Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate album.
Garveys Ghost, the dub version of Marcus Garvey is simply the best hour of sound you could ever buy. If you like your reggae heavy, slow and roots then you can not buy anything better. The simple, perfectly performed bass lines will send you into a trance whilst the occasional vocal by the the master, Winston Rodney, will spin your head and leave floating on the rhythm...
Published on 27 Nov 2000

versus
7 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars reggae on the slide
it was around this time, the mid 70's, that reggae moved away from being the accesible, joyful music that could appeal to everyone, into the darker, more politicised platform for artists like burning spear. for lillywhite listeners like me, i couldnt relate at all to the black stuggle lyrics being sung with excessively heavy jamaican accents. i still dug the music, but...
Published on 6 Aug 2008 by the lone voice of reason


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate album., 27 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Marcus Garvey / Garvey's Ghost (Audio CD)
Garveys Ghost, the dub version of Marcus Garvey is simply the best hour of sound you could ever buy. If you like your reggae heavy, slow and roots then you can not buy anything better. The simple, perfectly performed bass lines will send you into a trance whilst the occasional vocal by the the master, Winston Rodney, will spin your head and leave floating on the rhythm. The last album I would ever get rid of from my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Classic, 21 July 2007
This review is from: Marcus Garvey / Garvey's Ghost (Audio CD)
In my humble opinion, this is a better album than any by Bob Marley. Although Marley had some excellent tunes, I never thought he stretched it over a whole album.
Marcus Garvey/Garvey's Ghost is superb throughout. There is no filler on here.
Rodney's voice is plaintive, rousing, many other things that I can't put into words. If you don't feel anything listening to 'Slavery Days' then you're either deaf, or dead.
This is essential roots, especially at the price.
It's interesting to note that the dub version, Garvey's Ghost, was significantly 'lightened' as it was thought, by the record company gimps, not to appeal to European or American listeners.
I'd love to hear the album as it was originally intended.
If you're only going to have a handful of reggae albums in your collection, make sure this is one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great two part album of roots reggae, 24 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Marcus Garvey / Garvey's Ghost (Audio CD)
On buying this album i was truly amazed by Winston Rodneys voice his heart felt vocals on songs such as Give me what is mine and the widely known (through advertisment) Days of Slavery really get in side of you the dub version is superb i can't wait to hear another Burning Spear album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnus Opus seventies album and dub mate, 4 Aug 2012
This review is from: Marcus Garvey / Garvey's Ghost (Audio CD)
When it worked the great thing about seventies reggae was an album or even track followed by the dub version. This is a killer. 1975-the release of "Marcus Garvey". Followed a year later by "Garvey's Ghost". I didn't come across them until 1980. On vinyl in our house both albums were cranked up and thrashed. Winston Rodney at his imperious best, although I admit the dub version had more air time. So, have they stood the test of time? More than I would judge. The tracks on "Marcus Garvey" have a freshness, they engage. Like a lot of Jamaican reggae of this period they have a social/political focus. Slavery, emancipation and standing tall against colonisation. A celebration of the liberationist Marcus Garvey in a mix of Rastafarian and reclaiming music and roots. "Garvey's Ghost" is one of the classic dub albums. The sound is pulverising, sonic, bass deep and layered. "Black Wa-Da Da-Da" stands out with the opening vocals spinning out into an interplay of instruments in free fall shifting in and out of dub. A collage of sound bitten into by snatches of vocals. But kicking off with "The Ghost" the guitar, piano and organ chutter along in increasing layers of echo. A master class. and produced without a computer in sight with whatever studio equipment could be tinkered with to get some truly unique sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catch them Garvey, 27 April 2008
By 
Mr. M. J. Cole "Coleser" (Gloucester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marcus Garvey / Garvey's Ghost (Audio CD)
What a blissful recording, so pastoral and evocative. The first 20 seconds of Jordan River is just the most sublime reggae arrangement imaginable and I never tire of hearing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money well spent!!!!, 11 July 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marcus Garvey / Garvey's Ghost (Audio CD)
At this price this album is a steal. Buy it now!
Why?...
I like ska/roots/dub and have a little knowledge of those genres. I have always heard the name 'Burning Spear' and seen his albums on the shelf however until I read the reviews here I had always been wary of getting this title as I thought the low low price must be a concession for a poor quality recording or a lot of filler tracks. I'm glad to say I couldn't have been more wrong.
For those who like Bob Marley and more mainstream reggae the first album will definitely satisfy. Each track is a classic with brilliant musicians bringing the best from some fantastic tunes (fantastic horns). Rodney's amazing wistful voice is warm and melancholy and he sings these songs with heart. Incidentally it was Marley who apparently first discovered Rodney and directed him to Coxsone Dodd at Studio One.
The dub album also drips with quality, this time Jack Ruby dropping in and out the instruments with great effect and a minimum of unnecessary sound effects. As another reviewer says it's more of an instrumental version than esoteric dub but again that should only widen the appeal of this album.
It's a classic, what more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best reggae albums i ever heard, 11 Feb 2012
By 
Sj Weller (Buckinghamshire, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marcus Garvey / Garvey's Ghost (Audio CD)
I have been a massive reggae fan since my teens (52 now) and although ive always loved burning spear
i have only just had the pleasure of hearing this album.
The only problem with most reggae artists is the shear volume of material they put out
and you dont always get time to listen to everything.
But let me assure anyone thinking of buying this album you must do it!!
The dubwise versions are just out of this world and i recently emmbarrased myself on the train to work listening
through headphones and skanking in my seat!! (took me back to my youth!!)
Please buy and listen to it LOUD...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Spear, 19 Nov 2011
By 
P. B. Brown (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I heard this on vinyl over 30 years ago. At the time I was and still am completely moved to hear a man singing this impassioned way. This is a real thought provoking album. Excellent lyrics BACKED WITH EXCELLENT RHYTHMS.

Long Live Burning Spear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reggae gets no better, 14 Aug 2011
This review is from: Marcus Garvey / Garvey's Ghost (Audio CD)
This is simply the best reggae album (and dub album) ever released, sometimes matched but never bettered. Buy it if you have even the slightest interest in this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 9 April 2011
By 
a23 (Greenock) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marcus Garvey / Garvey's Ghost (Audio CD)
I don't really know much about reggae, but i do like good Jamaican sounds from the mid-late 70s and have been filling in some of the blanks in my knowledge. I knew the name of Burning Spear for years, but don't really think I'd listened to any. So i bought this on the recommendations of various reviews here, expecting something quite worthy but maybe a bit dull. All I can say is that putting the record on was like having gone into a restaurant that looked like every other food joint on the street but getting served the most sumptious and wholesome meal I've ever had. The right mix of heavy rhythms, top notch vocals and powerful lyrics.
Just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marcus Garvey / Garvey's Ghost
Marcus Garvey / Garvey's Ghost by Burning Spear (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews