Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Planets shine, 15 July 2009
This review is from: Holst: The Planets Suite / St Pauls' Suite (Audio CD)
This is but one of many incarnations of the same performance of Holst's Planets by one of the greatest interpreters of English music ever, Vernon Handley. The playing is sharp, the recording is demonstration class, and the music recommends itself. Nothing is taken for granted. There must be two dozen recordings of Holst's masterpiece by some very starry and revered names, but no one does it better than this, and I've heard virtually all of them.
Originally recorded for the RPO's own label by Tring International over a decade ago. the same performance now turns up in at least a half dozen other releases. This is one of the originals. Too bad they did not do more English music and more Handley recordings. Britten among others was under-represented.
Don't let the price fool you. This performance is as good as it gets. The bonus of Holst's St. Paul Suite is really luscious icing on a very rich but exquisite cake.
A fine memorial to an outstanding and dedicated musician recently departed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Version Of Holst's The Planets., 20 April 2011
This review is from: Holst: The Planets Suite / St Pauls' Suite (Audio CD)
It doesn't get much better than this: a wonderful performance of both the Planets and St. Paul's Suite by a superb orchestra at the top of their form, under the sensitive direction of Vernon Handley.
Add in the bonus of a bargain price and you have a disc to cherish, that stands out from many other interpretations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holst: The Planets Suite wonderful, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holst: The Planets Suite / St Pauls' Suite (Audio CD)
This is for most people the first experience of modern classics and it should be in everyones collection this is a superb version and well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Distinguished Holst from Handley and RPO, 22 Mar. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holst: The Planets Suite / St Pauls' Suite (Audio CD)
Ideally I would have liked one of the versions by Sir Adrian Boult as I have the vinyl LP of him with the New Philharmonia and wondered how much better sound quality a CD might have (given that his performances are widely acknowledged to be quite definitive). Anyway I was impressed by some of the reviewer comments on Amazon, and had some performances by Handley already, so I splashed out a meagre sum for the experiment...

A curious pairing, this, but it enabled me to get a really good St. Paul's Suite as well.

I am impressed by Handley's reading. Not only sensible tempi, but some nice touches of colour here and there. The D-D-D recording from St. Augustine's church Kilburn avoids excessive reverberation and mush in the mid to upper register, which is quite a challenge, but the bass end does get rather muddled in the profusely-scored "Uranus".

Orchestral balance is good, sound quality very acceptable, dynamic range not quite as huge as I expected, but very creditable nevertheless.

Boult and the NPO sound more visceral where the score demands, but Handley's overall treatment is just as musicianly. Things like the coda of "Saturn" are so compelling that I can forgive the softness of the bass in "Uranus".

There are many, many versions of this popular work, but this is certainly not an "Also Ran" in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Palnet Suit - Holst, 19 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holst: The Planets Suite / St Pauls' Suite (Audio CD)
I grew up with classical music and have always wanted a copy of the planet suit. The cd plays well and arrived in excellent condion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for the folk music, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holst: The Planets Suite / St Pauls' Suite (Audio CD)
We bought this CD for the folk music. We had heard it several times on Classic FM and wanted to hear the full range of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the planets at its best, 7 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holst: The Planets Suite / St Pauls' Suite (Audio CD)
This is an exceptional cd and I would not hesitate reccomending it to anyone interested in this type of music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holst: The Planets Suite / St Pauls' Suite (Audio CD)
wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars two of my favourite Holst works, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holst: The Planets Suite / St Pauls' Suite (Audio CD)
an early recording but none the worse for that. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xx xxxx yyy zzzz b ccc dddd eeee fff g
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holst: The Planets Suite / St Pauls' Suite
Holst: The Planets Suite / St Pauls' Suite by Vernon Handley (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews