Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Undervalued and interesting listening
Popular consensus has it that when placed in chronological order the six Doors studio albums released during Jim Morrisons' lifetime follow a symmetrical pattern in terms of quality; classic, very good, not so good, not so good, very good, classic. The fourth album in that series, The Soft Parade (released in 1969) is often cited as the low point but I have found it...
Published on 10 Aug 2008 by Mr. P. D. Flight

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Soulful Production
Some say this was their bad album, most say it was not their finest hour;however I disagree. Whatever was going through Morrison's head or body during the making of this album, it resulted in a much more jazzy/soul based album in comparasion to their harder edged blues sound prior to this. The album contains a great deal of power brass (Tell all the People, Touch me)...
Published on 2 Nov 2000 by tim.green@guardian.co.uk


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Undervalued and interesting listening, 10 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. P. D. Flight "Phil" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Popular consensus has it that when placed in chronological order the six Doors studio albums released during Jim Morrisons' lifetime follow a symmetrical pattern in terms of quality; classic, very good, not so good, not so good, very good, classic. The fourth album in that series, The Soft Parade (released in 1969) is often cited as the low point but I have found it difficult to see why every time I have played it.

Some fans of the band have lamented the fact that guitarist Robby Krieger wrote half of the songs on the album but personally I regard him as an undervalued composer, after all it was Krieger who came up with the Doors' much-covered breakthrough classic 'Light My Fire'. Krieger wrote four of the songs here, including the opener 'Tell All the People', a song notable for its' great uplifting melody which makes it a great track to drift along to. Jim Morrison apparently didn't want anyone to think he had written this song as he opposed the line, "get your guns", hence each song on this album being credited to its' author. Krieger also wrote the most famous song on the album- 'Touch Me', as well as 'Runnin' Blue', a departure for the band and notable for its' opening line, "Poor Otis dead and gone...". This is of course a tribute to soul singer Otis Redding who died tragically in a December 1967 plane crash. The latter is a bit of a throwaway number but it is undeniably catchy and entertaining to listen to with its' sudden shift in melody from standard Doors song to a country pastiche. His other credit comes on 'Wishful Sinful', another great track with its' smooth verses and catchy chorus.

As for Jim Morrisons' compositions these are akin to the more familiar Doors sound. 'Shamans' Blues' is about lost love ("There will never be another one like you..."), the fast-paced 'Easy Ride' is decent stuff and 'Wild Child', is arguably more blues-oriented than the other tracks on the album. Morrison and Krieger take co-credit on 'Do It', a solid enough number with a sufficient tune to keep the listener interested for three minutes. Finally, rounding the album off is the title suite which I actually enjoy more than epics from the bands' other records ('The End' and 'When the Music's Over' are the other examples of this). It begins with a Morrison speech in which he prophetically shouts, "You cannot petition the Lord with Prayer." This is reminiscent of the track 'Horse Latitudes' from the bands' sophomore release 'Strange Days' (1967). Whilst the latter is pure poetry and no singing however, 'The Soft Parade' soon evolves into a vintage Morrison song (in fact it is essentially two different songs put together). At more than eight minutes long it is compelling stuff and a highlight from the bands' repertoire.

A good reason to buy this 2007 remastered version of 'The Soft Parade' is the chance to own three unheralded bonus tracks which alone are virtually worth the albums' asking price. 'Who Scared You' is a very well written track- better in fact than most of the other songs on the disc. 'Whiskey Mystics and Men' sounds like it was written very quickly but it remains a great song notable for its' sing along element- "da-da-da". As for 'Push Push Push', it is six minutes of mostly flamenco instrumentation but it flows along nicely. The linear notes by Rolling Stone magazines' David Fricke are interesting as they document the circumstances surrounding the album, for instance Jim Morrison was putting on weight and running out of songs that had carried the band through their first three albums.

Although these brass and string-driven songs are not the bands' finest hour, the use of a little imagination helps make this album in to an enjoyable listening experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So under-rated, 5 July 2007
Just like "Waiting For The Sun", the album from The Doors that was released a year before this, this album was and is quite unfairly and unusally under-rated, and I can't understand why. The brass section adds a lovely and soothing feel to the songs. Although this isn't considered to be the greatest of The Doors' work, this is the album from The Doors with the most singles. Four in total! From "Tell All The People" right up to the title track that finishes off the album, this is a great CD. Honestly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shaman's Blues, 7 Feb 2007
By 
P. Whitehead (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Doors back catalogue has been due a makeover for years, and wow, haven't they spent some effort on it. The sound quality on these discs has never been bettered in my opinion. If you're thinking of upgrading your entire Doors collection, consider the Perception Box Set, if not read on...

This album majors on songs by guitarist Robby Kreiger, rather than the Morrison compositions that made up much of the earlier albums. Kreiger is a good song-writer, who contributed to all the Doors albums thus far (e.g. Light My Fire, Love Me Two Times) but lyrically he's no Morrison. And some of his songs take the band too far from the `Doors' sound - Running Blue, in particular, takes a hillbilly direction. The Doors play bluegrass? Some songs on the album are good (Shaman's Blues and Touch Me), excellent even (Wild Child ), others are not (Running Blue, Do It). Moreover, whereas the Doors' previous long epics (The End and When the Music's Over) are excellent, the title track here is a little more disjointed.

The band also introduced a horn section on some tracks. Why? Bravado? To change the sound? Because Love had done it successfully on Forever Changes? You decide. It certainly makes for a different sounding album which, if you own all the Doors albums, may be nice to play for a change.

The bonus cuts on this CD are nice though - the B-side Who Scared You, which is a pretty strong track, plus a few extra takes of Touch Me. Then we come to an odd one indeed, a song entitled Push Push, which is a little 3-chord Latin-garage thing in the La Bamba, Louie Louie or Wooly Bully vein. The band all sound pretty drunk, and we can only guess when and where it was recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an underrated classic, 17 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Soft Parade (Audio CD)
highly under-rated studio album from one of the most original, stylish and talented bands I've come across. Critics said it was over-produced, over-killed and lacked the passion of earlier albums. Give this a chance, repeated listening reveals some real gems - more mature classics like Shamans Blues and Runnin' Blue especially. The title track is a under-rated masterpice, combining funk, rock ,and soulful vocals that they are loved for. A definite for any Doors fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Less commercial=good!, 19 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Soft Parade (Audio CD)
If you're fed up with hearing the Doors more popular hits, this is a ideal album to get. Not immediately impacting but grows with every listen. Good but not as good as the screwed up "An American Prayer" though.
M
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Like all Doors Albums!!, 14 Nov 2011
By 
Philip Roberts (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As the title says, this LP is excellent, like all 8 of the Doors studio LPs (I'm including Other Voices & Full Circle recorded after Jim Morrison's death and often unfairly denigraded). I guess you're either into the Doors, or you're not. There's no inbetween. Despite being mainly a rockabilly and 50s rock fan, the first time I heard the Doors in the mid 1970s was a musical and spiritual revelation to me. No, it didn't change my tastes -- I still love Elvis, Chuck Berry and many other great 50s rock artists. But it certainly blew my mind and broadened my musical horizons. If you love any Doors LP, you will love this one.

It has the original nine tracks:
Tell All the People
Touch Me
Shaman's Blues
Do It
Easy Ride
Wild Child
Running Blue
Wishful Sinful
Soft Parade

Plus six bonus tracks:
Who Scared You
Whisky Mystics & Wimen (Ver 1)
Whisky Mystics & Wimen (Ver 2)
Push Push (6.05) (The best bonus track in my opinion)
Touch Me (Dialogue)
Touch Me (Take 3)

All have been digitally remastered and sound suberb!

If you ever liked any Doors LP, you will love this one. Buy it! Buy it! Buy it!

Other Voices/Full Circle
The Soft Parade [40th Anniversary Mixes]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Soulful Production, 2 Nov 2000
This review is from: The Soft Parade (Audio CD)
Some say this was their bad album, most say it was not their finest hour;however I disagree. Whatever was going through Morrison's head or body during the making of this album, it resulted in a much more jazzy/soul based album in comparasion to their harder edged blues sound prior to this. The album contains a great deal of power brass (Tell all the People, Touch me) which surprisingly works very well with Jim's voice & the rest of the band, who were well known jazz fans.It has it's harder stuff as well such as Wild Child which contains my fav Kreiger riff. All in all it doesn't have the rawness of the first albums or ,thank god, the druggy prententions of later on. It is still very passionate stuff and contains Doors tunes that you could find yourself,shock horror, whistling. I sure he would turn in his grave at that. If you are new to the Doors, buy the debut & LA Woman first; but for the fan it is essential to hear this to witness the musical change in direction. I play this much more than say, Morrison Hotel or Strange Days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A blast from the past, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good value.Great to hear this much underated album again.
Good additional tracks on the whole. Product arrived exactly as sheduled
The track the Soft Parade itself is in my opinion the best thing they did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start here to reveal a great lost album, 6 Aug 2013
By 
John Stapleton (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heavily criticized in its original 1969 form as rather "soft" album by Doors standards, the high quality of the tunes, lyrics, riffs and instrumentals can now be fully appreciated with the passage of time and by including 3 dropped numbers. It is extremely puzzling why so much great material was dropped and why the remaining short album was put out in such a poor order muscically. With these 3 additions, the album comes up to the full 45 mins that it should have been. For the best musical appreciation of this work the tracks need to copied and listened to in the following order:

Side 1:
1 Wild Child (Was there ever a more obvious opening track? Great riff. "Remember when we were in Africa?")
2 Who Scared You (Brilliant riff and edge. Madness to have dropped it originally)
3 Runnin' Blue (Brilliant merging of styles and a tribute to poor Otis)
4 Whisky, Mystics and Men (Version 1. Hypnotic sea-shanty chant. Crazy to have dropped it originally. Works here)
5 Tell all the People (Good song, but lacks distinctive Doors edge)
6 Touch Me (Great tune and luric, brilliant closing brass instrumental)
7 Easy Ride (Good fun, but on the lighter side)

Side 2:
8 Shaman's Blues (This riff winds into your brain)
9 Wishful Sinful (Top-quality tune and lyrics)
10 Do it (Light-weight raunchy fun)
11 The Soft Parade (Episodic, great in parts)
12 Albinoni's Adagio in G Minor (Works perfectly as a cool-down to close. Strings suited to this album and not the previous one from which it was also dropped. Rock is dead!). Can be obtained from Essential Raraties or elswhere.

The track "Push-push" is also included as an extra track here but is of little substance, being just a repetitive jam around the old "La Bamba" standard. No lyric to speak of. It is best left off of this newly revealed album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent item at good price, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soft Parade [VINYL] (Vinyl)
excellent item at good price,the best buy you can do it of this classic vinyl.Do not miss the opportunity to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Soft Parade
The Soft Parade by The Doors (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews