Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deepest Purple
One of many Deep Purple compilations, but this one, originally released in 1980, stands out above the rest. The original vinyl release, which features what was then an unprecedented 62 minutes of music, is highly recommended, the front cover of the album is brilliant. The sound quality on the CD release unfortunately was poor. The twelve tracks included are mostly from...
Published on 12 Oct. 2012 by N. Wright

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Please remaster this
If you're buying this then you already know what you are getting, the songs themselves are iconic. The CD itself however is not; the sound quality is uninspiring. This cd is a prime candidate for remastering, there is no auto-rip either which is a disappointment, if you are buying this for the content great, but for an album that sounds good on a hi-fi then no.
Published 5 months ago by sammo


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deepest Purple, 12 Oct. 2012
By 
N. Wright "vinylgeek" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple (Audio CD)
One of many Deep Purple compilations, but this one, originally released in 1980, stands out above the rest. The original vinyl release, which features what was then an unprecedented 62 minutes of music, is highly recommended, the front cover of the album is brilliant. The sound quality on the CD release unfortunately was poor. The twelve tracks included are mostly from the Mark II lineup of the band.

This is a recommended purchase for anyone who has all the original studio albums, or for someone who wants all the band's best work in one album. The tracks.
1 Black Night - 1970
2 Speed King (slightly edited) - 1970
3 Fireball - 1971
4 Strange Kind of Woman - 1971
5 Child In Time - 1970
6 Woman from Tokyo - 1973
7 Highway Star - 1972
8 Space Trukkin' - 1972
9 Burn - 1974
10 Stormbringer - 1974
11 Demon's Eye - 1971
12 Smoke on the Water - 1972

Tracks 9 and 10 are the Mark III lineup, which featured David Coverdale and Glenn Hughes in place of Ian Gillan and Roger Glover.
Apart from 'Speed King' all tracks have been preserved in their original full-length versions and there is not one weak moment on here.

The best Deep Purple albums to own are this, along with 'In Rock', 'Fireball', 'Machine Head' and 'Burn', along with some of their many live releases. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 15 Dec. 2008
By 
nakka1973 (Ellesmere Port, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple (Audio CD)
Have this album on vinyl and cd. It is music from the gods, so glad I bought the vinyl years ago. The only way to describe the music on this album is FANTASTIC. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Collection Of Deep Purple's Best Mk 2/Mk 3, 23 April 2004
By 
Anders Skaldebø (Drangedal, Norway) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple (Audio CD)
Deepest Purple was my very first Deep Purple album. When I first listenedto it I was astonished by the bands musicianship. The tracks are all ofthe Mk 2a era except tracks 9 and 11 wich are Mk 3. I would say thesesongs represent this era probably the best, altough i do miss Fools andMight Just Take Your Life, but you can't get everything. Altough there areno bonus live tracks on this best of compilation, there is a remix ofSpeed King and probably of some other songs altough I can't hear exactly,wich should tempt for older purple fans who already have everything worthhaving. For beginners wondering what deep purple is, this cd is perfect.Buy it if you don't have any deep purple, or if you have everything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great stuff all round, 13 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple (Audio CD)
this cd is a perfect starting point for anyone interested in genuine british rock as performed by one of the pioneers of the genre.Great songs performed with style and a rawness rarely achieved by any band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bit of respect please for Roger Glover, Ian Paice and Jon Lord, 17 Jan. 2009
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple (Audio CD)
Yes the riffs are great, the vocals superb but I think not enough respect has been given to the "backing band"
For me the best bit of "Smoke on the water" is the bit where the bass kicks in. And so it goes on with some of the best bass, keys and drums around, often lost in the overwhelming praise heaped on Gillan/Coverdale and Blackmore.

So listen to "that" riff once more but get behind it and listen, really listen to the other guys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The dogs b*****ks, 23 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple (Audio CD)
All this great bands great work in one bargain package,just put it on and you are young again and back in the 70,s
From smoke...to child in time all excellent.Fireball,the worlds first speed metal song is ahead of its time.Not a weak track on it.It needs to be in any rock collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars True to Colour, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent, as expected. My only thoughts are over all of these Best, Very Best, Greatest Hits etc is that they are more often just a collection of known tracks -often banded together because of the same publisher, promoter or band line up.
I would love to see the hits of Deep Purple #1, #2, #3 etc to get the same songs with my preferred vocalist, drummer or whatever.
-A problem that will always occur with a band name that has so many personnel changes over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Rock, 25 Jan. 2012
It is probably essential to have some Purple if you like Rock. I bought this for my iPod to basically cherry pick the best bits from my vinyl collection. Obviously the gatefold sleeves, inner sleeves and warm vinyl sound are missing, but otherwise it's what it should be - all the songs, proper versions, full length. Too many cobbled together live compilations are out there, so this is a good safe bet. Duh, duh, duuhh! Duh, duh duduhh! As they say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Please remaster this, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple (Audio CD)
If you're buying this then you already know what you are getting, the songs themselves are iconic. The CD itself however is not; the sound quality is uninspiring. This cd is a prime candidate for remastering, there is no auto-rip either which is a disappointment, if you are buying this for the content great, but for an album that sounds good on a hi-fi then no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor value, 17 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple (Audio CD)
Dreadful sound quality. Good selection of tracks but the sound really lets it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple
Deepest Purple - The Very Best Of Deep Purple by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews