Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keith Jarrett beginners start here
If you are new to the music of Keith Jarrett then this is the place to start. Jarrett's European quartet, heard here, ran simultaneously with his American quartet for a while but were musically quite different. These tunes are, in the main, beautiful, restrained, evocative and beautifully played, Garbarek's singing tone interacts organically with Jarrett's gently...
Published on 22 April 2003 by Professor

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little bit of cheese
I was going to purchase the new vinyl version, having already procured the CD in the 1990s. At that stage I rather liked this disc. I have always considered this quartet's release, Personal Mountains, to be a favourite record of mine and I regard Jarrett very highly indeed. His trio is certainly one of the greatest and I am working my way through all their recordings...
Published on 14 Dec. 2010 by Sarmad


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keith Jarrett beginners start here, 22 April 2003
By 
Professor (Edinburgh, Lothian United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My Song (Audio CD)
If you are new to the music of Keith Jarrett then this is the place to start. Jarrett's European quartet, heard here, ran simultaneously with his American quartet for a while but were musically quite different. These tunes are, in the main, beautiful, restrained, evocative and beautifully played, Garbarek's singing tone interacts organically with Jarrett's gently cascading piano against a solid but unobtrusive rhythm section. Mandala, a chunk of unashamed be-bop, is out of place but the remainder of the tracks form an integrated album full of longing, passion and beautiful moments; check out the point where the 'The Journey Home' starts to swing! Perfect cool jazz and vintage Jarrett that will last you a lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My song - the best album ever?, 15 Jan. 2005
By 
katherine steer (Seaford, E.Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My Song (Audio CD)
This really is Keith Jarrett at his best, the piano playing is quite beyong description.
It is also the best (my favourite) of Keiths european quartet albums - unfortunately they didnt record very many (4). The rhythm section are awesome, and Jan Garbarek is also at his very best. If you havnt heard this album then dont wait, get it Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Song? Everybody's song., 29 July 2009
By 
Mr P "radletteer" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: My Song (Audio CD)
We find Jarrett here with his European quartet, probably a more melodic and restrained unit than his previous American band. Nonetheless it is an album of exquisite playing from all concerned.
The opening Questar is a strong mid-tempo piece with Garbarek's tenor providing a most suitable, subtly-nuanced voice. The following My Song, a balad, is just one of those haunting melodies that gets you. The Norwegian horn player states the theme with beautiful tone and phrasing. Jarrett then plays a short, memorable unaccompanied passage before the band comes back with the melody.
Tabarka is a stunner. Keening Gabarek sax in near unison with Jarrett's piano state the tune fairly briefly before they begin to meander around the theme as if they have played together since birth. Jarrett then opens out into a typical turn, of cascading notes that are so full of expression and passion. Then Garbarek re-enters magnetically and the song gets looser and looser as the sax seeks out a culmination before it floats back gently to the main theme.
The next track, Country, is again one of those melodies you want to whistle along with. Garbarek sets it out and Jarrett meanders around it. Danielsson then shines as his bass leads Jarrett along with aplomb before the leader takes dominance. A sunny day out in a grassy meadow next to a river, with a breeze in the trees.
Just in case it gets too restrained and melodic, Mandala breaks up the album completely with a strident bit of be-bop. Melody goes out the window as Jarrett plays some real hell-for-leather piano before Gabarek chimes in on some wailing and coruscating soprano. The rhythm section are with them all the way as it gets into a brief Coltranish passage before it slows down and takes some deep breaths. This track is not so immediately appealing as the others but is worth the effort as it will soon wins an equal place in the heart.
The closing Journey Home goes back to the earlier tone of things and again is a haunting, longing melody eloquently stated by the tenor sax. It then increases tempo and has other little themes as the piano leads over a strong bass and percussion pulse before Garbarek once again plays with terrific passion. Some six minutes in it all slows down to a wistful new twist to the composition. Jarrett tinkles wonderfully over some exceedingly laid back bass and drums before the sax re-joins. The piece closes out in this slow mode at journeys end. And a fine journey it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Questing spirits, 11 Aug. 2012
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: My Song (Audio CD)
Along with the album Belonging from the same period in the mid-70s, and with the same line-up, this is Jarrett and friends at their warm, lyrical best.
Questar is a fascinating opener, giving all four musicians room to roam, setting out their stall in jaunty fashion.
The following title track is simply lovely, with some of Jan Garbarek`s most generously expansive playing and tender riffs from Jarrett on a gently eloquent melody, with some nicely subtle chord changes.
Tabarka has another memorable tune, and some resonant bass from Palle Danielsson, with Jon Christensen`s percussion a sympathetic accompaniment throughout, Jarrett evidently enjoying himself if his trademark high-pitch yelps are anything to go by. He has every reason to be glad, as this is a great track, KJ showing once again what a questing spirit he is when inspired, whether solo or in good company, as here. When Garbarek enters the fray once more about six minutes in to the number he plays like a demon, albeit a benign one. A standout.
Country starts with a beguiling, almost childlike tune which very quickly sets sail for funkier waters, Jan G`s sax sounding - as it does on all tracks - like something you wouldn`t wish to be without for too long. As a melodist, especially on these albums with Jarrett, Garbarek reminds one of full-bodied players such as Michael Brecker or even Dexter Gordon, though you always get a chill Nordic breeze along with the romantic sheen from the Norwegian. Another wonderful track.
Mandala is a faster, more jittery number, while The Journey Home is a ten-minute slice of sublimity which ends this very lovely album on a high. It begins slowly then quickens into a joyous romp in which all four musicians play their hearts out. There`s another very slow section towards the end, and some gorgeous piano from Jarrett - and more singing along, bless him.
My Song and Belonging form a high-watermark in the all too brief life of this quartet, and both are recommended unreservedly.
Lovely stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Song...My Favorite CD, 11 Dec. 2008
By 
This review is from: My Song (Audio CD)
Probably one of the finest, and most moving performances of Jarrett's European Quartet. For listeners who are less experienced with this sometimes very "avant garde" genre, it is very accessible and easy to listen to.
Brings tears of joy every time I put in on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 21 Jan. 2004
By 
J. Stephenson "jo" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Song (Audio CD)
If you like Svenson and the less 'hard core' jazz you will like this one. Tunes like Country demonstrate the lyrical playing of Keith - not a lot of bebop on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jarret and Garbarek masterpiece, 21 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Song (MP3 Download)
superb jazz artists wonderful varied and rhythmic modern european style jazz.Must be my favourite jazz album of all time and i go back a long way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars with beautiful, pristine, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Song (Audio CD)
Superb ECM album from the 1970s. Fabulous tunes and playing from Jarrett, with beautiful, pristine, glacial contributions from Garbarek. A classic of its type.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 29 Jan. 2010
By 
Scotlandjohn (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My Song (Audio CD)
Such a great album, really great. But removed one star for the dreadful production error of putting track 5 into the album, Mandala. It's really so out of place as to confirm all your greatest fears of Jarrett's pretentious attitude to performance. With basic IT skills you can burn the album again but remove the ghastly track 5. It really has no contribution to an album of otherwise enjoyable tunes. The last three and a half minutes of the last track are simply divine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little bit of cheese, 14 Dec. 2010
This review is from: My Song [180g VINYL] (Vinyl)
I was going to purchase the new vinyl version, having already procured the CD in the 1990s. At that stage I rather liked this disc. I have always considered this quartet's release, Personal Mountains, to be a favourite record of mine and I regard Jarrett very highly indeed. His trio is certainly one of the greatest and I am working my way through all their recordings. I listened to the CD again today, to decide whether to buy the record. I decided that I'll not be needing the vinyl since my feelings about this album have dwindled. Certainly the musicality is very high and the music is well performed and well-written. However, this is a rather cheesy album and it has an almost childish nature. I now realise why my friend used to laugh at it. The other problem is that I have begun to find Garbarek's style a bit ingratiating.

If you are going to try this quartet I'd recommend Belonging, but would laud Personal Mountains as their masterpiece. The first side of that album is one of the best moments in ECM's catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Song
My Song by Keith Jarrett (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews