Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album may well change your life!
I find it hard to fault this album. Slide it into your CD player, and press play. The sublime guitar-strums start, and begin to speed up. The experience has begun. The drums cut in, then the gentle violin, and then Dylan : "Pistol shots ring out in a bar-room night..." Cymbals crash, and Bob's voice grows in urgency, a storyteller singing the plaintive song of protest...
Published on 22 Jan 2003 by Mr. A. Keen

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I like the cover...
One of my least favourite Dylan albums. I don't really like any of the songs much, Mozambique and Black Diamond Bay are ok, but the rest are a bit dreary. And Bob must have really liked the violin player!
Published 3 months ago by Stephen


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Dec 2014
By 
zola (rochester, kent,uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desire (Audio CD)
happy with all purchaces
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely sound, 18 Feb 2010
This review is from: Desire (Audio CD)
Totally different sound to the previous year's Blood On The Tracks, this is a much freer and happier sounding Dylan, not tied to some emotional mission like he was on BOTT. A good mix of songs with a loose, bluesy feel throughout with splashes of exoticism. A musically mature album and not at all claustraphobic or intense as BOTT was, this is a very conscious move away from that saturated and pristine studio sound, the contrast with that album is fantastic. If BOTT hadn't been made then Desire would probably be raved about as his best 70s album. Not as emersing or anything like as relistenable as BOTT but deserves a listen to every once in a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Dylan you'll love this, 30 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desire (Audio CD)
Love this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hugely underrated albumn!, 6 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Desire (Audio CD)
After the phenomenum of Blood on the tracks, a follow up albumn was always going to be hard. The rollercoaster lyrics and sparse arrangements of BotTs gives way to a more commercial feel.
OK, it's not the Bob Dylan we've come to expect, but this is the last album he did before his voice went and he turned all weird. And his voice on Desire is probably the best it's ever been.
Hurricane and Joey are the "sellouts", pretty poor efforts really, which go on far too long, to tell of uninteresting heroes of injustice, at least Hurricane is energetic!!
Isis is the highlight of the albumn - worth the money on its own. An incredible song, full of mythology - poetry with rythum was how Alan Ginsburg put it. One more cup of coffee + romance in durange offer a latin feel, and are both excellent.
The last track, Sarah, is a last pleading footnote to his ex-wife- while the lyrics pretty much ramble, it shows how much he felt of his wife, which probably reveals why he went so religious afterwards.
To conclude, a very good albumn which is easy on the ears (which you can't say for many Bob Dylan albumns). If you are a Dylan fan, it needs to be in your collection. If you are just discovering Dylan - get something from earlier on (Eg, blonde on blonde, Blood on the Tracks, anything from the 60s depending on your mood!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my Sister Gillian., 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desire (Audio CD)
I bought this CD for my Sister.
I know she'll be Very Happy with it as she told me it's her favourite Bob Dylan album but it had somehow gone missing recently from her Music collection, this is why I bought it for her.

Thank you Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Desire, 1 Feb 2012
By 
C Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Desire (Audio CD)
I knew all the content of the album having previously purchased it on vinyl but due to the retirement of my record player I had not had the pleasure of hearing any of the content for a long time.It's a great album for any Dylan fan but having first heard 'Sara' filtering down from a clifftop in the Corfu sunshine I probably appreciated it more than most and the journey back through the rest of the album almost makes up for not being able to play the vinyl version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desire (Audio CD)
He's my man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Nov 2014
By 
Lloyd Peter Ball "lalonzo51" (birmingham,u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desire (Audio CD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I like the cover..., 8 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desire (Audio CD)
One of my least favourite Dylan albums. I don't really like any of the songs much, Mozambique and Black Diamond Bay are ok, but the rest are a bit dreary. And Bob must have really liked the violin player!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at his best, 28 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desire (Audio CD)
best dylan album you can by i never cease the amazment of it however many times i listen to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Desire
Desire by Bob Dylan (Audio CD - 1989)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews