Customer Reviews


229 Reviews
5 star:
 (182)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luc Besson's 'The Fifth Element' re-remaster on Blu Ray
The Fifth Element [Blu-ray] [1997]

Going to leave a short-ish review, hopefully putting any fans of the movie at ease.

Wow for starters....I'm very impressed and very relieved. Let it be known I've done my fair share of research before purchasing this product. I've heard the rumours of the disappointing 1st Blu Ray release and the remastered the...
Published on 3 Feb 2012 by TopCat 89

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cinéma du Look goes high camp in the 23rd century!
Luc Besson is famed for his "Cinéma du Look" style, epitomised by gorgeous visuals and sometimes criticised as a triumph of style over substance. The Fifth Element is no exception and, if you enjoyed Besson's The Big Blue, you are sure to appreciate the wonderful eye-candy on offer in The Fifth Element. At the time of its production this was by far the most...
Published 11 months ago by Cartimand


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About time too, 30 Dec 2003
To say I love this film would be an understatement, and much has already been written about what it is that makes this fantastic film such a joy to experience.
This edition takes me to three copies of the same film. The original VHS release, the first DVD release and now this... the best of the bunch, with the long awaited (by me anyway) re-mastered DTS soundtrack, which, if you have the gear to experience this as it should be, pushes this film from the edge of fantastic to a sublime experience. Now 'The Diva Dance' - one of my all time favourite film moments - echoes through the room with its full haunting melody, whilst the effects push you back in your seat and push your equipment to the limit.
The included documentaries well surpass anything on previous disks including pretty much the whole of the concert given at the Cannes MTV special luanch party.
All in all... simply wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping action, fantastic all round film. Purely captivati, 15 Dec 2000
By A Customer
I agree with the other comment, if you have given this film only 1 star you have missed something. I wore out 2 fifth element videos before I got my DVD player. The only film comparable is Blade Runner for building a fully immersive environment. Luc has struck another triumph of a film with great cinemetography, excellent sound (especially the Diva with her ghostly etheric voice). With such a dynamic environment in the Fifth Elemnet I imagine the people who gave it one star could not grasp the concept of the environmental styling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bizzare, Bold, Brilliant, 30 Nov 2000
Lets get this straight: to all the people who gave this film one star, WATCH IT AGAIN! You miss so much the first time around. I first saw this film in the cinema, where I was overcome by the initial weirdness and style and didn't think that much of it. But after renting it a few months later, I came to realise what a fantastic film it really is. Luc Besson has created a futuristic world with a breathtaking scope only comparable to that in Blade Runner. He has also created cast of characters (most of the likes of which you will never have seen before) that are both likeable and comically funny: especially Zorg, the main bad guy. The one aspect of the film that is not so strong is the plot, as it is basically your typical good versus evil fare, BUT it is shot in such an astounding way that this fact is thrown out of the window and reeplaced by some of the best (hover)car chases, shoot-out's and action set pieces ever commited to celluloid! Forget the PG certificate, with this film you certainly get your money's worth. So if youre after a sci-fi film thats bold, funny and original, look no further. Film making at it's classiest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - now in full remastered HD, 23 Jun 2009
Well for those wondering if this US import is ok to play on UK Region B players, yes it is (from Caiman USA),this is ABC coded and is the remastered edition (1997). Disc has only the film with an information box track added but sounds and looks excellent to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb print of a classic film, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Fifth Element was made nearly twenty years ago. Bruce Willis had already starred in three "Die Hard" movies before doing this. If you haven't seen this film before, or maybe you have, but it was many years ago, then please consider buying this on Blu-Ray. The picture quality has been been updated to high definition and really looks stunning, with crisp detail and well defined colour tones. The sound has been reworked too, so if you have surround sound, you'll get the full benefit of the improvements.

It's a great story, in the best tradition of Sci-Fi, mixing humour with crazy characters and imaginative backdrops. The director, Luc Besson’s vision of New York in the future, is one of the most believable ever put on the big screen. Watch the extras afterwards, and you'll get an insight into the effort everyone put into this film to make it the best they could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The old good versus evil genre revamped, 24 May 2005
By 
Patrick Byrne "patvegas1" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
From the man who brought us Leon comes a complete u-turn in another direction.
The plot, as many people have said, is a weak point in this film, but I feel it's a break away from the normal sci-fi movies of late with their predictable storylines and unbelievable "bad guys". The Fifth Element re-writes the sci-fi genre with an air of fantasy and unpredictability.
The costumes help this films believability with the help of French fashion designer Jean-Paul Gaultier who's often strange tastes slot perfectly into this film.
The ensemble cast (who you would never expect to appear in the same film together) do the script and vision of Luc Besson justice. The beautiful Milla Jovovich plays the innocent "supreme being" perfectly. Bruce Willis plays the same tough guy rolls he has been for years as the hero ex-military cab driver but still does well as you would expect of him. Gary Oldman, once again, plays a great "bad guy" as Zorg.
I tend to find sometimes that a lot of special effects can spoil a film, but the CGI in the Fifth Element is necessary and pulls the film together without you really knowing it's there. Sit back and enjoy a futuristic sci-fi fantasy than will keep you enthralled throughout with the occasional laugh.
Also, keep your eyes out for cameo rolls for UK comedian/actor Lee Evans and UK musician Tricky
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Willis heads for the Stars, 27 Nov 2004
By 
JA Fairhurst "johnfair" (Edgeley, Stockport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Set three hundred years in the future, the main part of the film opens in the sweeping cityscapes of New York City. Bruce Willis is a down-at-heels cabbie who#s out in the streets when a stranger just drops in to the cab...
What Bruce isn't aware of is that there is an unstoppable great ball of Evil heading towards Earth in order to destroy all life. After a harrowing chase with the cops, (in full three dimensions) Bruce takes his unwanted passenger to the nearest priest. This just happened to be Ian Holm, the leader of an ancient cult who had been awaiting the arrival of the Perfect Being to oppose the Ultimate Evil.
The plot gets ever less important as we continue, but it is never a vitally important part of the film as the visuals are the real focus. In addition, there is a lot of slapstick comedy as the various factions involved (Earth Government, Gary Oldman acting for Ultimate Evil and Ian Holm's cult as well as Bruce Willis) all jockey for position and though the levels of violence are more reminiscent of the Die Hard films, there is an echo of Willis's days in Moonlighting in the interactions of Willis and Holmes and Willis and Leelo, the Perfect Being. Holm turns in an inspired performance as the priest willing to do almost anything for the success of his mission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun!, 6 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie is one of the most campy, irreverent, Indiana Jones-meets-Die Hard in space, and yet action-packed movies that I have EVER seen. This is NOT Alien [DVD] [1979], NEITHER Solaris [2003] [DVD], and certainly NOT 2001: A Space Odyssey [1968] [DVD], but it is great fun, and the best way to spend a dismal & lonely afternoon. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waited a long time for this Bluray release, 3 July 2011
By 
G. Rees (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A tad derivative (see Raiders of the Lost Ark, Die Hard, Bladerunner, et al.) but super exciting and I imagine very expensive sci-fi blockbuster pitching good vs evil in the hunt for simultaneous control of the five "elements". You can't go far wrong with Bruce Willis as the hardened, cynical goodie and Gary Oldman as the ruthless OTT baddie. Milla Jovovich is more than easy on the eye and the story holds the attention despite the fairly long running time. I note some criticism of the bluray transfer but I found the resolution, colour and explosions a treat and the film, whilst not universally loved, would probably get close to making my top 10 list (albeit the list is dominated by sci-fi.) I wouldn't rank it above Leon however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fifth Element..., 9 Feb 2010
This science fiction epic set in the year 2257 was written and directed by Luc Besson it was hugely expensive.

This adrenalin filled action packed romp with costumes designed by Jean Paul Gaultier feels very French, the main characters are played by Bruce Willis and Gary Oldman and ably supported by Milla Jovovich who plays the Supreme Being, the Bruce Willis part is that of a taxi driver who has literary an incident of a lifetime fall through the roof of his taxi, a lot of the action feels tongue in cheek especially the later scenes with Chris Tucker and Lee Evans this film doesn't take itself too seriously but is highly entraining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fifth Element
The Fifth Element by Eric Serra (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews