Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LA life analysed by the Queen
This is Joni's expert analysis of LA life, as both observer and ambilvalent participant. A masterpiece it definitely is.

I must disagree with those who have said that 'Jungle Line' is sub-standard, weak or horrid. It is a wonderful portrayal of innocense newly lost on arrival in the 'jungle' of LA. The metaphor of Rouseau's art and the sounds of burundi drums,...
Published on 6 July 2006 by Ms. Felicia Davis-burden

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Broken Plastic
Music was great, delivery quick. But the cover plastic was in pieces and the text part well used. And not from the transport!
Published 11 months ago by Urban


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic and Magical, 11 May 2001
This review is from: The Hissing Of Summer Lawns (Audio CD)
An album that stands the test of time. From the opening track until the end Joni provides a variety of songs that are diverse, with none sounding like the other. "Harry's House" was even used for the film "Sharkey's Machine" starring Burt Reynolds. For me the stand out track has to be "The Jungle Line" with its background drum beat. Others may disagree. An album that has always travelled with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instantly Likeable!, 27 Aug. 2006
By 
Michael Bermingham "mjbermingham" (Birr,County Offaly,Ireland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hissing Of Summer Lawns (Audio CD)
I bought this album just a month ago and I can say its rapidly becoming one of my all time favourites.The only regret is I remember having it in my hand in the seventies and for some reason I didn't buy it at the time...my loss.

From the first play I found it totally catchy and instantly likeable.Unlike some albums that take some time to 'grow' on you this one is an immediate winner.Opening with the beautiful 'In France They Kiss On Main Street' the album just gets better as it flows along.Joni's shrewd observation of L.A. life in the seventies is still as relevant to-day as then.Unlike some other reviewers I really like 'The Jungle Line' track with its wonderful drumming.Every time I hear it I almost expect Paul Simon to start singing as its very similar to some of his best work.'Edith And The Kingpin' is also a marvellous track.I could go on about other individual tracks but theres really no point as they are all sublime.

Since buying this a month back I have now bought two other Joni albums, 'Clouds' and 'Court And Spark', both also excellent.This one however is an ideal place to start your 'Joni' journey....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exotic jazz from the queen of lyrical genius, 28 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hissing Of Summer Lawns (Audio CD)
When I first heard "The Hissing Of Summer Lawns", I had only previously heard the much less ornate, folkie-rock albums "Blue" and "Ladies Of The Canyon". Having read loads of reviews of this album, I didn't know what to expect but I knew I wouldn't be disappointed because the two I had heard were brilliant.
This album is so much different...it is jazzier with trumpets, flutes, clarinets, saxophones and horns aplenty but there are still some Joni piano and guitar parts. The track 'In France They Kiss On Mainstreet' is the elegant opener, while 'The Jungle Line' is a very strange Moog-led uptempo track featuring the Warrior Drums of Burundi. Some parts of this song sound dated, but it is thoroughly amazing 26-and-a-half years after release.
'Don't Interrupt The Sorrow' boasts a strong melody, 'Harry's House - Centerpiece' is enthralling and the title track is just wonderful. 'Shadows And Light' is another great one, with gospel-like backing vocals.
But in amongst the good stuff is some not-so-good stuff. The songs that have not been mentioned are not that memorable, but they will grow on you after a few listens. Even if the melody is not very strong or catchy, the lyrics and the sublime music that works as accompaniment will blow you away - how can this woman be so brilliant? you will frequently ask yourself on an album like "The Hissing Of Summer Lawns".
If you absolutely adore "Ladies Of The Canyon" or "Blue" and want more of the same, then "The Hissing Of Summer Lawns" might be a disappointment. It certainly won't work for everyone, but Joni Mitchell and her astounding musical prowess makes the grade for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sophisticated...like ferrero roche., 8 Sept. 2003
This review is from: The Hissing Of Summer Lawns (Audio CD)
Sonically perhaps Joni's most excellent album. The sheer lavishness of the arrangements and compositions are breathtaking. Joni here hands over the reins further still from 'Court and Spark' to an excellent backing band, burying her folkie tendencies once and for all...in fact 'backing band' might be a misleading term. Their musicianship is as integeral a part of the album as Joni's lyrics. This is not to say that Mitchell's songs themselves are lacking her usual substance - they are as insightful, heartbreaking/warming as ever, but, without sounding pretentious, the musicians really add 'colour' to the songs. This one really has atmosphere. Sit back, poor yourself a G&T, relax and soak in the incredible insights of a woman coming to terms with maturity, domesticity, the suburbs, and modern corporate society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting call of nature from urban, 22 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hissing Of Summer Lawns (Audio CD)
In an interview in the early 80s, I remember Joni Mitchell saying this album is complimentary to the final scene of "Walkabout" when the bored housewife stares out of her window across the urban jungle and wishing she was still in the outback. Free from constraints. "The Hissing Of Summer Lawns" takes no prisoners and is a varied album not heard of from Joni before. "The Jungle Line" features the great drowning drums of the Brundi Tribes, "Edith and The KingPin" is simply wonderful and the title track - sheer poetry (though the Live version on "Shadows And Light" Live LP is more superior in delivery). This album is not for fans of "Blue" but more for those stretching beyond. It is also timeless owing to it's variety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the hissing of summer lawns joni mitchell, 24 April 2012
By 
Peter Dodds (Hastings uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hissing Of Summer Lawns (Audio CD)
i would like to start this music review of the hissing of summer lawns with track 2.the jungle line this track actually had everything to do with the rest of the music tracks otherwise joni mitchell would not have put it on the original lp. she actually in my opinion was making a statement with jungle line it was radically different from her other music works of art,and showed another side of her vast talent she has.jungle line actually in its day got rave reviews from the music critics of the time as did the whole of the album. this is a 5 star album not one below par track if you have just come across this cd purchase knowing you have just bought a music gem.the hissing of the summer lawns.enjoy joni mitchell is one of the true greats music artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure lyrical genius coupled with diverse excellent melodies., 3 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hissing of Summer Lawns (Audio CD)
This CD is Joni Mitchell at her absolute best. The way that she couples the almost haunting melodies with profound lyrics shows her musical genius. The songs seem to lead straight into each other and you're never quite sure which track you are listening to, as the music seems to hold you in a trance. The lyrics on all the tracks are excellent, although it would help if you were a psychologist, to really understand the deep meaning of the tracks. Harry's house/centrepiece is a prime example of profound lyrics. You do not need to be a fan of lyrics however, to enjoy this CD, as the music itself, is so brilliant that you,ll play this CD over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Joni album ever, 21 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember being entranced by this album when a student late nights listening to Harry's house, Hissing and Edith... happy days indeed.
Now with it in my music library on my NAS drive and Sonos I relive those salad days in my living room late at night - what bliss. The vinyl version is in my attic.
Despite some poor reviews at the time (they didn't understand) this is to my mind one of Joni Mitchell's finest albums. Listen to it and drift away with the music not a bad track on it.

Also it dosent feature on Spotify or Napster so dont rely on them -buy it and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remember Summer, 18 Mar. 2012
This review is from: The Hissing Of Summer Lawns (Audio CD)
This is probably the best Joni Mitchell album not as commercial as Court & Spark the previous album but more depth and better lyrics. If you liked Court & Spark and you love whatever Miss Mitchell does you will love this album. Harry's House is the centrepiece of the album and a great critic of how relationships don't work where one side is never home. The observation of a dragonfly on a tomb is such a clever analogy. Other great tracks, the title track and don't interrupt the sorrow. If you like Joni Mitchell or you don't know her, buy this and be ready to fall in love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars songs sound lovely but lyrics a bit difficult to understand, 17 May 2006
This review is from: Hissing of Summer Lawns (Audio CD)
I love listening to this cd but find it difficult to understand what Joni is singing about at times,though,in fairness,she does say on the cover the ensemble should be a mystery that we have to untangle.This is a recording where the creative contributions of the other musicians were given equal priority to Joni's.

I would recommend it to anyone who likes music that can make you relax without putting you to sleep and something vibrant but not loud.I give it 5 stars even though I find it a little incomprehensible - it just sounds great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hissing Of Summer Lawns
The Hissing Of Summer Lawns by Joni Mitchell (Audio CD - 1987)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews