Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid choice of programme, and sublime performance
Having spent almost 5 years at the Durham College where William McVicker was senior organ Scholar, and having been constantly told about the legend that is William McVicker in the organ-playing world, I am finally glad to hear him play. This CD contains an inspired programme of music, which shows off beautifully both the range and capability of the instrument, and the...
Published on 13 Jan. 2000 by e.d.simpson@durham.ac.uk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Piece Of Music
It is an amazing piece of music and one I don't fully understand, even hearing it a lot as a child. My father R.I.P., had it on cassette and used to listen to it in his Cavalier!
Published 1 month ago by Dan Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid choice of programme, and sublime performance, 13 Jan. 2000
This review is from: Great Organ Classics (Audio CD)
Having spent almost 5 years at the Durham College where William McVicker was senior organ Scholar, and having been constantly told about the legend that is William McVicker in the organ-playing world, I am finally glad to hear him play. This CD contains an inspired programme of music, which shows off beautifully both the range and capability of the instrument, and the fantastic talent of the organist. My particular favourite is Lefebure-Wely's wonderfully tasteless "Sortie in E flat", a marvellously fairground-style piece with some great opportuities for the organist to show off to his audience. A top class performance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very musical, excellent value, the best on the market, 6 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Great Organ Classics (Audio CD)
This is an excellent recording of some old favourites and some new ones too. Far from being too loud and too fast, this is well judged, musical playing and an excellent introduction to the wonderful variety of music written for the organ.
If you want to hear playing that is truly too fast and too loud, then try any from Wayne Marshall! This is playing of the very highest order which deserves a wider audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good choice, if you like classic organ music, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Organ Classics (Audio CD)
Arrived promptly - good range of organ music. Well worth choosing. Would definitely recommend this cd I've played it lots since it arrived
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent selection, excellent performance, 27 Jan. 2011
By 
Richard Beton (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Organ Classics (Audio CD)
I may not be entirely unbiased because I know the performer, but regardless of that, this is an excellent performance of an excellent crop of favourite organ works. It's no surprise that ClassicFM chose these pieces - they always come up popular choices on their station. With Will McVicker at the keyboard, you'd find it hard to go wrong.

And the price is fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A noisy treat, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Organ Classics (Audio CD)
This is a great selection of noisy treats from the organ repetoire. All beautifully played by William McVicar and with lovely clear recorded sound. Tremendous !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Organ Classics, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Organ Classics (Audio CD)
This cd is my favourite of all the organ music in my collection, and was the first of it's genre purchased too, which has spurred me on to purchase even more organ music cd's, which I enjoy thoroughly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars some classic pieces lovely, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Organ Classics (Audio CD)
A lot on here I dont know some I do know but not by name once the piece started playing I knew some of them just love the sound of big organs reminds me of york minster.some lovely tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Piece Of Music, 10 Mar. 2015
By 
This review is from: Great Organ Classics (Audio CD)
It is an amazing piece of music and one I don't fully understand, even hearing it a lot as a child. My father R.I.P., had it on cassette and used to listen to it in his Cavalier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suitable, 1 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Organ Classics (Audio CD)
The CD cover didn't look like it is shown here but that wasn't a problem. It brought delight to the recipient and that was all that mattered. It arrived in time for Christmas which was more than 3 weeks before the due date. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleased.., 11 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Organ Classics (Audio CD)
Bought this to add to my collection as it contains some great organ classics. The down side for me was the sound quality - a bit hissy in places - otherwise great value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Organ Classics
Great Organ Classics by Charles-Marie Widor (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews