Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes I Dream
"Staring at the Sea" is a collection of singles from the band's albums from "Three Imaginary Boys" (released in America as "Boys Don't Cry," with a few variations) in 1979 up through "Head on the Door" in 1985. This album provides a fine panorama of the Cure's progression from a power (punk) trio (Killing an Arab, Boys Don't Cry),...
Published on 29 July 2001 by Matthew Giuliano

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Meeeeh
This album has all the singles on it yes but strangely for me I would spend my money on Disintegration ,again nothing wrong with this collection but not all the singles were hits and as a newish cure fan some sound very dated but old school cure fans will prob love this and new fans or people unsure get disintegration a true masterpiece
Published 16 days ago by Consey4real


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes I Dream, 29 July 2001
By 
Matthew Giuliano (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Staring At The Sea - The Singles (Audio CD)
"Staring at the Sea" is a collection of singles from the band's albums from "Three Imaginary Boys" (released in America as "Boys Don't Cry," with a few variations) in 1979 up through "Head on the Door" in 1985. This album provides a fine panorama of the Cure's progression from a power (punk) trio (Killing an Arab, Boys Don't Cry), through the heavily synthesized sounds of Faith (Other Voices), the gothic, drum machine of Pornography (The Hanging Garden), to the Cure's most complex (and commercially successful) arrangements in Head on the Door (Inbetween Days, Close to Me). New fans will instantly fall in love with Boys Don't Cry, Love Cats, Caterpillar, Inbetween Days and Close to Me. "Killing an Arab" was the band's first single, and despite its name, is merely an adaptation of Albert Camus' "The Stranger," not a reflection of any racial animosity. "Charlotte Sometimes" is a gem on this album. It was never released on a full-length album, yet it is a favorite of many Cure fans; the studio version is a bit sluggish, though, and fans will find that songs like "Let's Go to Bed," "The Walk," and "Charlotte" (though cleverly appealing as mid-80s antiquities) are literally transformed by the performances of these songs in the live CDs "Show" and "Paris." This compilation is outstanding, though. New fans are encouraged to check out "Galore," which is a collection of more recent singles that most people are more familiar with, but when you are ready to fall in love with the Cure, and you will, this album should immediately become part of your CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal intro to classic Cure, 1 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Staring At The Sea - The Singles (Audio CD)
I'm an admirer of the Cure rather than a fully paid up fan, and don't own any Cure albums other than this, but among the 17 songs here are 5 bona fide masterpieces.
I hadn't heard "Killing an arab" for 20 years, and for me it's the absolute best Cure song ever - the arabian-style guitar, the brilliant guitar work, the atmosphere, the desolate lyrics. "10:15 saturday night" is another work in the same mould - wonderfully atmospheric, brilliant guitar breaks.
"A forest" must be the definitive Cure song - hypnotic bass, guitar and vocals and swooshy sound effects over a drum machine - a bit Doctor Who-ish in a way, and totally - well, yes - brilliant. Then there's "The love cats" - a song which is virtually impossible to sit still to. Double bass and piano - your grandma would love it too. Finally there's "Close to me", a song that's sounds as if it's been put together in the kitchen with string and sellotape, which is what gives it it's charm.
There's a lot of other songs on this album, but for me it's those 5 that make this compilation a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curiosity, 21 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Staring At The Sea - The Singles (Audio CD)
A better CD than the best of as it has all the singles. I hadn't heard some for many years but still as fresh etc as when they were firt released. They don't make them like this anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic introduction to The Cure..., 12 April 2008
This review is from: Staring At The Sea - The Singles (Audio CD)
...but I do wonder why they insist on making a cd like this, with mostly singles from albums and then one or two non-album releases that you can't find anywhere else. This has some of my favourite ever songs on it, but if I were to buy this album, it would be for the two or so songs that I don't have - it's not really fair/value for money for long time fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Most played album In Antarctica, 15 Oct 2007
By 
Darren Collis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Staring At The Sea - The Singles (Audio CD)
With the exception of 'the walk' which we skipped whenever we could, this was the album that kept the Captain and I awake while steering through Icebergs at night.
Killing an Arab is perfect if you forgive the title, 10.15 could be put on repeat play to clear the bridge, Boys Don't Cry has a melody hard to dislike, A Forest is menacingly brilliant and the closing trio of songs from the 'Head on the Door' album paint a rich and deep picture of the mind of the writers.
If you don't have a Cure album, you need this one plus thier last 'great' album 'Disintigration'.
Unless you are into bland pop - stick to the 70's and 80's Cure!

Darren Collis - Sea Shepherd Quatermaster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their Best Compilation, 27 Oct 2014
By 
This review is from: Staring At The Sea - The Singles (Audio CD)
Probably the best greatest hits compilation of The Cure's career so far until someone releases a definitive double CD greatest hits.

Contains all the classics up until 1987.

The period 1987 to 1997 is covered by their second greatest hits compilation Galore.

If you need a compilation with more modern hits on it get Galore which covers the period 1987 to 1997 or the other Best Of, but for me the earlier stuff was better.

If you can afford it, buy all three - they're all good!

This and Mixed Up are probably the best compilations of their work released so far.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Meeeeh, 5 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Staring At The Sea - The Singles (Audio CD)
This album has all the singles on it yes but strangely for me I would spend my money on Disintegration ,again nothing wrong with this collection but not all the singles were hits and as a newish cure fan some sound very dated but old school cure fans will prob love this and new fans or people unsure get disintegration a true masterpiece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Staring At The Sea - The Singles (Audio CD)
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Easy Cure for SIngles, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Staring At The Sea - The Singles (Audio CD)
Party of my LP replacement process - highly recommended for any Cure fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Staring At The Sea - The Singles (Audio CD)
Used to have this on vinyl. A great singles collection so many years ago and still going. What a special band.
Great price and quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Staring At The Sea - The Singles
Staring At The Sea - The Singles by The Cure (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews