Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of His Finest
In a career that spans 5 decades, Trash is one of the King of Shock Rock's best. It's difficult to say where it fits in in his career since he has done so much different music. Put simply, it's not gothic and intense like his early albums, or quirky like some that followed it's just ballsy rock. If you're an Alice fan like me then I'm just wondering why this one isn't...
Published on 18 Mar. 2003 by Mr. A. E. Hall

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far from his best!
'Trash' was the first Alice Cooper album that I ever purchased. I did so after hearing lots of people speak of it as a 'classic', and of course, I was familiar with the catchy hit single 'Poison', which is perhaps predictably the opening track.

I know that this 1989 release was Alice's comeback album (on the Epic record label) and a big success, but after...
Published on 11 May 2008 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Trash is an apt title., 9 May 2014
This review is from: Trash (Audio CD)
I'll keep this short - this is a poor album made worse by the fact that I've always hated Bon Jovi with a passion as well. This is more or less that band with Alice as a guest vocalist! That vital spark of inspiration and originality has also gone and all that is left is a pretty basic hard-rock offering. Production line stadium rock chanting etc is clearly not Alice's forte. Most of the lyrics border on the banal as well. Were it not for a half decent single 'Poison' one star would be appropriate, sorry Alice, but this is a cop out. You've even got your head bowed on the cover which just about sums it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fine remaster, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trash (Audio CD)
Sound like was earlier but more bass, little bit more analog (like was on LP)
1) more tracks
2)digipack edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pure Alice, 18 Feb. 2012
By 
Mr. M. Regan - The Regsy "THE man in black" (Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trash. (Audio CD)
I love people who say that this album isn't Alice Cooper, it doesn't sound like Alice, can I ask which variation of Alice you are referring to? Welcome to my Nightmare, Killers or the wonderfully odd Zipper catches skin? This Album is Alice cooper through and through, its has a swagger to it, its all riff laden and slightly tongue in cheek. The only downside for me is that its not as dark as other Cooper outings, but is this a bad thing? Its a great album and OK it might not be the best Alice album ever released but it is a great album, one that to some degree brought Alice back into the public eye and rejuvenated his career. when you consider what else was stuck in our charts at the time,Black Box, Jason Donovan, New Kids on the block, Jive Bunny!! this albums deserves an award for bringing Rock back into the mainstream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bin and Gone, 19 Nov. 2010
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trash. (Audio CD)
Once again Alice tweeked his musical style in order to speak to the masses. Constrictor and Raise Your Fist... worked to a degree in niche market sales and brought him back into the public eye once again but didn't capture the hearts of the masses as he once had. Trash and his collaboration with Desmond Child changed all that and he was on top again. 'Poison' peaked to the heady heights of most music charts and began bothering the airways ever since. It is still played relatively regularly today, which cannot be said for anything he had written after Welcome to My Nightmare. It was a big deal and it had taken a long time but Alice had been moved to the A-list once more. His single and album sold by the thousands. But this was to the detriment of the music. While it is by no means his worst album, it even doesn't hold the same grip as his previous 2 efforts.

The music is still heavy rock but with more of a glam and grime bent. It's subject matter is sex, not horror and it has a drunken swagger rather than a thumping heartbeat. And the opener, 'Poison', is the perfect introduction to the updated Alice for the looming 90s. I won't critique it as you probably have heard it a million times by now. Oh, go on then - it's reeeaaalllyyy cheesy but absolutely brilliant. It's up there with 'Livin On A Prayer' and 'I Don't Want To Miss A Thing'. Rawk! 'Spark in the Dark' is pretty good and follows the dirty, yet sexy remit well. Nice tune. 'House of Fire' is more anthemic but falls a little short in my opinion. It's ok. The same can be said for 'Why Trust You'. It's a filler track, nothing more. 'Only My Heart Talkin' is better and is a ballad that works well with the rest of the album. Not perfect but much better.

'Bed Of Nails' is another cracker. Not quite classic but pretty close and nearer in tone to the Alice of old. 'This Maniac's In Love With You' is another filler track really. The title track is a pretty decent, grungey, grimey, dirty little rawk song. But not the best. 'Hell is Living Without You' is an ok ballad. And 'I'm Your Gun' is a by-the-numbers rousing, rockin' ending that is good but not great.

The song of note here is 'Poison'. Yes it has been played to death and I find it a little hard to listen to but it is clearly the best track on the album. The other tracks are not awful either, most are pretty good, but they are nowhere near classic.

A standard effort that left behind the great lyricist and brought in the lechy uncle. A leaning towards rock MOR was to come...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars when Alice met Desmond..., 30 Oct. 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trash. (Audio CD)
An album that splits the fans,this disc can be viewed as something akin to the last cast of the die for Cooper,his career going nowhere.Essentially Cooper became a Bon Jovi clone with Desmond Child co-writing 9 of the 10 tracks.

What tends to be overlooked is the fact that its actually a great pop/rock disc full of pumped up rock anthems with hummable choruses.

The album was a success,Alice was catapulted back to the charts and his fight back was on,he never looked back,he never ever felt the need to be quite as commercial again,job done.

Enjoy it for what it is rather than hark back to the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trash. (Audio CD)
Great cd, looked brand new , nicely packed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 19 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Trash. (Audio CD)
I first saw Alice Cooper in the film `Wayne`s World`, and I thought he was excellent. Since then, I have become a big fan of his work. He is one of my favourite artistes, and my favourite song on `Trash` is `Hell Is Living Without You`, which is a lovely, well-sung ballad with Jon Bon Jovi. Alice has a reputation for being a hard rocker, but some of the songs on this album prove otherwise. A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trash. (Audio CD)
as discribed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return to youth!, 7 Mar. 2012
By 
P. Lamer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trash. (Audio CD)
A truely great album, which once I heard again after many years I found myself listening to all the time. Great for running to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Trash. (Audio CD)
Mqny Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trash.
Trash. by Alice Cooper (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews