Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LA life analysed by the Queen
This is Joni's expert analysis of LA life, as both observer and ambilvalent participant. A masterpiece it definitely is.

I must disagree with those who have said that 'Jungle Line' is sub-standard, weak or horrid. It is a wonderful portrayal of innocense newly lost on arrival in the 'jungle' of LA. The metaphor of Rouseau's art and the sounds of burundi drums,...
Published on 6 July 2006 by Ms. Felicia Davis-burden

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Broken Plastic
Music was great, delivery quick. But the cover plastic was in pieces and the text part well used. And not from the transport!
Published 1 month ago by Urban


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LA life analysed by the Queen, 6 July 2006
By 
Ms. Felicia Davis-burden (Staines, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hissing Of Summer Lawns (Audio CD)
This is Joni's expert analysis of LA life, as both observer and ambilvalent participant. A masterpiece it definitely is.

I must disagree with those who have said that 'Jungle Line' is sub-standard, weak or horrid. It is a wonderful portrayal of innocense newly lost on arrival in the 'jungle' of LA. The metaphor of Rouseau's art and the sounds of burundi drums, Moog synth and Joni's voice and guitar, work hypnotically together to break up the smooth veneer of the album as a whole (representing the smooth veneer of LA itself!) exposing the lusting and dangerous 'belly of the beast'. I actually see 'Jungle Line' as one of Joni's finest tracks.

'Edith and the King Pin' is a fine study of how an LA millionaire builds up his charmed hareem, seducing with jewels, champagne and drugs, choosing his women like Rouseau would his shades of paint. Another beautifully detailed highlight.

This is one of Joni's masterpieces. Along with Hejira, Blue and Court & Spark, Summer Lawns represents her artistic maturing and daring as a writer. A fabulous collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sonically Joni's best album, 5 Feb 2006
By 
Nocode (Cambridge United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hissing Of Summer Lawns (Audio CD)
While Hejira is my favourite Joni album this record is fighting it out with 'For the Roses' for second place. The record generally has quite a laid back feel to it. The opener takes up from where 'Court and Spark' left off, after that however the album becomes more adventurous without compromising on melody. Some have cticised the 'the jungle line.' True it isn't in keeping with the rest of the album and for that reason it perhaps disrupts the record's rhythm. Yet it is undeniably innovative. Other tracks, especially 'Harry's House/Centrepiece' incorporate overt forays into jazz. All in all this is an essential and original album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah, Joni!, 2 Nov 2006
By 
A. Miller "allanm" (Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hissing Of Summer Lawns (Audio CD)
This was Melody Maker's album of the year in 1975 or thereabouts, so I bought it, played it twice and put it aside as rather uninteresting. Oh foolish youth, I fortunately did not take it down the local student-fund-raising second-hand store, but listened again and became gradually entranced by the melodic and lyrical flair contained therein. Barely a poor moment (the Jungle Line - sorry! - the Centrepiece interlude and Shadows and Light don't sit well with the rest, just to be picky) - the good stuff just keeps on coming. In France they Kiss... followed by [er...OK, where's that skip button!] then Edith ... Don't Interrupt ... Shades of Scarlett ... Hissing ... Boho Dance ... Harry's House... Sweet Bird.... The rest are perfectly fine, but those 8 are sublime, 30+ years on.

I have failed in my attempts to get friends to love this, but I sometimes sit after everyone has gone to bed with a glass of wine, and wallow in the combination of current appreciation and nostalgic association which old favourites engender. Sigh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album years ahead of its time, 14 Sep 2008
By 
Jeffrey M. Black "jblack437" (Stockport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hissing Of Summer Lawns (Audio CD)
Joni fans tend to divide between those those that prefer the naked confessional of 'Blue' and those that regard the jazzy trio of mid-70s albums that comprise 'Court & Spark', 'The Hissing of Summer Lawns' and 'Hejira' to be her creative peak. I'm in the latter category.

I first heard this album in a musical instrument shop. they were playing 'Harry's House' and the line "A helicopter lands on the Pan-Am roof like a dragonfly on a tomb" caused me to ask the staff what it was. Joni's lyrics are cinematic - like little movie pitches - and beautifully evocative of that period. That track and the album's title investigate the dark side of the suburban dream, set to cool jazzy accompaniment that will make everything else you listen to sound crude.

Elsewhere 'The Jungle Line' discovers Burundi drums a good five years before Adam Ant. 'Edith and The Kingpin' has luscious orchestration that seems to literally seduce you and the multi-layered harmonies of 'Shadows & Light' indicate an artist that is at the peak of her game.

The fact that this got lukewarm reviews on its release either shows how clueless some journalists can be or demonstrates how far ahead Joni was. An astonishingly good album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite, 21 Jan 2000
By 
"yellowfeather" (the Black Isle, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hissing Of Summer Lawns (Audio CD)
How can this piece of work possibly be allowed to go unheard? By turns romantic and savage, Mitchell's observations are wrapped in some of the most stunningly arranged sounds you will ever hear. All the tracks are standout; I couldn't even attempt to pick a favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Career Defining, 1 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Hissing Of Summer Lawns (Audio CD)
Along with the more obvious Blue, this is Joni's most career defining record. Whilst the former perfected her internal, almost confessional work, The Hissing of Summer Lawns epitomises her role as observer, or even satirist, and her musicianship. Broadly speaking it is a concept album that juxtaposes the human, the animal, and the spiritual in a dense series of portraits of - mostly - Californian life. Think of David Lynch movies and you get a little bit of an idea - the title refers to the hiss of sprinklers on grass, the keeping up of appearances, repressing of darker desires... you get the picture. Elsewhere she explores drug cultures and exploitation (The Jungle Line and Edith & The Kingpin), suburban desperation (the title track, Harry's House) and ruminates on what it all means (the two closers). Throughout her lyricism, once sparse and raw, is lush and layered with imagery - Shades of Scarlett Conquering (a sharp look at a young socialite) both sounds like something from Hollywood's golden age and looks/reads like it e.g. "with her impossibly gentle hands and her blood red fingernails". The depth of playing with a small team of musicians and engineer Henry Lewy never falters - varyingly paced with layers of latin, jazz, and african influences co-existing alongside Joni's own keyboard and guitar work. It's an album that rewards almost constant playing year on year, never failing to reveal more light, more shade. Not only important for Mitchell but a landmark in modern music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enduring and archetypal, 18 April 2001
By 
J. JAMES "jagey" (Whitstable) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hissing Of Summer Lawns (Audio CD)
Never far from my turntable tape or disc player - I keep the original gatefold for the languid photo of Joni and her integral artwork, though the vinyl itself (victim of the mid-seventies shortage and massive overplaying) sounds chafed and distant. The lyrics are diverse, complex and often obscure but will remain with you forever, opening gradually with repeated plays and experience. The tunes are always more than just that, from the optimism of the heady opener through to the album's dour and sardonic close. Yep, Joni does it for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rave Review From A Non-Fan, 26 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Hissing Of Summer Lawns (Audio CD)
For many reasons I do not really like much of Joni Mitchell's music prior to this album. Confessional singer-songwriters, where the lyrics are analysed in terms of who they refer to backed by folk-pop is just not my thing - I should add that if it is your thing I think that it is quite clear that Joni is as good as it gets. This review is really aimed at letting people who think the same, just how great this particular record is. The move from folk influences towards jazz started on Court And Spark is here complete. The music is similar in some respects to Weather Report, but to these ears considerably more interesting. To suit these changes the songs are more open ended than before, shifting and changing as they progress. Combined with Joni's rich voice this makes for some gorgeous, adventurous music. Many of the tracks are highlights - In France, Edith And The Kingpin, The Hissing Of Summer Lawns and The Boho Dance. The absolute standout for me is the simply beautiful Shades Of Scarlett. Also of note is The Jungle Line, which with it's ethnic drums sounds at least 5 years ahead of it's time. Mitchell would follow this up with the almost as good Hejira (worth 5 stars though) but this sounds like a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Women's troubles., 16 Dec 2009
By 
A. Willard (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hissing Of Summer Lawns (Audio CD)
Blimey what an album this is. Joni forgets her own problems for once (not that there was anything wrong with that..) and looks outside - and doesn't much like what she sees. Bourgeois man (and woman - but mostly man) gets skewered - but beautifully, and with some self-deprecating wit - as she admits on `The Boho Dance' Joni likes her comforts as much as the rest of us.

The playing is sensational - it's often overlooked just what a good musician Joni Mitchell is - but her supporting cast on this album has probably never been bettered. The album is worth five stars for Larry Carlton's superb languid guitar on `Edith and the Kingpin' alone.

If I was to be picky I'd say that you can probably live without `Sweet Bird' but the rest are fantastic. The mid-album sequence of `Edith and the Kingpin', `Don't Interrupt the Sorrow' and `Shades of Scarlett Conquering' has to be heard to be believed.

Any chance of six stars?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic and Magical, 11 May 2001
This review is from: The Hissing Of Summer Lawns (Audio CD)
An album that stands the test of time. From the opening track until the end Joni provides a variety of songs that are diverse, with none sounding like the other. "Harry's House" was even used for the film "Sharkey's Machine" starring Burt Reynolds. For me the stand out track has to be "The Jungle Line" with its background drum beat. Others may disagree. An album that has always travelled with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hissing Of Summer Lawns
The Hissing Of Summer Lawns by Joni Mitchell (Audio CD - 1987)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews