Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it was downhill from here!
bizarrely, this album bears no resemblance to the act that the scorpions turned into immediately afterward. whether this was down to michael schenkers involvement i dont know, but this album is so far out of the scorpions canon that listening to it you cant really believe its the same band.
not that the scorpions were a bad act cos they most definately had some great...
Published on 13 Aug. 2008 by The lone voice of reason

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Birth pangs of greatness
For a fan of the Scorpions, 'Lonesome Crow' provides a fascinating insight into the band's early work. Marking the genesis of their recording career, the Scorpions would progress rapidly from the free-flowing psychedelic rock on offer here onto the more intense and immediate hard rock / heavy metal that they became known for in the Eighties. However, for someone merely...
Published on 12 May 2006 by Nev Daimler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Birth pangs of greatness, 12 May 2006
By 
Nev Daimler (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lonesome Crow (Audio CD)
For a fan of the Scorpions, 'Lonesome Crow' provides a fascinating insight into the band's early work. Marking the genesis of their recording career, the Scorpions would progress rapidly from the free-flowing psychedelic rock on offer here onto the more intense and immediate hard rock / heavy metal that they became known for in the Eighties. However, for someone merely interested in what the band sounded like in their more experimental Seventies period, 'Lonesome Crow' is not a good place to start.

That's not to suggest that 'Lonesome Crow' is in any way a bad album; there are plenty of great moments to recommend what is actually a surprisingly coherent and mature recording for a band still in its infancy. The twin-guitar attack so crucial to the latter-day Scorpions sound is already in place and Klaus Meine's throat shredding vocal style is clearly evident. The songs are well-crafted and the English lyrics, despite being sometimes rather clumsy, are still impressive for such a youthful German band (and show that they were keen to attract an international audience). The overall ebb and flow of the record and the moods it creates are rather enchanting and it rewards the patient and attentive listener.

The chilled-out groove of 'I'm Going Mad' is pierced with Meine's impassion vocals, 'It All Depends' and 'Inheritance' showcase some versatile guitar work from the teenage Michael Schenker and though live-standard 'In Search of the Peace of Mind' is mostly as clunky as its title, the finale is deliciously sinister. The last third of the album is taken up with the title track; clocking in at over thirteen minutes, it's easily the longest song recorded by the band and it's also the most forgettable on the album, starting out promisingly enough with more impressive fretwork from Michael, yet subsequently meandering off and never regaining focus.

Any genuine fan of the Scorpions should not only own a copy of 'Lonesome Crow', but also appreciate its finer moments, as there are plenty for the aficionado to enjoy. Any else, esp. those looking for the sound of the band in their heyday, should approach this with an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it was downhill from here!, 13 Aug. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonesome Crow (Rmst) (Audio CD)
bizarrely, this album bears no resemblance to the act that the scorpions turned into immediately afterward. whether this was down to michael schenkers involvement i dont know, but this album is so far out of the scorpions canon that listening to it you cant really believe its the same band.
not that the scorpions were a bad act cos they most definately had some great moments in the following years, and continue to do so, but this is one hell of an album and, for me, it just walks all over everything else that followed it.

the music offered up on this amazing debut is a quite stunning mix of prog/space rock with some truly heavy moments weaving in and out. meine never sang better and the guitars are raw and vicious throughout whilst still managing to remain very melodic. the coda in 'in search of peace of mind' sends chills down the spine and meines scream in 'im going mad' does likewise. fantastic arrangements and a great mix of songs makes this an indispensible album for people into real rock music with balls. this has got it all. its simply fantastic.

i see also that theres a re-mastered version out now. this being the case i will be seeking that out immediately and i suggest you do too. the production was crystal clear and powerful on vinyl so i imagine the re-master sounds even more awesome. this is a MONSTER of an album. get it and be prepared to be amazed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a strong psych rock early metal release., 20 July 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonesome Crow (Rmst) (Audio CD)
here we have pysch rockin early metal. For fans of this band like me, this was there most psych rock inspired release and least accessible generally. I like it but even in the 1980's fans were devided on this one. It has michael schenker on lead guitar and the band looked like typical shaggy early seventies rockers with beards here. They had yet to crystalize their sound but still made a very good early metal release. "i'm going mad' is a incredible rocker that they should still play. Sadly they don't play many songs from pre 1979 these days anymore. The rest of this is from it's era , typical well played psych rock early metal and that's a style I like , much like judas priest's first few releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scorpions - Lonesome Crow, 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonesome Crow (Rmst) (Audio CD)
This is the first CD from this German band. It's an album that perhaps those who already know the albums of the 1980s or posterores may initially surprising. The disc is a typical German hard rock with a mixture of progressive rock, a not so busy vocal as in hard, slower guitar, but it's a good album. It shows the initial proposal of the band and its versatility which made the band despite changing some musicians make it big today. It's different and valid for those who like German progressive rock 70s rock and even for those who favor a hard. Okay! Note 8.0.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lonesome crow, 3 Nov. 2006
This review is from: Lonesome Crow (Rmst) (Audio CD)
I bought this on red vinyl back in the late seventies, back then it sounded like a very mature album for a new band. It reminded me of the overall atmosphere that the first Black Sabbath album conjures. I found it dark and eerie, fab album, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First album, 22 Jun. 2008
By 
G. G. Saunders "Rock Dr." (West Sussex .UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonesome Crow (Rmst) (Audio CD)
This is it the Scorpions first ever album, and a good rock album it is,also the only early album featuring Michael and Rudolf Schenker together on guitars..touring with `UFO` the group loose Michael. Uli Roth helps to complete tour dates but declines invitation to be a full member,this is another story for their second album. Early German rock..sign here!! all in all a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm goin' mad!!!', 24 Nov. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonesome Crow [VINYL] (Vinyl)
It was the first time that I listened I'm goin' mad on vinyl... yeah!!! I recommend it... you'll get high just listening this album... it's crazy, heavy and very nice album..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Dec. 2014
By 
Richard J. Clarke "rjcoffshore" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonesome Crow (Rmst) (Audio CD)
Great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great start to a Great Band, 6 Jan. 2003
This review is from: Lonesome Crow (Audio CD)
This is the Very first SCORPIONS album ever! This is also the only Scorpions album with Micheal Schenker on guitars. It's just as great as any other Scorpions album. Since it was originally on Vinyl, there isn't as much playtime as some of the newer ones, There are 7 Songs totalling about 36 minutes. Any Scorpions fan will be glad to have this wonderful recording. It's got one song "Lonesome Crow" that is more than 13 minutes long. This is a great album, different from many of the other albums it gives an upbeat and jazzy feel. The Scorpions are wonderful music makers, all of their albums I have or I will get as soon as I can. This one will make a wonderful addition to my CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drink it up, 21 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonesome Crow (MP3 Download)
Fantastic album from The Scorpions. Comes in waves to assuage your senses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonesome Crow (Rmst)
Lonesome Crow (Rmst) by Scorpions (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews