Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More award winning playing from Perahia
This award winning recording from 1994 is yet another example of the performing genius of Perahia caught so well in the studio. Murray Perahia has had the enviable ability, to many other recording artists no doubt, of being able to capture the spontaneity of a live performance within the emotional confines of the recording studio.

This disc is a good example...
Published 20 months ago by I. Giles

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking subtlety
I bought this on the two previous reviews, and was disappointed with the playing.
Whereas other artistes capture the romancism in the ballades, here it was missing and lacked the feeling I had heard from, for example, Lang Lang.
Published 12 months ago by gopher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More award winning playing from Perahia, 6 Dec 2012
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chopin: 4 Ballades- Waltzes, Op. 18 & 42 / Nocturne, Op. 15, No. 1 / Mazurkas, Op. 7, No. 3 / Op. 17, No. 4 & Op. 33, No. 2 / Etudes, Op. 10, Nos. 3 & 4 (Audio CD)
This award winning recording from 1994 is yet another example of the performing genius of Perahia caught so well in the studio. Murray Perahia has had the enviable ability, to many other recording artists no doubt, of being able to capture the spontaneity of a live performance within the emotional confines of the recording studio.

This disc is a good example and also makes an interesting concert program with the focus being on the four Ballades as the main focus so to speak followed and complemented by a group of waltzes, mazurkas and etudes rather like encores at a concert. This is imaginative programming even if somewhat difficult to fit in without much partial doubling for collectors.

The performances all bring that special Perahia combination of immaculate technical command with added warmth so the element of 'glitter' is less apparent than in some other performers' contributions and this adds to the ultimate musical satisfaction. At the same time Perahia avoids being so weighty that there is any risk of dullness. In other words what we get here is that perfect combination of rock-sure technique and interpretive warmth that combines to give a deep musical reward to the listener.

In summary therefore, I would suggest that this disc will give a great deal of musical satisfaction to purchasers even if this leads to duplication of material. As an 'only' disc for purchasers it will be rewarding on its own behalf but for collectors it will probably take an honoured place among the sub-set of 'Perahia' specials within a collection regardless of duplication.

............................................

Some dialogue from the comments section that may offer further help:

I thought that you might like to know that before I buy a recording I now look through all the reviews to see if you have posted one. Your assessments and opinions are invaluable. Thank you. (US review)

I particularly like your format of review. They give the prospective purchaser an idea of the style of the playing and relevant comparisons. They are succinct. Keep up the good work! (UK review)

I'm sure there are many other serious collectors, besides myself, who wait for your synopsis and opinion before spending their hard-earned money on new releases...
Keep up the good work!
Thank you (UK review)

............................................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perahia Masterpeice, 19 Oct 2009
By 
V. Tacon (Barcombe East Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chopin: 4 Ballades- Waltzes, Op. 18 & 42 / Nocturne, Op. 15, No. 1 / Mazurkas, Op. 7, No. 3 / Op. 17, No. 4 & Op. 33, No. 2 / Etudes, Op. 10, Nos. 3 & 4 (Audio CD)
Truly a superb performance. Every note is beautifully enunciated with dramatic colour and intense dynamics. In my rather dated copy of the Penquin Guide to Classical CDs this recording is awarded a "rosette" (being their highest accolade), and deservedly so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top drawer playing from Perahia, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: 4 Ballades- Waltzes, Op. 18 & 42 / Nocturne, Op. 15, No. 1 / Mazurkas, Op. 7, No. 3 / Op. 17, No. 4 & Op. 33, No. 2 / Etudes, Op. 10, Nos. 3 & 4 (Audio CD)
Well known music to me, and needed a disc as a present to my 11 year old granddaughter, who has 'fallen' for the Ballade No.1! Perahia does not disappoint, as one might expect from such an artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The one and only Murray Perahia., 15 Sep 2013
By 
Eric Rooney "E.R." (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: 4 Ballades- Waltzes, Op. 18 & 42 / Nocturne, Op. 15, No. 1 / Mazurkas, Op. 7, No. 3 / Op. 17, No. 4 & Op. 33, No. 2 / Etudes, Op. 10, Nos. 3 & 4 (Audio CD)
This is a gorgeous disc . I have several CD's of Chopin's piano music but nobody plays it better than Murray Perahia. He's the top's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars music for relaxation, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: 4 Ballades- Waltzes, Op. 18 & 42 / Nocturne, Op. 15, No. 1 / Mazurkas, Op. 7, No. 3 / Op. 17, No. 4 & Op. 33, No. 2 / Etudes, Op. 10, Nos. 3 & 4 (Audio CD)
The Chopin ballades and other pieces are beautifully interpreted by Murray Perahia and this C D is ideal for relaxing to. I transferred it to my ipod, and play it during the night when I can't sleep. A good buy for lovers of classical music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 4 Ballades F. Chopin, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: 4 Ballades- Waltzes, Op. 18 & 42 / Nocturne, Op. 15, No. 1 / Mazurkas, Op. 7, No. 3 / Op. 17, No. 4 & Op. 33, No. 2 / Etudes, Op. 10, Nos. 3 & 4 (Audio CD)
Absolutely Beautiful, Supremely performed and wonderfully produced - so what is there not to like? Absolutely Nothing... So Get it!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking subtlety, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: 4 Ballades- Waltzes, Op. 18 & 42 / Nocturne, Op. 15, No. 1 / Mazurkas, Op. 7, No. 3 / Op. 17, No. 4 & Op. 33, No. 2 / Etudes, Op. 10, Nos. 3 & 4 (Audio CD)
I bought this on the two previous reviews, and was disappointed with the playing.
Whereas other artistes capture the romancism in the ballades, here it was missing and lacked the feeling I had heard from, for example, Lang Lang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews