Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars73
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The budget price doesn't reflect the quality of this 2 disc collection of classical music highlights, for the soloists, orchestras, conductors and the recordings themselves ensure it is a good quality selection of mostly familiar music from the classical music repertoire.

The choices lean heavily towards the opera style, so for that reason alone will not be the only album necessary to cover everyone's taste - even the complete classical beginner will find many of their familiar favourites are absent.

The tracks are mostly single movements from the whole score, which may not please the more enthusiastic classical fan, but it's unavoidable given the short time permitted by only 2 CDs. In any case, this album really is only aimed at those wanting a brief 'best of' product rather than an in depth study, and for that purpose it does its job well.

I would recommend the album as a bargain value, well perfomed selection of classical/opera music. It's not the only one as its title claims, but it's not a bad starting point.
33 comments|93 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2004
"The Only. . . " album may sound like a superficial pastiche to reviewer 1, but it isn't. I'm a classical music activist and an advocate for imaginative ways to reverse classical's decline. From this standpoint this product demonstrates first-rate creative showmanship and sophistication on the part of its producers. As the second reviewer indicates, the album does more than just stimulate impulse purchase. The outrageously inspired title was obviously designed to attract newcomers to classical. Having lured the uninitiated, a wrong start on the first track could be the last heard. The inspired choice of Orff, with his primal rhythms and simple harmonic structure, probably breaks with stereotypes people may have about classical. The listener then gets an abrupt change of pace with luscious, delicate ballet melodies by Delibes, followed by all-meat-and-no-potatoes romantic masterpieces in the Dvorak 9th Symphony (appropriately performed by a Czech orchestra) and the Grieg Peer Gynt Suite. The album includes popular classic hits like the Pachelbel Canon and Albinoni Adagio but embraces diverse styles ranging from Khatchaturian and Prokofiev to Bizet's the Pearl Fishers (opera) and Satie's Gymnopedie. Toward the end come full and unchopped performances of core classical repertory like the Bach instrumental suites and Vivaldi violin concerti (in dynamic, living-tradition style, led by James Galway). Reviewer No. 2 is on target. This is a superb present for newcomers. More experienced listeners can relax and enjoy masterly programming of great classics, executed by fine performers and ensembles.
0Comment|141 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Having NEVER brought a Classical music CD before I felt it was about time I did.

Now I am so pleased. This is a super CD set full of well known music which I enjoy.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2011
I was pleasantly surprised I knew more tracks than I thought. It is certainly worth it as your first attempt in buying classical music, like I did. As most tunes are the most famous ones around. Only downside is that Nessun Dorma isn't performed by a bigger artist. That should have been performed by Luciano Pavarotti. I'd even be happy if it had been Paul Potts.

However, can't complain at that price!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2007
The Only Classical Album You'll Ever Need is an album well suited to satisfy musical taste for followers of classical music. The two disc set is a collection of classical musical artists to embrace and entertain listeners with beautiful music that you can admire so strongly for it poetic meanings in life and tunefulness. The two disc set features some familar artist names within the classical arena, such as Mozart, Beethoven, Puccini, Elgar,Vivaldi and son.

The album is an ideal treat for classical music followers. You have a host of songs to really satisy you to listen time and time again. Play the music whilst you are engaged in daily activities like cooking, taking a shower, cleaning the house and so on. The album should be highly praised for it beautifully and splendid display of music at its best for anyone who is really passionate about light and easy listening music. Any neighbours who listens to this music even if it blasted at high full volumn are guranteed to admire and may be even purchase this music.

The bottom line here is The Only Classical Album You'll Ever Needs is beautiful music and contains the main ingredients of refreshing and easy listening music. It is an album for inclusion if you are fan of classical music.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 April 2011
Well if you love to sit quietly in a comfortable armchair, cup of tea (or wine) feet up eyes shut and listen to glorious music then treat yourself to this CD, it is a joy to listen to and relax to...so go on treat yourself !
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2001
I was visiting from USA and found this CD in Birmingham. I have not taken it out of my CD player since 1999! Buy one and leave it in slot 3...you won't regret it. The variety is perfect, changing moods just when you feel worn from the last track. Two colleagues bargained over the last CD available and the won who lost borrows mine. Today I ordered it for him and sent one to my son, a metallic music lover, who likes just a bit of classical and this CD will fit the bill.
0Comment|101 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2015
I'm not a music buff, of a classical connoisseur, and I will be the first to admit that I only really chose this album over the competition because I wanted a copy of O Fortuna.

This being said, if you want inject some classical music into your collection, then this is a good place to start. There is a nice spread of well known\popular classical pieces from some big names. The recording quality is quite good. If you're just playing it on regular speakers or headphones (Rather than a super expensive set) then you won't find anything to complain about.

There is a good range of tracks the two discs and it's very affordable. If you want some classical music, and you don't already have a large collection then certainly buy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2011
It is good, excellent selection of tunes, although personally I avoid the first tunes on each disc, purely personal as I know they are well loved but to me dont fit in with the rest of the selection which is very harmonious. The little book is good too, many tunes I have wondered, what is that called, who wrote that, and the answer is there. The selections last from 2 to 9 minutes - I still prefer my very old cassette of Golden Opera, but this comes a good second. Dont be deceived by the title, I can think of many wonderful melodies not included. It is very good value though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2011
This CD is pleasant listening, especially in the car on a long and tedious journey.It relieved the bordom to listen to lovely music.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)