Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is there to say? A lot actually...
The best Deep Purple compilation ever. Throw in an awesome cover (Better than the shoddy very best of cover) and you have the best album for cruising. Only downside is that Highway star gives me road rage now and then.

Tracks included:

Black Night - Bluesy hard rock, very catchy, epic mid-song solo and finishing fade out solo 4/5

Speed...
Published on 3 Aug 2011 by Salmony

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars just another greatest hits package
From 1975 to 1984, Deep Purple released absolutely no studio material, therefore it was necessary to bring in money in the way of "Greatest Hits" packages and live albums. "Deepest Purple" was just that, another greatest hits package. Every single song on here appears on the "The Very Best Of..." collection released in 2000. The only difference between the two packages is...
Published on 4 May 2012 by Lord Anon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is there to say? A lot actually..., 3 Aug 2011
This review is from: Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple (Audio CD)
The best Deep Purple compilation ever. Throw in an awesome cover (Better than the shoddy very best of cover) and you have the best album for cruising. Only downside is that Highway star gives me road rage now and then.

Tracks included:

Black Night - Bluesy hard rock, very catchy, epic mid-song solo and finishing fade out solo 4/5

Speed King - Holy crap, fast paced hard rock rampage, eardrum bursting vocals, cool little organ solo in the middle. What doesn't this song have? 5/5

Fireball - Classic sexy deep purple lyrics, fast paced and cool as hell, nice fade out organ solo 3/5

Strange Kind of Woman - Another classic deep purple song, lovely lyrics, stellar riffing 2/5

Child In Time - The first peak in the album, and holy crap is it a great one. Crescendo vocals, by far the best on the album yet, and an electricity fuelled solo. The song ends similarly to how it started, gives it a great nostalgic feel. Very experimental sounding. By far one of deep purple's best 5/5

Woman from Tokyo - Great song, the piano at the end is a welcome change because at this point in the album you've already heard enough riffing to last a lifetime. Great slow section in the middle. 3/5

Highway Star - By far the best song on the album, so good that newcomers to deep purple might want to skip to this first. Forget Smoke on the water, this is the definitive deep purple sound, a fast paced mash adrenaline rushes and cracking guitar soloing. A 6 minute 7 seconds roller coaster ride. The peak of all known hard rock. 6/5

Space Truckin' - Ridiculously cool, that's all that's needed to describe this song, another classic deep purple oldie. One of my favourites for jamming out to. 4/5

Burn - Even the later line up of deep purple (and arguably worser deep purple) was able to kick out some amazing tracks now and then. From the album named after the song, unfortunately one of the only songs there worth listening to. It can feel quite long due to the repeated riff, which isn't bad, but lacks variation. The organ solo kicks so much ass, and whilst I would have normally given this a 3, the organ solo deserves the 4. 4/5

Stormbringer - Deep purple have done bad albums, (what band hasn't?) band Stormbringer is definitely among the worst. Thankfully the title track is an absolute classic, the use of synthesizer is very well done, and the chorus kicks. Has some of my favourite lyrics of all time, "Rainbow shaker on a stallion twister bareback rider on the eye of the sky" Holy crap. 4/5

Demon's Eye - Another song that can be described as sexy, great riffing, great vocals, great organ solo as always, no need to flesh this one out too much, there's not much more to say. 3/5

Smoke on the Water - The iconic riff. A lot of people will tell you this is the best deep purple song. Ask them if they know any other deep purple songs. In my opinion, while a great song, with a great chorus, it is vastly overrated. Yeah, there's a solo, but it doesn't even dare to reach the greatness of Highway Star's or Burn's solos, and overall, if you take the iconic riff out, it's quite a repetitive song. Feel free to thumbs down, but my opinion stays, and having heard pretty much every deep purple song many times, I have to say it doesn't really have a leg to stand on in the face of everything else. 3/5

So that's it. Get it. One song that this album actually lacks is 'Hush' which I really reccomend a listen to, whether it be just on youtube or from a mp3/cd. It's understandable why they did not include it however, it was from a previous lineup that did not have the staple deep purple sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 15 Dec 2008
By 
nakka1973 (Ellesmere Port, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple (Audio CD)
Have this album on vinyl and cd. It is music from the gods, so glad I bought the vinyl years ago. The only way to describe the music on this album is FANTASTIC. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deepest Purple, 12 Oct 2012
By 
N. Wright "vinylgeek" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple (Audio CD)
One of many Deep Purple compilations, but this one, originally released in 1980, stands out above the rest. The original vinyl release, which features what was then an unprecedented 62 minutes of music, is highly recommended, the front cover of the album is brilliant. The sound quality on the CD release unfortunately was poor. The twelve tracks included are mostly from the Mark II lineup of the band.

This is a recommended purchase for anyone who has all the original studio albums, or for someone who wants all the band's best work in one album. The tracks.
1 Black Night - 1970
2 Speed King (slightly edited) - 1970
3 Fireball - 1971
4 Strange Kind of Woman - 1971
5 Child In Time - 1970
6 Woman from Tokyo - 1973
7 Highway Star - 1972
8 Space Trukkin' - 1972
9 Burn - 1974
10 Stormbringer - 1974
11 Demon's Eye - 1971
12 Smoke on the Water - 1972

Tracks 9 and 10 are the Mark III lineup, which featured David Coverdale and Glenn Hughes in place of Ian Gillan and Roger Glover.
Apart from 'Speed King' all tracks have been preserved in their original full-length versions and there is not one weak moment on here.

The best Deep Purple albums to own are this, along with 'In Rock', 'Fireball', 'Machine Head' and 'Burn', along with some of their many live releases. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The dogs b*****ks, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple (Audio CD)
All this great bands great work in one bargain package,just put it on and you are young again and back in the 70,s
From smoke...to child in time all excellent.Fireball,the worlds first speed metal song is ahead of its time.Not a weak track on it.It needs to be in any rock collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Collection Of Deep Purple's Best Mk 2/Mk 3, 23 April 2004
By 
Anders Skaldebø (Drangedal, Norway) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple (Audio CD)
Deepest Purple was my very first Deep Purple album. When I first listenedto it I was astonished by the bands musicianship. The tracks are all ofthe Mk 2a era except tracks 9 and 11 wich are Mk 3. I would say thesesongs represent this era probably the best, altough i do miss Fools andMight Just Take Your Life, but you can't get everything. Altough there areno bonus live tracks on this best of compilation, there is a remix ofSpeed King and probably of some other songs altough I can't hear exactly,wich should tempt for older purple fans who already have everything worthhaving. For beginners wondering what deep purple is, this cd is perfect.Buy it if you don't have any deep purple, or if you have everything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as Uriah Heep?, 13 Jun 2013
This review is from: Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple (Audio CD)
I hope the title of this review has grabbed your attention and no doubt many will disagree, but given the quality of some of Heep's music it is hard to disagree! Anyway back to the nitty-gritty, except for the tediously lengthy and over indulgent 'Child in Time' this is a very good compilation and to this day contains one of the best intro's ever, that being the start of 'Smoke on the Water' which is only bettered by Hawkwind and 'Master of the Universe'. Going back to 'Child in Time' why did superb bands of this era feel the need to inflict such unnecessary pain? If you have to do 10 minute songs the best way to do it is as Stray did on their stunning debut album. Listen to 'All in Your Mind' and you'll get the gist. Deep Purple recorded other excellent songs that should have been here instead and this CD would then have been given 5 stars. If you are looking for a place to get a taster for Deep Purple you could do a lot worse than start here but remember to skip track 5 or you may miss the rest due to having fallen asleep regardless of the volume. My only other gripe is the sound quality which could have been crisper. It sounds a little murky at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great stuff all round, 13 Nov 2010
This review is from: Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple (Audio CD)
this cd is a perfect starting point for anyone interested in genuine british rock as performed by one of the pioneers of the genre.Great songs performed with style and a rawness rarely achieved by any band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purple Reign!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 10 Sep 2010
This review is from: Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple (Audio CD)
This CD album is the best collection on one disc of the 1970's Deep Purple. It was compiled by drummer Ian Paice (the only original member left in the current band!). Making it the only official compilation by the band. It features over an hour of music. The Direct Metal Mastering that was used originaly has stood up remarkably well sound quality wise on CD. It reached No.1 in the charts. It's gone Platinum. And it includes 12 classic songs 10 by MK2 & 2 MK3. Over 60 minutes of music. The versions of 'Speed King' & 'Space Truckin'' are both slightly edited. Otherwise it's all the hits & classics - 'Smoke On The Water', 'Black Night', 'Child In Time' etc. The one track that could have been left off in favour of something else is 'Demon's Eye', a b-side & album track that never realy took off as a live classic. I'd have preferred the gentle blues ballad 'When A Blind Man Cries'(One of Ian Gillan's favourites). Or possibly the original million selling 1968 1st hit single 'Hush'. I like the cover too! Strat & purple tinged smoke & fireworks(reminds me of Knebworth!). If your interested in Ritchie Blackmore & Deep Purple, Rainbow, Blackmore's Night & even his 60's career, then subscribe to More Black than Purple Magazine. Write to PO Box 155, Bedford, MK40 2YX. England. Black Knight: Ritchie BlackmorePerfect StrangersIn the Absence of Pink: Knebworth 1985The Battle Rages on Rainbow's Long Live Rock 'n' Roll StoryThe 'More Black than Purple' Interviews The House of Blue Light
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bit of respect please for Roger Glover, Ian Paice and Jon Lord, 17 Jan 2009
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple (Audio CD)
Yes the riffs are great, the vocals superb but I think not enough respect has been given to the "backing band"
For me the best bit of "Smoke on the water" is the bit where the bass kicks in. And so it goes on with some of the best bass, keys and drums around, often lost in the overwhelming praise heaped on Gillan/Coverdale and Blackmore.

So listen to "that" riff once more but get behind it and listen, really listen to the other guys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ALBUM!, 27 Jun 2014
By 
Ms. L. Rooke "LOU" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple (Audio CD)
WHAT A CLASSIC ALBUM.A BLAST FROM THE PAST WHICH IS AN ERA I LOVE . BETTER QUALITY SOUND THAN MY SCRATCHED VINYL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple
Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews