Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A total experience in nostalgia
This CD set brought back wonderful memories of my childhood days in London during the 1950's. I remember so many of these tunes including "Emergency Ward 10", "Children's Favourites" which was a Saturday morning radio habit on the Light Programme, and "Paul Temple"
What makes this set so particularly marvelous is that it contains the...
Published on 5 Jun 2001 by John

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars WELL KNOWN TUNES FRM GOLDEN AGE OF RADIO
PEOPLE USED TO SIT AROUND THEIR RADIO/RADIOGRAMS A FORUNNER OF TV.MANY PEOPLE FRM THAT GENERATION STILL ENJOY RADIO PLAYS.THIS TWO CD SET SETS THE SCENE FOR MANY POPULAR RADIO SHOWS OF THE DAY.A GD COLLECTION
Published 2 months ago by CENTRAL LONDON MAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A total experience in nostalgia, 5 Jun 2001
By 
John (New York, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Great British Experience (Audio CD)
This CD set brought back wonderful memories of my childhood days in London during the 1950's. I remember so many of these tunes including "Emergency Ward 10", "Children's Favourites" which was a Saturday morning radio habit on the Light Programme, and "Paul Temple"
What makes this set so particularly marvelous is that it contains the original recordings of these themes which were mostly unavailable to the public in the 1950's.
My one disappointment is that the BBC version of "Barwick Green" is not included, though this is hardly surprising since I have been trying for years to get a copy of it from the BBC, all to no avail.
Notwithstanding, there is no question that this is an outstanding treat for anyone who ever heard these programs in the 1950's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great British Experience (Audio CD)
An excellent CD set, almost all the tracks are very familiar, and those that aren't are very good too. It also includes the version of Sailing By used at night on Radio 4, right down to the duff bass note after the second middle-eight! Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best CDs I've ever bought!, 23 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great British Experience (Audio CD)
The summary above says it all! This is a totally wonderful collection of those nostalgic 40's & 50's tunes that you hear every so often. In fact, I've been searching for some of the recordings on this Cd for years, and now that I've found them - all on this 2 CD collection - I'm as happy as Larry!
From Puffin' Billy to Coronation Scot, they're all on here. Many of them are instantly recognizable although some of the track tiles may not be familiar. For instance "Las Vegas" is the wonderful theme tune to that Johnny Morris classic "Animal Magic" and "Non Stop" is the old theme tune to early ITN news broadcasts (which I even remember!) I heartily recommend this collection if you like this kind of thing!
All that's missing is my pipe and slippers.
P.S. You don't have to be born in the 40's and 50's to appreciate this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent anthology of 40s & 50s light music favourites., 7 Nov 1999
This review is from: The Great British Experience (Audio CD)
If you grew up in Britain during the 1940s & 50s, the music on this 2CD set will already be part of your being. Many of the pieces included were used by BBC & ITV producers as theme tunes to radio & TV classics (including Dick Barton, Music While You Work, PC49, Emergency - Ward 10, Dr Finlay's Casebook and many others). The fact that EMI have given us digital re-masterings of the original recordings only adds to the nostaglic delight of the set. My own favourite is Haydn Wood's "Horse Guards - Whitehall". Now what was that the theme from? Don't worry, the notes are detailed and accurate - they'll tell you.
If you like this sort of stuff, you might also go for EMI's single CD "British Light Music" in their British Composers series (CDM 5 66537 2). Again, period recordings.
However, if you must have modern digital recordings, go for Hyperion's "British Light Music Classics" (Vols. 1 & 2) by the New London Orchestra & Ronald Corp.
Please feel free to let me have your suggestions of music on similar lines.
Tony Martin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The wireless" comes back to life on 2 CDs., 1 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great British Experience (Audio CD)
Three reviewers have already done a fine job of summing up my feelings about this CD set. It's a stroll (a parade!) down memory lane on a grand scale; taking me back forty years or more to a time when I listened to most of these programmes with considerably more relish than I now watch my favourite television shows. It was a time when the pop charts were a mix of every conceivable musical taste with something for everyone. Light orchestral music was a significant portion of what we listened to. The music on these CDs stands alone by providing wonderful performances in their own right but when you mix in the memories they evoke of those marvellous programmes it all makes for an outstanding nostalgic treat. I grew up in Britain but a friend and neighbour, a retired sound engineer for the Canadian Broadcasting Corp, tells me these same tunes were used as the themes for many Canadian programmes (not surprisingly, Robert Farnon's themes in particular). This is a collection to be savoured. Light a fire, put your feet up and try listening to it on a rainy Sunday afternoon with no distractions - you'll think you're in a time warp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the Sea Songs alone, 17 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great British Experience (Audio CD)
This glorious CD set is worth it if only because its got the unsurpassed Nat Lyll recording of Vaughan Williams' Sea Songs on it. OK, old, originally mono, but wonderful. I'm sure this was the version Anglia TV used for years to open their broadcasts in the 60s, always followed by my neighbour Dick Graham's voice, btw. Why is this piece so little recorded? Who was Nat Lyll? What happened to light music? Anyway, as others have said, a long afternoon of great enjoyment here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A truly magnificent collection of musical nostalgia, 3 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great British Experience (Audio CD)
As a young boy during the 40's and 50's we only had radio as a source of entertainment. I was an avid listener of many radio serials ond other programs prefaced by catchy signature tunes which still turn up from time to time in TV commercials. Apart from listening to these programs on local stations in Australia we could also tune them in on the BBC by short wave. I began collecting this light music on 78's then after on LP records but very little of it was available. To get a 2 CD set with such a comprehensive range of this fine descriptive music is indeed a bonus and I hope to get many hours of enjoyable listening reliving memories of my childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! Classic British Light Music for ALL to enjoy!, 1 Aug 2008
By 
R. A. Caton "Arcaton" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great British Experience (Audio CD)
Other reviews will tell you of the close links (well documented with this double disc) of the light music pieces on this splendid compilation with famous radio and television shows of the (our? certainly my)past. What they don't mention is that a lot of these recordings have simply not been available to the public, but came from music publishers catalogues and CDs (the Bosworth discs are good).
The source material is superb here, the quality fantastic...
These are discs to be sought and savoured.

They truly do not compose or perform music like this any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nostalgic, 9 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great British Experience (Audio CD)
Bought this for my elderly parents - a real trip down memory lane of all the BBC radio programme theme tunes from 50's, 60's and perhaps early 70's. All re-recorded, beautifully orchestrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great British Experience. This is PERFECTION., 21 Feb 2009
By 
J. S. Rodwell (England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great British Experience (Audio CD)
I can add very little more to what other reviewers have already said about this CD, other than to say, if you were a child of the 40's & 50's and were an avid listener of radio this is a MUST for your collection.

Sit back and Wallow in Nostalgia.

John Rodwell.

P.S. After owning this CD for some 2years now, I never tire of listening to it. Brings back many happy memories.

John Rodwell.

P.P.S. Have just purchased 'The British Light Music Classics Series' with the New London Orchestra, conducted by Ronald Corp. Although this CD is Digitally recorded and has a very clean sound, it lacks Pace, Phrasing and Atmosphere when compared to 'The Great British Experience'

Despite being Digitally Remastered, The Great British Experience still retains that certain Sound and Atmosphere that cannot be reproduced. For my money I would recommend this CD in order to get the feel of the true atmosphere of that time.

John Rodwell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great British Experience
The Great British Experience by Charles Williams (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews