Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blessed music
Taize style music is very popular among college-age worshippers today, and our Centre for University Ministry regularly offers Taize services. The hallmarks of Taize services are simplicity, peaceful spirituality, and music based upon the chant styles of the Taize monastery in France. Founded in the aftermath of the second World War by Brother Roger, who died in a prayer...
Published on 20 Dec 2005 by Kurt Messick

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful for reference
I greatly appreciate the work of Taizé and their inclusive, contemplative music. This recording is a useful introduction to some of their more well-known chants. Alas, it does not quite do them justice: as a live recording, presumably using rather amateurish equipment, it is noisy and the poor balance is very off-putting. Indeed, the renditions themselves have...
Published 14 months ago by MideastMC


Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blessed music, 20 Dec 2005
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alleluia (Audio CD)
Taize style music is very popular among college-age worshippers today, and our Centre for University Ministry regularly offers Taize services. The hallmarks of Taize services are simplicity, peaceful spirituality, and music based upon the chant styles of the Taize monastery in France. Founded in the aftermath of the second World War by Brother Roger, who died in a prayer service in the midst of the community in August 2005, Taize is dedicated to peace and ecumenical action.
Taize music is both simple and sophisticated. Brother Roger, founder of Taize, seeks to add a prayerful element to music, and a musical element to prayer, believing firmly in the old dictum, 'those who sing, pray twice'.
The songs of Taize are designed to be sung by those who have difficulty carrying a tune, as well as those whose training and background in music extends to high levels.
This recording contains many of the best Taize chants. Given the international outreach of Taize (it is a great pilgrimage site for people all over the world), the chants tend to be sung in Latin. The Latin is not due to Catholic influence as much as it a shared language among many people's linguistic heritage while no longer being anyone's first language. Brother Roger reclaimed Latin as a language for the monastery so that no one 'living' language would claim a dominance over others. However, this disc does include some of the pieces in English, also - it is a feature of Taize chant that it can be adapted to other languages very easily.
Taize worship relies on psalms heavily, as well as periods of silence, Bible readings, and prayers. Some such pieces are included here.
The way Taize chants 'work' is that they are simple phrases and simple tunes that gradually reveal depth and sophistication by being repeated over and over. All chants presented in this text are put in multiple-part harmony (usually four-part), and some are marked to be done in rounds.
This recording is a rich expression, wonderfully presented. According to Brother Roger, all who follow this journey of the spirit remain alongside other people, adding their prayers and voices together. 'They do not separate prayer and commitment.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful for reference, 16 Oct 2013
By 
MideastMC (Aberdeenshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aleluia (MP3 Download)
I greatly appreciate the work of Taizé and their inclusive, contemplative music. This recording is a useful introduction to some of their more well-known chants. Alas, it does not quite do them justice: as a live recording, presumably using rather amateurish equipment, it is noisy and the poor balance is very off-putting. Indeed, the renditions themselves have several drifts in pitch and wrong notes: while I'm sure this is fine for those looking to recreate an experience of having been there, for general listening it's not quite good enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I wonder why people dont feel how others feel about music like this then GOD inspired me with a perfect answer ..., 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alleluia (Taize) (Audio CD)
This is one of those music that brings the eternity of heaven to your doorstep, I wonder why people dont feel how others feel about music like this then GOD inspired me with a perfect answer which i write to you with a bold letter, it is because THEY DO NOT HAVE THE NEW LIFE WHICH THE HOLY SPIRIT IMPARTS IN THE LIFE OF THOSE WHO BELIEVE IN OUR LORD JESUS CHRIST. THEY DO NOT RESPOND TO SUCH GLORIOUS MUSIC BECAUSE THE LIFE OF CHRIST IS NOT IN THEM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alleluia (Taize) (Audio CD)
Great CD. Bought it for church.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Alleluia, 5 Nov 2014
By 
C. Mcgowan (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alleluia (Taize) (Audio CD)
Alleluia arrived quickly and is beautifully peaceful music. Just had to give it a little clean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars calming and relaxing, 12 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aleluia (MP3 Download)
Bought for my 92 yr old mother to listen to in hospital. She enjoyed it and it relaxed her
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
This review is from: Alleluia (Taize) (Audio CD)
beautifell and soothing music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alleluia (Taize) (Audio CD)
Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars taize, 1 July 2010
This review is from: Alleluia (Taize) (Audio CD)
Iam very happy with this cd and fast service in receiving it. Brings back great memories of taize 1992.A++++++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alleluia (Taize)
Alleluia (Taize) by Taize (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews