Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really great album!
Beggar on a beach of Gold is, in my opinion, Mike and the Mechanics' greatest achievement. It's thought provoking, powerful and moving and the last four songs especially are really beautiful. If you're a M+TM fan or even if you're just curious about M+TM and want to hear some of their music this CD is well worth owning.
Published on 3 Jan 2010 by Greg Boyd

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mike and the boys!
I need to play the CD for a longer period to be able to give an accurate rating. I have only recently discovered Mike and the Mechanics.
Published 2 months ago by Mrs. M. Curtis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really great album!, 3 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beggar On A Beach Of Gold (Audio CD)
Beggar on a beach of Gold is, in my opinion, Mike and the Mechanics' greatest achievement. It's thought provoking, powerful and moving and the last four songs especially are really beautiful. If you're a M+TM fan or even if you're just curious about M+TM and want to hear some of their music this CD is well worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!...., 3 May 2006
By 
Michael Bermingham "mjbermingham" (Birr,County Offaly,Ireland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beggar On A Beach Of Gold (Audio CD)
This is an excellent album in every sense.Beautiful instrumentation combined with the vocal talents of Paul Carrack and the late Paul Young make this a real knockout.Mike Rutherford more than does his share with his songwriting ability and guitar playing.

Favourite tracks for me are the well known 'Over My Shoulder' and the beautiful 'Someone Always Hates Someone'.That said there isn't a weak track on the album, special mention though of the rocking 'Web Of Lies'.Altogether a superb album...if you like Mike&Mechanics at all..buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mike & The Mechanics at Their Best!, 7 July 2009
By 
N. French (East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had this on cassette single back in the mid nineties. I played it so much that it wore out! To my amazement, I found the CD single on Amazon recently, which I subsequently purchased. There are three tracks on this single, all of which are as strong as each other and all could have been singles in their own right. I wouldn't say I was necessarily a fan of M&TM, it is just that these songs are timeless and sound as fresh now, as they did back in 1995. This is Mike & The Mechanics at their creative peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a listen - and possibly their best, 10 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beggar On A Beach Of Gold (Audio CD)
And I disagree with the "cover" review - about cover versions. I prefer their "I believe" to Mr G's so there!
Recommended. You will play this more than once - which I for one cant say from the majority of my record collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 21 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beggar On A Beach Of Gold (Audio CD)
If you like Mike and the Mechanics / Paul Carrack you will not be disappointed. Fabulous music for all occasions. Played regularly and thoroughly enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
because when I originally bought it, it was my favourite cd to play in my car but somehow mislaid it, this purchase was to replace the original and transfer to my laptop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars one of the best, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beggar On A Beach Of Gold (Audio CD)
love paul carrack and the late paul young(no not that paul young)great music cd to sing along to .some really fantastic tracks to listen to on this cd.well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Album, 29 May 2014
By 
DEBORAH (SUTTON COLDFIELD, WEST MIDLANDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beggar On A Beach Of Gold (Audio CD)
Fab album , and a fab voice ...could listen to it for hours and i probably will lol
love him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mike and the boys!, 30 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beggar On A Beach Of Gold (Audio CD)
I need to play the CD for a longer period to be able to give an accurate rating. I have only recently discovered Mike and the Mechanics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good buy, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beggar On A Beach Of Gold (Audio CD)
Great album good condition though doesn't feel like the original item, but very happy for the price and would recommend this item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beggar On A Beach Of Gold
Beggar On A Beach Of Gold by Mike & The Mechanics (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews