Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars contractual obligation or great live album
Magnum are a great live band - this may be a great live album. Tony Clarkin is a great player with some great tunes under his pen. But this sounds wooly and muddy - Magnum need big production - Bob Catley's voice needs space - this has come straight off the mixing desk with not much added or taken away.That said this is probably a very fair record of what went on on the...
Published on 31 Jan 2007 by Baldman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars When Magnum went big (but not loud enough for this recording)
It's just possible my very bad singing voice is somewhere on this album as I saw Magnum on this tour (more than once if memory serves me correctly)but you would have to turn up the volume very loud to pick it out which is a very good thing.... Unfortunately you just might have to turn up the volume as this album is on the quiet side on the recording front.
The set...
Published on 30 Aug 2011 by Dan224


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars contractual obligation or great live album, 31 Jan 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spirit (Audio CD)
Magnum are a great live band - this may be a great live album. Tony Clarkin is a great player with some great tunes under his pen. But this sounds wooly and muddy - Magnum need big production - Bob Catley's voice needs space - this has come straight off the mixing desk with not much added or taken away.That said this is probably a very fair record of what went on on the night - a cherry pick of their Polydor output of the late 80's/early 90's, plus the eternal Kingdom of Madness.This album is 16 years old and has aged very well against some of it's contemporaries. This disc is screaming for a shine and polish and to have the missing tracks eg Just Like An Arrow restored to their rightful place along side the epic How Far Jerusalem.Then it would truly be a great live rock album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spirit CD, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spirit (Audio CD)
Bought for a die hard Magnum fan. Loves playing this super loud. He would highly recommend this for rock/metal fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Spirit, 11 Dec 2011
By 
D. P. Hall "Dazzler" (A Computer in the UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Spirit (Audio CD)
I have always been a big fan of Magnum. I was so looking forward to listening to this live Album. Imagine then, if you will, my consternation when I put it on my CD player. Hoping to hear Bob Catley's crisp vocals all that hit me straight away was the band especially Tony Clarkin's guitar. The vocals were so far down in the mix I had to really strain th ears to hear. The guy on the sound desk, really had an off night I think. As one reviewer has already mentioned it sounds wooly & muddy and he is spot on in his thoughts. In my opinion this is one live album to leave well alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars When Magnum went big (but not loud enough for this recording), 30 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: The Spirit (Audio CD)
It's just possible my very bad singing voice is somewhere on this album as I saw Magnum on this tour (more than once if memory serves me correctly)but you would have to turn up the volume very loud to pick it out which is a very good thing.... Unfortunately you just might have to turn up the volume as this album is on the quiet side on the recording front.
The set list (with perhaps a different running order to the one I remember) encompasses a good selection of Magnum's output to that point with the bulk of the material coming from On A Storyteller's Night, Vigilante and Goodnight LA (the album that sort of caused if not ructions at least ripples within the band's fanbase).
So that all important question should you buy it?
Normally I would advise a newcomer to a band to look at a live recording or a compilation to gain an overview but in this case? No, pick up a copy of OASN or Wings of Heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Sacred Hour!!!, 12 May 2011
By 
Stotty (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Spirit (Audio CD)
I've never been a massive fan of live albums as they tend to be either a cheap stop gap or just another way for bands to exploit their fans loyalty.
However, I always find Magnum's live albums to be good value and highly entertaining. The live versions of Magnum songs always sound harder and meatier than their studio counterparts and with a track list such as this, 'The Spirit' also works as something as a best of.
Other bands could only ever dream of having the number of crowd pleasers that Magnum seem to cram into a live set.
With such big, live staples such as 'Kingdom of Madness', 'The Spirit', 'Sacred Hour', 'How Far Jerusalem', 'On a Storytellers Night', 'Les Morts Dansant', 'Vigilante' and 'Rocking Chair' you just can't go wrong really.
Great entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnum - The Spirit, 29 April 2010
By 
N. Smith (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Spirit (Audio CD)
Quite simply; "The Spirit" by Magnum is one of the finest Live albums every recorded.
Whether one is a fan of the band or not, the whole atmosphere of the concerts and songs can be felt throughout.
It should be in the library of every Rock music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Rock in the best sense., 16 July 2007
This review is from: Spirit (Audio CD)
I Have owned this album for some time on tape and have really enjoyed the many differant track,s.If you enjoy classic rock this is a good one to buy for it,s mix of studio and live track,s.
I am now going to move into 21,st. century and buy it on CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spirit caught my spirit!, 13 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Spirit (Audio CD)
If you are going to by a collection cd with Magnum by this! It gives you a very good feeling of what Magnum is all about.
I think that it includes many of their best songs, such as Les Morts Dansants, How far Jerusalem, Sacred Hour and many more.
Their music has the ability to be listened to over and over again and you never get tired of it!
So I strongly reccomend you to put The Spirit in your cd-collection!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great music but it's a LIVE album, 26 Nov 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spirit (Audio CD)
This album features excellent tracks from Magnum, BUT, it is a LIVE album. Nowhere on the album cover (front or back), on the CD or even in the track listing does it mention the album was recorded live.
The songs are all brilliant, but as with all live album recordings the quality isn't great. If you don't like hearing yelling, screaming, whistling, a bit of crackling and clapping over the top of your favourite Magnum tracks, opt for another greatest hits album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spirit -Magnum, 15 April 2006
By 
Mrs. C. Harrop "Rock Metal Queen" (Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Spirit (Audio CD)
As far as i am concerned this album is the best on this earth. I am a massive Magnum fan, and have all of there other albums. This one though is my absoulute favourite. If your looking for a top notch quality live rock album, this is the best in this UNIVERSE by far. Absoulutly georgeous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Spirit
The Spirit by Magnum (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews