Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sunset in Paradise
Sade and her band gave this album a lighter tone than the bluesy "Promise" which preceded it and it has the feel of sandy shores at twilight and the nightlife of palm trees and exotic drinks with flowers in them. It is a lush but spare production of rythms and vocals blending perfectly to create a special atmosphere.
No matter where you are, or what you are doing,...
Published on 12 Jan 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Nice album. Not as good as Diamond Life, to which it was the follow up. Tricky second album.
Published 2 months ago by Dickie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sunset in Paradise, 12 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Stronger Than Pride (Audio CD)
Sade and her band gave this album a lighter tone than the bluesy "Promise" which preceded it and it has the feel of sandy shores at twilight and the nightlife of palm trees and exotic drinks with flowers in them. It is a lush but spare production of rythms and vocals blending perfectly to create a special atmosphere.
No matter where you are, or what you are doing, once this one is playing you are somewhere else. And it is a good place to be. The flavor on this one is really special and even when it moves from the sandy shores (Love is Stronger Than Pride, Paradise) to the city surrounding it (Keep Looking, Clean Heart) there is no doubt we are still there, only it is night now, and time to reflect.
We get the spanish flavored ballad "Haunt Me" and the longing "I Never Thought I'd See the Day" to mellow us down. But it is getting late and the romance with that girl we met on the beach turns in another direction. Sade and her band know how to set this mood well and the instumental "Siempre Hay Esperanza" brings our day on the shore to it's perfect completion. It is a song so sexy it was the background music to the famous "supermarket" scene in "Sea of Love" with Pacino and Barkin.
Great rhythms surround Sade's sensual vocals in this perfect production. Sade knows we don't want to think when in exotic surroundings, we only want to feel. This effort creates that mood completely. We get to go somewhere else and we don't have to travel. All we have to do is pick this one up, and put it on....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bassy, exotic and wonderful to have you back., 27 Feb 2002
By 
Damien Boyd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stronger Than Pride (Audio CD)
The haunting bass strings of "Paradise" drew me to the music of Sade and encouraged me to buy every album she has done. As a fan you have to wait between 3 and 5 years to hear her new material but like the popular shampoo ad...shes worth it!
The main thyme of this (and many of her other works) is the pursuit of lasting love. The songs are very soulful, highly instrumental, exotic and touch your heart strings a lot. "Love is stronger", the opening track, is very slow and lingering ..tempting the listener to just mellow out. "Paradise" is fast and bassy. "Keep Looking" and "Give it up" again have that recognisable strong bass sound. "I never thought I'd see the day" is , perhaps, the best track on the album.It is a beautifully slow track with gentle background sounds and sad, touching lyrics. It finishes with the wonderful "Siempre hay Esperanza"...("hope" in Spanish).
Overall a terrific album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 24 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Stronger Than Pride (Audio CD)
All I can say about this is if you don't already own it you should! You know how some music just seems to sound better at certain times of the year or reminds you of good times? This album sounds good all year round whether at the beach, on holiday, relaxing by the barbecue or sitting in front of a roaring fire,glass of red wine in hand while the rain batters at the windows in winter. Sade's voice wraps itself around you and just relaaaax!!!
The title track of the album "Stronger than Pride" is sheer class from THE most under-rated artist in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stronger than pride, 7 May 2011
This review is from: Stronger Than Pride (Audio CD)
There was always something missing in my collection but not any more. What can I say, just amazing. Just the first lines of the first track make me pause for a moment and enjoy her music and her voice; and then I want to do only one thing... volume up and play the rest. Amazing CD. Amazing Sade!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 14 July 2014
By 
Dickie (Essex U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice album. Not as good as Diamond Life, to which it was the follow up. Tricky second album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased!, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stronger Than Pride (Audio CD)
Beautiful and well worth the money. Can't get better on the high street. Don't worry about whether there is any quality, just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stronger than other music from the era, Sade's 1988 masterpiece never seems to age, 30 Aug 2013
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stronger Than Pride (Audio CD)
Sade's third album release from 1988 is characterised by minimalist compositions which allow Ms. Adu's expressive voice to take a more dominant role, the result a sublime collection of songs evoking sundown on a languid tropical evening.

Whilst continuing the essential groove of the first two album releases, `Stronger than Pride' exudes a greater confidence than earlier efforts; the band no longer has anything to prove. In the 21st century one might expect a pop-influenced jazz album from 1988 to sound dated, but not so: the phrase "less is more" was never more true than here. The core band - Stuart Matthewman on guitar and sax, Paul Spencer Denman on bass and Andrew Hale on keyboards - remains unchanged from the debut. Each is a strong musician/composer and together they form an organic unit with distinctive character, the perfect vehicle for Sade's mature, lush vocal lead.

`Haunt Me' and `I Never Thought I'd See the Day' are distinctive mood pieces which define the album's groove: stretched-out, enigmatic, with slow minor-key flourishes from tenor sax and keyboard. Even the upbeat pop single `Keep Looking' with driving drumbeat from guest drummer Martin Ditcham underpinned by Denman's insistent bass line doesn't break the spell. The song collection as a whole has a distinctive character and seems to belong together as a family, very much in the way of Fleetwood Mac's classic 1976 album `Rumours'.

This is one sublime, classic album, the perfect complement to a summer afternoon or evening. Of all Sade's releases, it has endured the best; it's timeless. Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great album, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stronger Than Pride (Audio CD)
another great album from Sade with brilliant songs and lyrics to enjoy. Solid album to enjoy by all we believe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cassette to CD, 23 July 2013
By 
Ms. S. Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stronger Than Pride (Audio CD)
I did have this album before on a cassette. It is good to be reunited with it; it's so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sade's Timeless Classic, 1 Jun 2012
By 
This review is from: Stronger Than Pride (Audio CD)
Right from the first note, it transports you to that perfect golden, sunset beach in your mind. When this album is on, somehow everything is ok.

It has a beautiful vibe that is consistent throughout the whole album. Some tracks lean toward groovy, some more delicate yet every track has something unique to offer. It is one of those albums that feels like a collection of songs that very much belong together, almost like a family. Fleetwood Mac's 'Rumours' is another album that has that same sense of completeness.

Ultra mellow and good to your soul, the album manages to be both classy and exotic. It is also very cool in it's own right, in it's own space, regardless of outside fashion or trend of the time. No cheap 80s synth wizardry here. This is music born of feeling and performed by all with natural grace.

Cannot believe this is 24 years old. i bought it on CD when it first came out! In fact it was the first CD i ever bought. 24 years later it is still everything as beautiful and soulful as it ever was. Quite possibly my personal favourite album of the 80's.

Summers wouldn't be the same without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stronger Than Pride
Stronger Than Pride by Sade (Audio CD - 1984)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews