Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars35
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2005
The much anticipated follow up to 1985's The Head On The Door sees Robert Smith writing about the joys of love when you have it and contrastingly the pain, heartbreak and torture of rejection.
The album opens with a gothic masterpiece in its own right. The Kiss is a gloomy, moody, gory tale of self-rehabilitation. Smith sings "you nail me to the floor and push my guts all inside out" as he is trying to get a past flame out of his head by demonising her. He slurs, "I wish you were dead" repeatedly as if to re-emphasise his hatred and feelings towards her. The song is only lyrical for the last two of the six-minute epic that allows the listener a stunning, instrumental opening to the album thanks to the remaining members of the group. Further tracks such as Torture and Snakepit reassure listeners that The Cure have not lost the post-punk goth rock that wowed fans back in the early 80's.
The more optimistic side of the album proves that The Cure are not a one-trick pony with only one style. Just Like Heaven provides us with a beautiful piece of alternative rock with absolutely fantastic keyboard work from Porl Thompson. The piece contains brilliantly crafted music that nearly equals Smith's tear jerking lyrics. "found myself alone alone alone above the raging sea, that stole the only girl I loved and drowned her deep inside of me". The heartbreaking, metaphorical verses displays Smith's poetic side and show that there is more to him than black hair dye and red lipstick. Continuing the optimistic feel, the album produces some superbly catchy dance tracks like Hot Hot Hot !!! and Why Can't I Be You? that do not quite match the previous success of hits such as Close To Me but still give us some cheerful kicks.
For an album originally containing eighteen tracks, most would not think that the phrase all killer no filler would apply. But it does. The album contains eighteen well-crafted songs that are only partially let down by the repetitiveness of a few tracks. Nevertheless, Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me is a near perfect piece with something that will always match your mood.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2012
One of the greatest Cure albums - but then that can be a tough call to make given the quality of their output over the years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2016
Wonderful from first hearing. Instrumentals are hidden treasures.
This is why The Cure always sell out at their gigs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
Ahhh the good old days bonus with Hot Hot Hotf
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2006
Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me came as the second of a run of three classic albums from The Cure. It built on the alt-rock sound of The Head on the Door and contained a few pointers towards Disintergration.

The remastered sound is excellent.

The bonus disc is obviously aimed at fans, but is also an enjoyable listen in its own right.

A note for those wondering why Hey You! was originally left off the CD. When CDs first emerged, the format used had a maximum playing time of a few seconds over 74 minutes. A few years later the format was altered, increasing the playing time to 80 minutes (more recently it became possible to squeeze just over 82 minutes on a CD, but this can cause problems with some players).
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2007
The most addictive romantic album,all credit to Mr smith if you enjoy the arts and romantic poetry this album is for you. The more you listen to it the deeper it drags you in .
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
First things first. I love this album and have done for 25 years. It has some of the Cure's best tracks. But it feels bloated and unnecessary in parts, and I've always felt that it would have worked better as a single album akin to either Head on the Door or Disintegration, running somthing like:

Why Can't I Be You
If Only Tonight...
How Beautiful You Are
All I Want
Catch

Hey You!
Just Like Heaven
One More Time
Perfect Girl
Thousand Hours

Just like Heaven and Catch are two of the best and most accessible Cure tracks, while Perfect Girl, How Beautiful You Are and A Thousand Hours follow in a similar vein and offer a core of beautiful pop songs to anchor the album around. Why Can't I Be You? has an iconic quality, even if I wouldn't put it up with their best singles. If Only Tonight ... offers a lazy,drugged out groove inflected with a vague Eastern edge. I'd chuck in Hey You!, All I Want and One More Time as the more interesting of the remaining tracks.

The less interesting in my view are the dirge like throwbacks that offer a pale imitation of the dark masterpieces of Faith and Pornography. Porl Thompson had listened to a bit too much Led Zep when putting together some of the guitar parts and we'd all be better off without The Kiss, Torture and the Snake Pit. Icing Sugar is real filler b-side stuff and though Like Cockatoos is OK, it's really no more than that. Shiver and Shake is interesting once or twice to get a listen of Smith's invective against his former bandmate, but otherwise jars, while Fight feels like an inferior version of Push from HotD. Last of all, I'm not sure if Hot, Hot, Hot existed before pizza adverts or if pizza adverts existed before Hot, Hot, Hot, but I'm thinking melting mozzarella from the first bar, which is unhealthy on a number of levels!
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
v.happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
I love the Cure and own every record they have released, but, this is my least favourite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
Having become a bit of a cure fan around a year ago, I started buying their albums (in no specific order).
I started with disintegration,wish then head at the door. I then bought this album and I must say I was quite disapointed.
For me, it has far too much filler and mediocre tracks. Just like heaven is an amazing track and stands out from the rest of the album.
I would recommend buying head at the door instead ( if you already own disintegration).
Cheers!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)