Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks, Mr Cohen
This is an album that leaves you fulfilled and contented- even though it's material deals with the harsher realities of life- as the songs are so tender and obviously thoughtful that humanity itself emanates from these deeply tuneful songs.
'Bird on the wire' should need no introduction, while sadly when I extol the virtues of 'Hey, that's no way to say goodbye,' few...
Published on 10 July 2002 by Mr M E Leese

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not good
having purchased old ideas last year and loving it I bought this album, and while it was ok and there are some decent tracks, I found it a bit "samey" in that a lot of the songs sounded alike and didn't inspire me at all. Much preferred the more gravelly voice on Old Ideas which I thought was a classic album.
Published 21 months ago by paul


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks, Mr Cohen, 10 July 2002
By 
Mr M E Leese (lLoughborough, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is an album that leaves you fulfilled and contented- even though it's material deals with the harsher realities of life- as the songs are so tender and obviously thoughtful that humanity itself emanates from these deeply tuneful songs.
'Bird on the wire' should need no introduction, while sadly when I extol the virtues of 'Hey, that's no way to say goodbye,' few people recognise the song, which is simply timeless. Other corker-beamers on this album are The Partisan,' 'Chelsea Hotel No.2,' and the brilliant 'Take This Longing.'
How to review such an album is an uphill task- one line could be deconstructed for pages to show Cohen's lyrical majesty, and no talk about the tunes will do them no justice. However I will issue this word of warning- these songs aren't catchy. You'll listen to them and appreciate them, and they'll start to sink into your soul until one day you 'get' a song, it means something to you and will never leave you. I hope this indicates the power of the album, which is, in a perverse way, too good and real to be as widely received as it should be. Reverse this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Treasures, 15 Feb. 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful collection of Cohen's now legendary early work. Drawn from his classic albums Songs Of Leonard Cohen, Songs From A Room, Songs Of Love And Hate and New Skin For The Old Ceremony, these timeless songs have become part of the serious poetic heritage of the English language. I have no favourites here because each and every track is sublime, from the wistful Suzanne to the aching Take This Longing. From "Love and Hate" I would have chosen Joan Of Arc, though, instead of Last Year's Man and would also have included The Old Revolution and Tonight Will Be Fine from "Room". The impact of these songs on popular culture is proved by the many cover versions, of which a few of the best include Rita Coolidge's "Bird On A Wire" plus The Lilac Time's and the Neville Brothers' version of the same song, Sting & The Chieftains' "Sisters Of Mercy," James' cover of "So Long Marianne", Geoffrey Oryema, Judy Collins and Nina Simone's very diverse interpretations of "Suzanne," and Peter Astor's "Take This Longing." Cohen completists would also be interested in last year's Essential Collection, just note that album does not include Lady Midnight or Last Year's Man. What I found especially impressive on listening to this album again, were the brilliant arrangements and especially the siren-like quality of the female vocals so perfectly framing Cohen's weary voice. These songs just sound better and better as the decades pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic value for a great selection, 20 Aug. 2006
By 
John Lawrence (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This was the first Leonard Cohen album that I bought and it's still my favourite. There are others that have great songs, but with this collection they are ALL great. Particular favourites include Suzanne, Famous Blue Raincoat, So Long Marianne and Hey That's No Way To Say Goodbye, but there are no weak tracks here.

In short great value, and every track a winner. A fantastic introduction to the timeless mastery of Leonard Cohen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Introduction To The Work Of Leonard Cohen, 4 Jun. 2003
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This was the first Leonard Cohen album I ever bought,a long, long time ago and it is an excellent introduction to the mystical and sensual lyricism of Leonard Cohen. From the painfully romantic to the almond bitter this album provides a great overview and is something you will never be tired of hearing after no matter how many years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Cohen did it again., 23 Feb. 2001
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Leonard Cohen have never let down his fans. And of course he didn't this time either. I bought this album years ago - but of course - I play it more than ever. Songs like "Chelsea Hotel", "So long Marianne" - and of course "Hey, that's no way to say goodbye" will always be played over and over again. I recently heard at the radio here in Norway that the girl in "Chelsea Hotel" was Janis Joplin. No wonder why the setting puts us in a special mood. Buy it and listen - You'll understand what I mean. You will be sure to listen to it over and over again.
It's been a while since mr. Cohens last masterpiece "The Future". I hope he will join us soon again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Formidable., 3 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Yet again, an excellent mixture of what Mr. Cohen does best. I would whole heartedly recommend this to anyone who enjoys listening to the works of Leonard Cohen, and I am sure that it will give you many hours of pleasurable listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You Only Own One Leonard Cohen Album..., 4 Dec. 2005
By 
OMG! It's got a plug! (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Superior to the bloated 'The Essential Leonard Cohen', this is, possibly, the finest compilation album ever released. And no, this is not suicide music - just a collection of timeless and classic songs. Highlights include 'Famous Blue Raincoat', 'Who By Fire', 'Hey, That's No Way To Say Goodbye' and 'So Long, Marianne' - the catchiest song ever. Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars took me back 40 years, 19 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
After watching a Leonard Cohen night on terrestial TV the other week, I must admit that during the late 60's and early 70's, I was mainly a progressive rock enthusiast, but had heard some of Leonard Cohen on sampler albums such as "The Rock Machine Turns You On" and "Fill Your Head with Rock". I certainly enjoyed classics such as "Sisters of Mercy" and "Suzanne", which seemed to break up the albums' mainly heavy rock bias, but never thought of buying one of his albums. Until now!, after watching these concerts that were recorded in the early 70's and on a recent tour of major european cities in 2009, I finally decided to go for this album and after listening to it have realised what I had been missing all these years. Pure unadulterated class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the best songs, bargain price, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The album consists of original recordings, not live late revamps when his fragile voice was in decline...Nice to have in the collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
i do love it and him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Leonard Cohen (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews