the new listener, they should also pick up THE BOOTLEG SERIES VOL. 1-3, and should be one of their top five Dylan purchases. It provides a shadow history of Dylan, and many of his best cuts, including outstanding compositions from this album (most notably "Rambling Gambling Willie," "Let Me Die In My Footsteps," and "Talking Bear Mountain,") were, sadly and inexplicitly, left off...

Bottom line: Essential 1960s music. For those young ones out there, the generation previous has some excellent music being wrought in their era... From the looks of the current music scene, we'll never get another poet like Dylan. Right now, it looks like we won't even get passable music. What happened?????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan (Audio CD)
Cd came on time and as advertised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OBVIOUSLY THIS ALBUM GETS 5 STARS!!, 26 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan (Audio CD)
brilliant , great album, timeless and i would defiantly recommend it. if only there wasn't any of that awful techno stuff and real music was still around eh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Was,Is and Will Be, 2 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan (Audio CD)
He was young when he recorded this one. We know this because we do, otherwise we would have never known. A wisdom that surpasses age and a melody that comes from a lonely corner of your heart. "Girl of North Country", and I was in a different world. It was beautiful, late in the night. The purity this album has is a benchmark in itself. Hummed in the impeccable mercury voice, these are the songs of a wanderer going from one place to another. You will like this CD because you will carry these songs in your heart. You will find yourself remarking to people," Don't think twice, Its all right". You will yell out, "I just want you to know I can see through your masks". He sings from a voice that comes from the common man, from you and me. And he ask's questions that we ask. Why ? Why do we have wars ? "hard rain's a gonna fall", is a commentary on this wasteland the world has become. From one mood to another this album will carry you through an array of feelings. "lay lady lay" is a song of wanting and "Blowing in the wind" is an anthem. Some more of his albums that come in the same level as this one are: times they are a-changing, bringing it all back home, blonde on blonde and ofcourse his greatest hits compilations. These all albums though are not as laid back as this one but they sure are all masterpieces. Try them and you will have a new look on life at your hand. These are his best songs there were, the best there are and probably the best there will be. So go get them now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great moments, 19 Jan. 2003
By 
Christian Aalling "caalling" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan (Audio CD)
There are some marvellous songs here, and some not so marvellous, and some in between. Dylan didn't take long to mature, this was just his second record. "Blowin' in the Wind", "Girl from the North Country", "A Hard Rain's a-Gonna Fall", and "Don't Think Twice, It's All Right" are classics, and they carry the record, which without them would have been just an ordinary folk experience. The only songs which are less than all right are "Honey, Just Allow Me One More Chance" and "Masters of War"; the former simply lacks sufficient quality, and the latter is a piece of self-contradiction, being so fierce in its railing against the masters of war, whoever they are, that it comes to resemble a war song itself. But all in all this is a fine record, Dylan's first major achievement - the first of many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan
The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan by Bob Dylan (Audio CD - 1989)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews