Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars bob geldof
this was his first album without the rats...though it never charted and sank without trace there are some nice ttacks on it."i cry too"
Published 16 months ago by jesse

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good 80's music
I got the c.d. single 'Is this the world calling' in the 80's & finally got the album this year..
Published 3 months ago by Andrew


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars good 80's music, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep in the Heart of Nowhere (Audio CD)
I got the c.d. single 'Is this the world calling' in the 80's & finally got the album this year..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bob geldof, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep in the Heart of Nowhere (Audio CD)
this was his first album without the rats...though it never charted and sank without trace there are some nice ttacks on it."i cry too"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An overlooked gem, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i bought this album way back in 1986 when it first came out. I had the vinyl then found out that there were more tracks on the cassette version so bought that too. What a joy to find out that it was made available on CD and it sounds just as fresh as it did years ago. From the opening bars of of This is the world calling this album is full of melodic pop tunes like August was a heavy month, Love like a rocket (both with some great guitar from Eric Clapton), This heartless heart and the almost reggae sounding Good boys in the wrong.
You can almost hear geldofs voices about to break on the two short acoustic numbers Truly true blue and the title track aswell as the big ballad I cry too.
There is the van Morrison inspired Beat of the night which was never a favourite when I was younger but is one of tose tunes that grows on you as the years pass. Altogether this is indeed a fantastic album that time has forgot, released within a year of Live-Aid and featuring an array of guests it should have done alot more than it did. It also kicks Geldofs later stuff out of the water. Give it a try
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Underated!!!!, 8 Dec 2012
By 
E. Fowkes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep in the Heart of Nowhere (Audio CD)
This was Geldof's first album after the turmoil of organising the Live Aid event and the hard work he put into the whole Aid movement. The album was very much anticipated but fell flat on it's face, it seemed the public at the time had had enough of Sir Bob's voice, the press gave it very little and it only charted in the 70's.
I bought it back on tape then and personally couldn't play it enough, listening to it 25 years on it has stood the test of time getting better with age like a fine wine. There is no doubt that the album is far better than the both the press and chart position it received back then and now it should be listened to for what it really is, a fantastic set of tracks from a man needing to get back to his musical reality.
He sings from the heart and his voice is powerful, beautiful and the whole album is absolutely brilliant!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geldof doing what he does best., 30 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Deep in the Heart of Nowhere (Audio CD)
Bob Geldof's ability to express his pain in his music is much underrated. This CD is like all of Geldof/Boomtown Rats' CDs in that he has always written songs for himself and not as commercial successes. To his core of fans (and I'm one of them) this is what we like most about him. His lyrics make us sit up and listen. I am amazed that his later music wasn't more of a commercial success. 'Love Like A Rocket' should have been a hit. I have always felt that he should rerelease some of his solo songs now as they are well suited to today's UK market. If he wants help selecting them, I'm his man! For me 'In The Pouring Rain', 'When I Was Young', 'This Heartless Heart', 'Pulled Apart By Horses' and 'Night Turns To Day' are classic Geldof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first album and the best, 4 Aug 2009
By 
Mark Carne (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just bought this on CD after years of not listening to it as my original was on tape. Still brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deep in the Heart of Nowhere
Deep in the Heart of Nowhere by Bob Geldof (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews