Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short but great.
First album recorded after guitarist Steve Clark's premature demise.For that the band can be forgiven for what is a perhaps a slightly short album. However all the tracks are really good, the best being 'Heaven Is', 'Let's get Rocked', 'Tear It Down' and 'Make Love Like A Man'.If u r buying a Def leppard album for the first time then get HYSTERIA, otherwise this is...
Published on 1 Feb. 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Calm Down
After the heady days of the seminal Hysteria, it was always gong to be difficult to produce anything quite as explosive for their follow up. Instead they opted for the 'if-it-aint-broke-don't-fix-it' route by way of the 'song-writing-by-the-numbers'. What came out was a collection of very ordinary, middle of the road rock songs that modelled themselves on Hysteria without...
Published on 4 Feb. 2011 by ratmonkey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short but great., 1 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Adrenalize (Audio CD)
First album recorded after guitarist Steve Clark's premature demise.For that the band can be forgiven for what is a perhaps a slightly short album. However all the tracks are really good, the best being 'Heaven Is', 'Let's get Rocked', 'Tear It Down' and 'Make Love Like A Man'.If u r buying a Def leppard album for the first time then get HYSTERIA, otherwise this is another great album from DEF LEPPARD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably their best album, 4 Mar. 2009
By 
This review is from: Adrenalize (Audio CD)
For me, this was when I discovered Def Leppard. It still sounds like Hysteria, but due to Phil Collen now handling all the guitar parts (Steve Clark passed away before the demos were finalized) it does have a slightly different feel. Those middle-eights are gone. The album featured the huge hit but critically panned "Let's Get Rocked" a song inspired by Bart Simpson when they were bored. The lyrics on this album are considerably better - Hysteria was full of filler lyrics that had no real meaning, but this album the songs tend to parody the band. Make Love Like A Man is a tonuge and cheek track. Of course the album have its' serious moments, White Lightning is about Steve Clark and their are sentimental ballads "Have You Ever Needed Someone So Bad", the dark "Tonight" and up-tempo feel good ballad, "Stand Up Kick Love Into Motion". The album feature 9 newly recorded songs and a former b-side from Hysteria "Tear It Down".

Its a good fun album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More hardships overcome & The Leps produce the goods, 27 Mar. 2002
By 
M. D. Rathbone (Runcorn, Cheshire - UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adrenalize (Audio CD)
Contains a few more average tracks but it was always going to be difficult to follow "Hysteria"! The single output from the album is a good yardstick of it's quality (i.e. "Heaven is", "Tonight", "Ever Needed Someone...") although "Let's Get Rocked" and "Make Love Like a Man" already sound a bit dated and were perhaps the Leps first example of 'disposable rock'.
"White Lightning" is the stand-out track for me, at 7:37 it is another 'anthem' in many ways bigger than its "Gods of War" 'cousin' on "Hysteria".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Album - Yet Again, 26 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Adrenalize (Audio CD)
Following up the great album Hysteria would certainly be no easy task. But Leppard came up with this album. The loss of Steve Clark on guitars was a major set back for the boys but still they produce this good solid rock album. I doesn't have that spark that the album Hysteria had. But then again lets face it can any album any where be as good as Hysteria. But still well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An addictive classic!, 2 July 2007
By 
Phil (Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Adrenalize (Audio CD)
The album that made me a LEPPARD fanatic!

A great follow up to Hysteria, slick production and some classic Leppard 'air punching' tunes!

This album has a bit of just about everything, some good old rockers (Lets get rocked/I wanna touch u), some ballads (Have you ever needed someone so bad/Stand up) and a true epic in the form of 'White Lightning'

This album topped the charts on both sides of the Atlantic upon its release back in '92, and after just one listen you will see why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bigger is better!, 3 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Adrenalize (Audio CD)
The Leps, after their traditional five-year gap between recordings, return with the follow-up to the vast-selling Hysteria. The previous two albums both sold in excess of ten million, and topping two of the greatest pop metal albums of all time was neither an easy nor an enviable task. Facing tragedy, too, with the loss of guitarist Steve Clark, and coming up against a growing tide of grunge, the odds were stacked against them. The Leps responded with this, a triumphant album that rocks harder than Hysteria and has, if anything, more consistent quality. It may not have "Sugar," "Armageddon" or any of the other huge hits that made Hysteria what it was, but it showed that the Leps were alive and kicking in the 90s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Calm Down, 4 Feb. 2011
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adrenalize (Audio CD)
After the heady days of the seminal Hysteria, it was always gong to be difficult to produce anything quite as explosive for their follow up. Instead they opted for the 'if-it-aint-broke-don't-fix-it' route by way of the 'song-writing-by-the-numbers'. What came out was a collection of very ordinary, middle of the road rock songs that modelled themselves on Hysteria without coming close to the quality and feel. However, as a stand-alone album, it is not bad and has a couple of rousing numbers for the fan to enjoy.

The opener, 'Let's get rocked' is, I'm sorry to all who really like this side of the band, awful. It's an unfunny, cringe-making song that really is so uncool. 'Heaven Is' is much better. Leppard proper. Great chorus. 'Make Love Like A Man' is better than the opener but not by much. The singles really are the least interesting content. 'Tonight' is another great little slow-burner. And 'White Lightning' is a star away from classic. It's an epic, almost progressive track that really is the high point of the album.

The second half is not as interesting. It consists of 5 tracks that are, for all intents and purposes, pretty similar standard rock tunes. None of them are bad and they are relatively catchy but they are somewhat throwaway.

A middling effort after a behemoth. Interestingly, what followed (their collection of b-sides and unreleased material) was another true great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Album, 6 Mar. 2007
By 
I. M. Street - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adrenalize (Audio CD)
This was my first def leppard album that i got...after pleading with my dad to buy it for me back in 1992. It was the appearence of Lets Get Rocked on MTV that bought def leppard to my attention and i immediatly loved the album and after a few plays later i loved the band. With Phil Collen doing most of the Lead Guitar after the tragic death of Steve Clark this left the band a member short but still were able to prduce a great album. Favourite Songs are Lets Get Rocked and the rocking tune I Wanna Touch U
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 30 Jan. 2006
By 
Mr. S. P. Kippax (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adrenalize (Audio CD)
What can you say about this album, put it this way there's nothing bad you can say. After the death of Steve Clark, Leppard outdid themselves by coming up with their best album to date in my opinion. 10 songs of pure genius. "Have you ever" is my faveourite on the album but "White Lightning" is just amazing if listened to properly. Def Leppard fans should already have this album but if there are any out there that dont, hurry up rock fans! Again, keep rockin' Leppard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 7 Day Weekend!, 19 July 2013
This review is from: Adrenalize (Audio CD)
Let's face facts, The Leps were never going to top Hysteria. I was 16 when I first saw the promo video for Let's Get Rocked on the Saturday morning ITV Chart Show (who remembers that?), and I suddenly remembered who my favourite band was!
I rushed out and bought Adrenalize on the day of release and I listened to it almost non-stop for the next two years.
Looking at it now, over 20 years later I still love it, but can see it's short comings.
Some fantastic pop songs with cool rocking solos (Let's Get Rocked, Make Love Like A Man, Heaven Is), a really cool slow burning epic that only Leppard can do (White Lightening), but there is only one truly great 'hard rock' track (Tear It Down). The remaining 5 tracks on this disc are (by Def Leppards high standards) largly forgettable.
'Tonight' has it's charms, but sounds like it wants to rock out harder, and 'Have You Ever Needed Someone So Bad' is an attempt to carry the 'Love Bites' torch, but never quite burns as bright.
All in all, a fine album (especially considering the loss of Sir Steve Clark), and the great songs more than make up for the also rans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adrenalize
Adrenalize by Def Leppard (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews