Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Psychedelic Classic, 7 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Head [1994 Bonus] (Audio CD)
Forget the zany, madcap Monkees that sang cheeky pop songs such as Last Train To Clarksville and I'm A Believer, this is a collection of experimental songs that even Radiohead would be hard pressed to match!
The soundtrack to the 1968 movie of the same name (it even includes sound bites from the film) Head starts with a psychedelic masterpiece, The Porpoise Song, that wouldn't sound out of place on Sergeant Pepper.
It is a mass of swirling 60's organs and dreamy vocals by Micky Dolenz - a truly under-rated singer - if you have not heard this song before, prepare to be absolutely astonished! The other stand out track is the beautiful As We Go Along. This is one of the most touching ballads ever recorded, Dolenz again singing tenderly to an acoustic backing supplied by Neil Young, Carole King and Ry Cooder(!) The price of the album is worth it for these two songs alone. Sheer excellence!
Circle Sky is Mike Nesmith's wonderful attempt at punk, 8 years before it happened and Can You Dig It has an eastern feel which adds to the colour of the album. Do I Have To Do This All Over Again features a rare Peter Tork vocal, and tumbles wildly into a fantastic guitar break and frenzied fade out. Oh, and Davy Jones sings one as well, but still...
If you are looking to buy a Monkees album with all the hits on, then go for the greatest hits collections. If you are looking for an interesting, intelligent album that over the years has matured into a cult classic, then look no further. Head this way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surreal, fun and funky, 2 Feb 2000
This review is from: Head [1994 Bonus] (Audio CD)
Not at all what I expected from this band - no Beach Boys-y stuff. Just as mad as the series with some excellent tunes. Calm ones, manic ones, romantic ones and Head ones. Several bits of wacked out text as well. Excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some Outstanding Recordings in a Mixed Bag, 17 Sep 2006
By 
Morten Vindberg (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Head (Audio CD)
"Head" was the last Monkees album to feature all four original members. Guitarist Pete Tork left the band shortly after finishing the album.

Though it's a soundtrack and not a regular album it contains some of the Monkees' finest recordings. Especially the two Carole King songs "Porpoise Song" and "As We Go Along" are outstanding. Also Tork's "Can You Dig it" and Nesmith's "Circle Sky" are Monkees classics.

Only 6 tracks on the original album are actually music. The rest of it is soundclips and dialouge; some of it quite entertaining.

Taken from the sleeve notes Jack Nicholson played a big part in the album's/movie's creation, which sounds to be pretty weird.

The bonus tracks are mostly alternate takes - most interesting is the fine live version of "Circle Sky" recorded in May 1968.

The list of guest musicians is impressive, featuring names like Leon Russell, Bill Chadwick, Dewey Martin, Carole King, Neil Young and Ry Cooder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "supernatural, perhaps: baloney Perhaps not", 27 Oct 2003
By 
Freidun Taravosh (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Head [1994 Bonus] (Audio CD)
a fascinating disc..
although I first got familiar with the monkees with their
thight direct sparklin and polished early products like song in the type of "Im a beliver and theme from the monkees"
Regardless of this while after reading reviews of their discs and listening to outtakes and such.. my intrest för my first purchase in their catalog came to be "The official soundtrack för their 1968 film head"
There is a cool spirit surrounding this whole disc Its clearly alot more loose and less clean than the early songs perhaps
but there is obvoius quality in this... more free form monkees

and therefor I wish for all listners not be "freightened" by this release
Beacuse they really went in deep for this production
with a mix of the groovy organ and echofphrased flow of propoise song from the wacky but yet truthfull ditty diego (warchant) that really show the monkees making fun of themselves
there is also amazing sound collages .. although some rather bizarre that are put inbetween the songs(coordinated by film director jack nicholson) somtimes mixed with parts of the songs in the middle or just neat dialogs mixed prior to the songs
as far as the songs goes each of them are great the dreamy spirit about them is always perhaps the most catchy is davy Jones little swingin number daddys song that has some neat jazzy orchestra work with it aswell
while the rock n roll is at high peak on circle sky and also on Pete Torks "Do have to do this all over again" that features a great mix between both rock blues and even a more folkier sound during the flute part, a more gentler piece is their with the little mellow swing of the amazing as we go along, a little folkie inspiered tune that even features neil young on guitar(!)
I find this album being a fantastic piece dispite the bizarre sound collages that makes you wonder whatta hell is going on,, the charm of this soundtrack as a whole and the neat structure of both the soundtrack as a colletive and the songs one by one are fascinating just listen to the arrangement of can you dig it for instance,
this is truley great.. but it seems to be an overlooked disc
Perhaps beacuse of how the structure tend to seem as uttery conufusing at first listen for some..
Wacked yes.. but with emotion coolness and groove
(and session musician for the doors, doug lubahn, the bassist also plays bass here for monkees on propoise song,by the way)
This a great produced effort
I STRONGLY RECOMMEND IT
allthough I havent seen the film yet
this amazes me
I think its great cause its simply got the flow
the bonus track gives an intresting look at working with songs aswell
Open your ears for the Monkees
and open your ears for head.. which with its neat.. yet spacey production can still manage to be focused and amaze
Maybe it spawned out of the total confusion of beatles magical mystery tour
but its 100% better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting record, used to have a vinyl copy. Good to hear it again., 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head [1994 Bonus] (Audio CD)
What happens when manufactured pop stars start to rattle their cage? The record company throws them to the wolves, but they got this interesting chunk of sfx, dialogue (too little) music out before they were consumed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Head cd by the monkees, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head [1994 Bonus] (Audio CD)
I thought head cd was fabulous. I would recommend it to all monkees fans,and anyone else who likes 60's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cup of cold gravy with a hair in it please..., 23 Jan 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head [1994 Bonus] (Audio CD)
One of the top bands of the past 30 years IMHO and also one of the best sounds of the past 50! Their greatest hits album will appeal to all those groovers which enjoyed the "bubble gum" pop they spurted out early on - I mean, Neil Diamonds finest hour was "Last Train to.....".
With their emergence on tv - a film was sure to follow and what the public got was not the formulaic "Hour and a half tv episode" but a mish mash of experimental sounds and weird comedy knitted in part by Lord Jack Nicholson himself no less! Well the movie bombed because of a number of reasons but the soundtrack did better at the time and with this you can hear why, the originally penned tunes are vibrant, weird and catchy all at once especially Peter Torks "Do I have to do this all again" and Nesmiths "Circle Sky" which just run around your head once they are in there!
My only criticism of the album is that with only 6 "proper" tracks it leaves you wanting more but some of the sampled dialogue is funny and weird at the same time, shame no more tunes tho.
All in all a surprisingly good album for fans of the catchy weird school of tunes.
Top stuff....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 9 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Head [1994 Bonus] (Audio CD)
Imagine the likes of Westlife or Blazin Squad releasing an album of imaginative psychadelia to go with an experimental avant garde 60's movie...you can't can you??
The Monkees did, proving that the 60's even gave us interesting manufactured bands.
An uneven album really, not to everybodys taste but enough to warrant a little bit of your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa1306780)

This product

Head [1994 Bonus]
Head [1994 Bonus] by Monkees (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews