Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it!
I bought this album speculatively because it had been recommended to me by the automated Amazon system. On reading the other reviews it sounded like a great album and, when it arrived, I was not disappointed.
La Femme d'Argent& relaxes you into your seat/bed/cell in 7 minutes of musical perfection which, although it can play unobtrusively in the background, demands...
Published on 10 Nov 2005 by Matthew Thompson

versus
5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware the vocoder!
If like me you are not keen on vocoded vocals then approach this album with caution. Some excellent chilled out grooves but over the course of a whole CD the use of the vocoder in at least half the tracks began to grate.
Strange that music that makes me think of ELO is considered so hip!
Try the Zero7 album instead - more substance and no vocoder!
Published on 25 July 2001


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it!, 10 Nov 2005
This review is from: Moon Safari (Audio CD)
I bought this album speculatively because it had been recommended to me by the automated Amazon system. On reading the other reviews it sounded like a great album and, when it arrived, I was not disappointed.
La Femme d'Argent& relaxes you into your seat/bed/cell in 7 minutes of musical perfection which, although it can play unobtrusively in the background, demands that every chord and note is listened to, and absorbed. Tracks like this, and the beautiful Ce Matin La are contrasted by the poppy, high-bass Sexy Boy.
The album is consistent in the relaxed, but by no means easy-listening nature of the tracks, but also wonderfully diverse in its styles. The introduction of a female voice on All I Need and You Make it Easytakes the emphasis off the instrumentalists, and allows them to play with a beautiful set of vocal harmonies.
If you want dinner party music, do not buy this album - it's just too good to be played in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing else matters, 28 Mar 2002
This review is from: Moon Safari (Audio CD)
What can I say? If I sound over the top, it's because this is how the album makes me feel. I bought Moon Safari and Premiers Symptomes (also by Air) from Amazon based purely on other reviews. What I found out when I put the CD's into my player is that Air are one of those bands who can change your mood, your day, your ideas of music in the space of one album. I say one album, but I recommend you listen to Premiers Symptomes then Moon safari back to back. By doing this you get to see how Air's ideas changed, and you will also notice how they remain consistently brilliant. I like EVERY track on Moon Safari as much as the last, but my favourite track is Ce Matin La. Listen to it on headphones. It paints a visual picture in your mind using sound. Moon Safari is simply an album that, when you hear it you think, well, nothing else matters. That wasn't too over the top was it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious music, 18 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Moon Safari (Audio CD)
The rain starts to fall, a soothing bass riff floats in, an organ theme emerges, and La Voyage de Penelope begins. What an opener, and what a perfect way to relax into this hot bubble bath of an album!
Sexy Boy is still their most famous song and although a top tune, is not particularly indicative of their more laid-back style. Songs such as this may sound repetitive at first, but after a few listens, they become hypnotic, with delicate and intricate changes on each verse and chorus.
Beth Hirsh's breathy, Jane Birkin-like vocals add sex to the combination, and songs like Kelly Watch the Stars make ostensibly robotic, synthesised music sound as soulful and rootsy as any blues band.
Elsewhere there's the trumpet motif of Ce Matin-La and the pre-Cher Vocoder antics of Remember, the sadness of New Star in the Sky and the bleakness of Talisman.
Every song is beautifully crafted and performed, spanning the supposed gulf between primal dance music and pan-generational songsmithery.
Definitely the first 21st Century pop album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Masters of Chillout, 31 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Moon Safari (Audio CD)
Before I heard this album I had been listening to Zero 7's Simple Things. I wrote in a review for that album, "... and the Air comparison, who are Air." How wrong can one person be. This album is the original chillout album bar none. Every single track is pure excellence.
Ok, maybe Sexy boy does get a bit repetative but you will never find yourself skipping any of these tracks.
My personal favourite is All I Need, which is one of my favourite songs ever. But they all come close with Kelly Watch the Stars, You Make It Easy, Le Voyage de Penelope and Talisman all coming close to the quality of All I Need.
Try our Simple Things by Zero 7 but don't get that instead. Get this and you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music in zero gravity, 21 Aug 2006
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moon Safari (Audio CD)
Genuinely classic albums of the last twenty years are, in my opinion, hideously rare. 'Moon Safari' qualifies partly by having that important quality of unique feel, a world of its own. Godin and Dunckel don't hit you head on, they touch you gently in all the sensitive areas and surprise you from different directions. Inspired keyboard and bass runs and delightful rhythms pour out to create a bewitching, layered sound. Anyone who opens a pop album with a seven-minute instrumental is asking for trouble, but on La Femme D'Argent the bassline acts like a vocal. This sensual piece sounds out of time, about twenty years late, but it's gorgeous. The same can be said of the obvious hit, 'Sexy Boy', which sounds in places as if it comes from the same cloth as other late 1970s electronic pop hits such as 'Magic Fly'.

Following two such diverse tracks with something as breathtaking is difficult but they manage it with the giddy 'All I Need'. Using Beth Hirsch, whoever she is, for the vocal on this and 'You Make It Easy' is an inspired move. These are probably the best tracks but the album as a whole is a delight, even if they do borrow rather blatantly from The Beach Boys on 'Remember'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon Safari [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Its great listening to Moon Safari on Vynal, I love this album and play it daily!
I keep the cd in my car : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant and so mellow, 7 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Moon Safari (Audio CD)
Moon Safari will go down in history as THE chill-out album. Far more immediate than Air's latest offering, it is an absolute delight from start to finish. Beautiful female vocals, atmospheric robotic singing and the coolest instrumentals ever - French music has never been so hip. Kelly Watch The Stars and Sexy Boy may seem a little repetitive to some listeners, but they lend the music a gorgeously hypnotic ambience. Trust me, you need this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Electronic pop heaven, 6 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Moon Safari (Audio CD)
This is synthesizer heaven with a mix of electronic pop thatwill make many try follow in their footsteps. This French band have managed to give us some good chill out music that you are going to hear at the beginning and end of many a house party. There are a few samples thrown in at places which keeps things fresh and they start with 'La Femme D'Argent' which starts the ball rolling very nicely. Another good song is 'Sexy Boy' and the single of the album, which is 'Kelly Watch the Stars' which is a great song full of great tempos and synth sounds. Other great songs that will add to your enjoyment of this album are 'All I Need, Talisman and La Voyage de Penelope'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chill out and smile CD, 15 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Moon Safari (Audio CD)
I've had this CD for about a year now and while floating round amazon I thought I should write a review of this, my most listened to album. This CD is one of those top fiveish CD's which either live in or right next to the machine for easy access. The music is amazing, you could be in the middle of a major downer and any one of these tracks will lift you like no other music. Most people will recognise 'Sexy Boy' due to its being featured in television on sooo many programmes it's impossible to count, but there are others on this CD, all either equally good or better. 'Ce Matin La' is one of my favourites, perfect for sitting on the beanbag, bed or in the sun smiling away to yourself. I'm listening to this CD now and it's having the magic happy effect as I type. I first heard of Air from a friend (John Shephard) and found them on amazon that night, I bought the CD the next day and have been hooked since. The 70'sness of this CD is a really good thing, apart from ABBA, I have issues with this musical decade as much as the next person, but the happiness and dreaminess far outshadow any fault with the CD. Even if Air aren't really to your liking this is still a good CD to have, it really is one of those that no collection is complete without. With a lot of CD's you might like a few songs instantly, then the others have to grow on you, with 'Moon Safari' this is not the case, everybody will instantly click with this music and there will be no songs growing on you, you'll love them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Un classique Chill Out album que vous devez acheter ce pour votre collection, 7 Jan 2011
By 
BD "bigdave2020" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Moon Safari (Audio CD)
Liberally laced with vintage Moog synths, vocoders and phaser effects (a hint of Oxygene perhaps?) Moon Safari is undeniably retro in feel but modern in take. This album truly transcends genre and time. Retro and futuristic, chill out in genre yet still sounding relevant and influencing others to the present day. Moon Safari almost stands alone as a beacon of brilliance from that period in music and genre. At the time of its original release only Moby and Zero 7 were able to compete on equal terms, an impressive achievement by anyone's standards.

Long after the Late 90's Chill out period had passed on, and its band wagon jumped upon and flogged to death with literally hundreds of so called `chill out' compilations, many of variable quality and authenticity to the genre, Moon Safari survives with credibility and musical credentials fully intact. Subtly beautiful with `All I need' and `Ce Matin La', retro pop with `Sexy Boy' and `Kelly watch the stars' and moody with `New Star in the sky' and `La Voyage de Penelope', it is an album of varied mood and pace and easily washes over you with every listen, with tight clean and yet honest production values.

In short a treat for the ears, the soul and your life. At the time of writing this classic album (a phrase so often over used and under valued) is available brand new for less than a fiver. You owe it to yourself to own this album, put it on, and just let it play.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moon Safari
Moon Safari by Air (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews