Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A total experience in nostalgia
This CD set brought back wonderful memories of my childhood days in London during the 1950's. I remember so many of these tunes including "Emergency Ward 10", "Children's Favourites" which was a Saturday morning radio habit on the Light Programme, and "Paul Temple"
What makes this set so particularly marvelous is that it contains the...
Published on 5 Jun. 2001 by John

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sounds dreadful!!
The product states that the tracks have been remastered, however another compilation of British Light Classics (Under the Classics For Pleasure series) clearly shows that the quality of these recordings are not as good as they should be.

I would certainly make comparison to other recordings before purchasing. It sounds as if no remastering has actually taken...
Published on 8 May 2012 by R. SLYDEL


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A total experience in nostalgia, 5 Jun. 2001
By 
John (New York, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Great British Experience (Audio CD)
This CD set brought back wonderful memories of my childhood days in London during the 1950's. I remember so many of these tunes including "Emergency Ward 10", "Children's Favourites" which was a Saturday morning radio habit on the Light Programme, and "Paul Temple"
What makes this set so particularly marvelous is that it contains the original recordings of these themes which were mostly unavailable to the public in the 1950's.
My one disappointment is that the BBC version of "Barwick Green" is not included, though this is hardly surprising since I have been trying for years to get a copy of it from the BBC, all to no avail.
Notwithstanding, there is no question that this is an outstanding treat for anyone who ever heard these programs in the 1950's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great British Experience (Audio CD)
An excellent CD set, almost all the tracks are very familiar, and those that aren't are very good too. It also includes the version of Sailing By used at night on Radio 4, right down to the duff bass note after the second middle-eight! Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best CDs I've ever bought!, 23 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great British Experience (Audio CD)
The summary above says it all! This is a totally wonderful collection of those nostalgic 40's & 50's tunes that you hear every so often. In fact, I've been searching for some of the recordings on this Cd for years, and now that I've found them - all on this 2 CD collection - I'm as happy as Larry!
From Puffin' Billy to Coronation Scot, they're all on here. Many of them are instantly recognizable although some of the track tiles may not be familiar. For instance "Las Vegas" is the wonderful theme tune to that Johnny Morris classic "Animal Magic" and "Non Stop" is the old theme tune to early ITN news broadcasts (which I even remember!) I heartily recommend this collection if you like this kind of thing!
All that's missing is my pipe and slippers.
P.S. You don't have to be born in the 40's and 50's to appreciate this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent anthology of 40s & 50s light music favourites., 7 Nov. 1999
This review is from: The Great British Experience (Audio CD)
If you grew up in Britain during the 1940s & 50s, the music on this 2CD set will already be part of your being. Many of the pieces included were used by BBC & ITV producers as theme tunes to radio & TV classics (including Dick Barton, Music While You Work, PC49, Emergency - Ward 10, Dr Finlay's Casebook and many others). The fact that EMI have given us digital re-masterings of the original recordings only adds to the nostaglic delight of the set. My own favourite is Haydn Wood's "Horse Guards - Whitehall". Now what was that the theme from? Don't worry, the notes are detailed and accurate - they'll tell you.
If you like this sort of stuff, you might also go for EMI's single CD "British Light Music" in their British Composers series (CDM 5 66537 2). Again, period recordings.
However, if you must have modern digital recordings, go for Hyperion's "British Light Music Classics" (Vols. 1 & 2) by the New London Orchestra & Ronald Corp.
Please feel free to let me have your suggestions of music on similar lines.
Tony Martin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the Sea Songs alone, 17 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great British Experience (Audio CD)
This glorious CD set is worth it if only because its got the unsurpassed Nat Lyll recording of Vaughan Williams' Sea Songs on it. OK, old, originally mono, but wonderful. I'm sure this was the version Anglia TV used for years to open their broadcasts in the 60s, always followed by my neighbour Dick Graham's voice, btw. Why is this piece so little recorded? Who was Nat Lyll? What happened to light music? Anyway, as others have said, a long afternoon of great enjoyment here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The wireless" comes back to life on 2 CDs., 1 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great British Experience (Audio CD)
Three reviewers have already done a fine job of summing up my feelings about this CD set. It's a stroll (a parade!) down memory lane on a grand scale; taking me back forty years or more to a time when I listened to most of these programmes with considerably more relish than I now watch my favourite television shows. It was a time when the pop charts were a mix of every conceivable musical taste with something for everyone. Light orchestral music was a significant portion of what we listened to. The music on these CDs stands alone by providing wonderful performances in their own right but when you mix in the memories they evoke of those marvellous programmes it all makes for an outstanding nostalgic treat. I grew up in Britain but a friend and neighbour, a retired sound engineer for the Canadian Broadcasting Corp, tells me these same tunes were used as the themes for many Canadian programmes (not surprisingly, Robert Farnon's themes in particular). This is a collection to be savoured. Light a fire, put your feet up and try listening to it on a rainy Sunday afternoon with no distractions - you'll think you're in a time warp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A truly magnificent collection of musical nostalgia, 3 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great British Experience (Audio CD)
As a young boy during the 40's and 50's we only had radio as a source of entertainment. I was an avid listener of many radio serials ond other programs prefaced by catchy signature tunes which still turn up from time to time in TV commercials. Apart from listening to these programs on local stations in Australia we could also tune them in on the BBC by short wave. I began collecting this light music on 78's then after on LP records but very little of it was available. To get a 2 CD set with such a comprehensive range of this fine descriptive music is indeed a bonus and I hope to get many hours of enjoyable listening reliving memories of my childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! Classic British Light Music for ALL to enjoy!, 1 Aug. 2008
By 
R. A. Caton "Arcaton" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great British Experience (Audio CD)
Other reviews will tell you of the close links (well documented with this double disc) of the light music pieces on this splendid compilation with famous radio and television shows of the (our? certainly my)past. What they don't mention is that a lot of these recordings have simply not been available to the public, but came from music publishers catalogues and CDs (the Bosworth discs are good).
The source material is superb here, the quality fantastic...
These are discs to be sought and savoured.

They truly do not compose or perform music like this any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb set of tunes:), 28 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great British Experience (Audio CD)
As alluded by a reviewer above its worth it for the rendering of Sea Songs by Nat Lyll that was used as the start up to Anglia TV back in the 50's and 60's. Thought that was a superb bit of music then and it still is now. Always seemed to us kids that it was a very important occasion the start of the TV and children's TV for the day. Magic days they were. Its here on You tube where i got the reference to this CD on Amazon.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9JHmvhbP7SI

If you want to some real anoraking there is a film about the construction of the Mendelsham Anglia TV mast its on the east Anglian film achieve look under "The 1000 Foot TV mast"!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sounds dreadful!!, 8 May 2012
By 
R. SLYDEL "king bongo macongo" (South England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great British Experience (Audio CD)
The product states that the tracks have been remastered, however another compilation of British Light Classics (Under the Classics For Pleasure series) clearly shows that the quality of these recordings are not as good as they should be.

I would certainly make comparison to other recordings before purchasing. It sounds as if no remastering has actually taken place as the music is low in volume and muggy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great British Experience
The Great British Experience by Charles Williams (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews