Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


133 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant job of showmanship and programming
"The Only. . . " album may sound like a superficial pastiche to reviewer 1, but it isn't. I'm a classical music activist and an advocate for imaginative ways to reverse classical's decline. From this standpoint this product demonstrates first-rate creative showmanship and sophistication on the part of its producers. As the second reviewer indicates, the album does more...
Published on 23 Jan 2004 by Frank T. Manheim

versus
84 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great value, but certainly not the 'only one' you'll ever need
The budget price doesn't reflect the quality of this 2 disc collection of classical music highlights, for the soloists, orchestras, conductors and the recordings themselves ensure it is a good quality selection of mostly familiar music from the classical music repertoire.

The choices lean heavily towards the opera style, so for that reason alone will not be the...
Published on 8 Mar 2008 by Mart


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great value, but certainly not the 'only one' you'll ever need, 8 Mar 2008
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Only Classical Album You'll Ever Need (Audio CD)
The budget price doesn't reflect the quality of this 2 disc collection of classical music highlights, for the soloists, orchestras, conductors and the recordings themselves ensure it is a good quality selection of mostly familiar music from the classical music repertoire.

The choices lean heavily towards the opera style, so for that reason alone will not be the only album necessary to cover everyone's taste - even the complete classical beginner will find many of their familiar favourites are absent.

The tracks are mostly single movements from the whole score, which may not please the more enthusiastic classical fan, but it's unavoidable given the short time permitted by only 2 CDs. In any case, this album really is only aimed at those wanting a brief 'best of' product rather than an in depth study, and for that purpose it does its job well.

I would recommend the album as a bargain value, well perfomed selection of classical/opera music. It's not the only one as its title claims, but it's not a bad starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


133 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant job of showmanship and programming, 23 Jan 2004
By 
Frank T. Manheim (Fairfax VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Only Classical Album You'll Ever Need (Audio CD)
"The Only. . . " album may sound like a superficial pastiche to reviewer 1, but it isn't. I'm a classical music activist and an advocate for imaginative ways to reverse classical's decline. From this standpoint this product demonstrates first-rate creative showmanship and sophistication on the part of its producers. As the second reviewer indicates, the album does more than just stimulate impulse purchase. The outrageously inspired title was obviously designed to attract newcomers to classical. Having lured the uninitiated, a wrong start on the first track could be the last heard. The inspired choice of Orff, with his primal rhythms and simple harmonic structure, probably breaks with stereotypes people may have about classical. The listener then gets an abrupt change of pace with luscious, delicate ballet melodies by Delibes, followed by all-meat-and-no-potatoes romantic masterpieces in the Dvorak 9th Symphony (appropriately performed by a Czech orchestra) and the Grieg Peer Gynt Suite. The album includes popular classic hits like the Pachelbel Canon and Albinoni Adagio but embraces diverse styles ranging from Khatchaturian and Prokofiev to Bizet's the Pearl Fishers (opera) and Satie's Gymnopedie. Toward the end come full and unchopped performances of core classical repertory like the Bach instrumental suites and Vivaldi violin concerti (in dynamic, living-tradition style, led by James Galway). Reviewer No. 2 is on target. This is a superb present for newcomers. More experienced listeners can relax and enjoy masterly programming of great classics, executed by fine performers and ensembles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 28 Feb 2008
By 
Birmingham Book Reader (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Only Classical Album You'll Ever Need (Audio CD)
Having NEVER brought a Classical music CD before I felt it was about time I did.

Now I am so pleased. This is a super CD set full of well known music which I enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bliss !, 11 April 2011
By 
R. Moore "Ros Moore" (Wellingborough England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Only Classical Album You'll Ever Need (Audio CD)
Well if you love to sit quietly in a comfortable armchair, cup of tea (or wine) feet up eyes shut and listen to glorious music then treat yourself to this CD, it is a joy to listen to and relax to...so go on treat yourself !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For classical music followers, 14 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Only Classical Album You'll Ever Need (Audio CD)
The Only Classical Album You'll Ever Need is an album well suited to satisfy musical taste for followers of classical music. The two disc set is a collection of classical musical artists to embrace and entertain listeners with beautiful music that you can admire so strongly for it poetic meanings in life and tunefulness. The two disc set features some familar artist names within the classical arena, such as Mozart, Beethoven, Puccini, Elgar,Vivaldi and son.

The album is an ideal treat for classical music followers. You have a host of songs to really satisy you to listen time and time again. Play the music whilst you are engaged in daily activities like cooking, taking a shower, cleaning the house and so on. The album should be highly praised for it beautifully and splendid display of music at its best for anyone who is really passionate about light and easy listening music. Any neighbours who listens to this music even if it blasted at high full volumn are guranteed to admire and may be even purchase this music.

The bottom line here is The Only Classical Album You'll Ever Needs is beautiful music and contains the main ingredients of refreshing and easy listening music. It is an album for inclusion if you are fan of classical music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Album, 20 Feb 2010
By 
Big Al (Rep of Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Only Classical Album You'll Ever Need (Audio CD)
This album was a joy to listen to I have it with me all the time in the car, and if you are into classical you cannot go wrong with this one.....p.s. and it's great value.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surely not the only...., 17 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Only Classical Album You'll Ever Need (Audio CD)
A pretty good selection of popular classics but by no means anything like as wide ranging as the title suggests. A reasonable choice for the many of us who are not classical music buffs but enjoy a 'good tune ' from wherever it comes!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only classical album you'll ever need, 14 May 2011
By 
D. MANLEY (Derbyshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Only Classical Album You'll Ever Need (Audio CD)
It's very good - a lot of my favourites. I wouldn't agree with the title whole-heartedly, but it certainly brings together a very good selection of classical music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I was pleasantly surprised, 13 May 2011
This review is from: The Only Classical Album You'll Ever Need (Audio CD)
I was pleasantly surprised I knew more tracks than I thought. It is certainly worth it as your first attempt in buying classical music, like I did. As most tunes are the most famous ones around. Only downside is that Nessun Dorma isn't performed by a bigger artist. That should have been performed by Luciano Pavarotti. I'd even be happy if it had been Paul Potts.

However, can't complain at that price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


100 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is as it is titled., 5 April 2001
This review is from: The Only Classical Album You'll Ever Need (Audio CD)
I was visiting from USA and found this CD in Birmingham. I have not taken it out of my CD player since 1999! Buy one and leave it in slot 3...you won't regret it. The variety is perfect, changing moods just when you feel worn from the last track. Two colleagues bargained over the last CD available and the won who lost borrows mine. Today I ordered it for him and sent one to my son, a metallic music lover, who likes just a bit of classical and this CD will fit the bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Only Classical Album You'll Ever Need
The Only Classical Album You'll Ever Need by Various (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews