Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best rock album I own
The band 'took a break', following the lower than expected sales of New Jersey, during which time the music climate changed significantly, with grunge becoming the predominant force in rock music. KEEP THE FAITH sought to change that, and gave pure rock fans exactly what they were crying out for - huge choruses, amazing vocals and classic guitar riffs & solos - all...
Published on 11 May 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep the Faith
A little predictable, specially sine Dry County (a pretentious long piece)... but it still rocks "Keep the Faith", "If I Was Your Mother" and "I'll Sleep When I'm Dead" and two great ballads: "Bed of Roses" and "In These Arms"
Published on 16 Nov 2011 by Lord Anon


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best rock album I own, 11 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Keep The Faith (Audio CD)
The band 'took a break', following the lower than expected sales of New Jersey, during which time the music climate changed significantly, with grunge becoming the predominant force in rock music. KEEP THE FAITH sought to change that, and gave pure rock fans exactly what they were crying out for - huge choruses, amazing vocals and classic guitar riffs & solos - all lacking in the grunge scene. It is probably the image change that the band took at this time, which allowed them to remain at the forefront of rock music, (do we still here from 'Poison' or 'Motley Crue'?), but the music more than speaks for itself. Here we have the typical hook filled ballads, typical of Bon Jovi, such as In These Arms and Bed of Roses, huge power rock songs like Keep the Faith, I Believe and If I Was Your Mother, and classic rock'n'rollers such as Sleep when I'm Dead, Blame it on the Love of Rock'n'Roll and my personal favourite Little Bit of Soul....I would suggest you check this one out. Truly a great rock'n'roll record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow. The band at their best, 16 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Keep The Faith (Audio CD)
This album is simply incredible. Every single song is superb, and it is the best the band have ever produced (and thats saying somthing.) There's the awsome all out rock opener of "I believe", the clasic "keep the faith" and the awsome upbeat "I'll sleep when im dead". "in these arms" is another rocky love tune, and "Bed of Roses" is a beautiful soft ballad. Then theres possibly the best song on the album, the 10 minute Rock rollercoster of "Dry County", featuring Ritchie Sambora with one of the best Guitar solos you'll ever hear. I could describe all the tracks, becuase they certainly all deserve it, but i'll just say if you like Bon Jovi in any way at all, and you all should, then buy this album. It's an absolute masterpiece,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bon Jovi are back in the 1990s, 18 Nov 2002
By 
Helen Yates "ecco1983" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keep The Faith (Audio CD)
If somebody said that after the break of New Jersey that Bon Jovi would go away and never comeback, well sombody lied and this album proves it!!!!
They show a great rock and roll without referring to New Jersey or Slippery (face it- they were almost identical). Theyve matures and they show a "Live for the day" attitude. From "I'll Sleep when Im dead" to the tear jerking "Bed of Roses" this album shows that Bon Jovi are not going down without a fight!!!
5/5
Helen
xxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album Ever. Period. (In my humble opinion!), 26 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Keep The Faith (Audio CD)
4 years separated the release of 'Faith' from previous album 'New Jersey'. The band describe this time as a period of discovering whether they even liked being in the band they were in. Jon Bon Jovi did the soundtrack for Young Guns 2. Richie proved himself to be an incredible solo artist with his first offering 'Stranger in This town' (well worth a listen). Speculation was that the band was about to split. Thank God for our sakes they didn't! 'Keep the Faith' was a perfect return. The perms had gone (bar Dave Bryan, who still holds true to the way!), the sound was more grown up, the songs were earth shattering. Don't believe me? Well listen to the damn thing! 'I believe', 'Keep the Faith'(the best song ever, pure genious.), 'Sleep When I'm Dead', 'Fear', 'If I was your mother' (still the heaviest song they've recorded) 'Little Bit of Soul', 'Save a Prayer' (only on the UK and I think Aus. versions. Before they took off one of the best songs the band had written in place of a video in the remasters. Aah, record companies!) and 'Dry County' are all incredible songs. 'Dry County' really showed the band's song writing ability reach new levels. A 10 minute long epic with probably one of the best guitar solo's in rock history, as the band up a gear and double time the song for two amazing minutes of guitar playing. Marvellous! If there's one thing to define this album it's the fact that 'Women in Love' is the worst song on the album, a great little toe tapping, butt shaking number, it's just brilliant fun song. And the low point on the album. Which basically means there isn't a moment on the album when you want to skip tracks or fast forward. The career defining album from Bon Jovi. It's just a shame that this was so good, because everything they've done since has appeared slightly pale in comparison (but still very good!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CAREFUL WHEN YOU BUY THIS!, 28 Dec 2006
By 
J. C. Chamberlain (Manchester, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep The Faith (Audio CD)
This is a great album but be careful when you buy it! Make sure you get the digitally remasted one, not the old one (you can tell the disks that have been digitally remastered as they have a red band around the outside of the disk)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure rock adrenalin, 3 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Keep The Faith (Audio CD)
Keep the faith is just pure american rock. Its hard to decribe. Its got all the characteristics of a great rock album. Strong bold drums, steady guitar, throbbing bass. The album contains heavier, rockier songs (women in love, i believe) along with strong classic bon jovi ballads (bed of roses, all i wanted was you) with pure rock dongs (in these arms, fear). I just love this album, and serves as a good over view of your staedy strong rock. Keep the faith is a good album to buy if you are just starting to buy rock, or if you have started listening to bon jovi. Also try my personal bon jovi favorite - these days. A further review is with it on its page
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bon Jovi at their career-best, 28 July 2005
This review is from: Keep The Faith (Audio CD)
Bon Jovi were on the verge of terminally languishing in the almost-great league at the end of the 80's, until this excellent record launched them into the rock-stratosphere.
Bon Jovi were never on the verge of threatening to innovate a new form of rock - they took the foundations laid down by others and turned them into superbly crafted, feel-good, uplifting songs that quite rightly made them phenomenally successful. As a band they very clearly grew up listening to Bruce Springsteen, Aerosmith, and the blues in all its guises, and these influences have equipped them well.
Softer than heavy metal, harder than most AOR, in 1990 Bon Jovi turned their very significant air-punching-rock skills (of "Living On A Prayer", "Bad Medecine" etc etc) to producing an album of powerful, mature and strong songs, from the building, driving opening combo of "I Believe" & "Keep The Faith" to the tender "Bed Of Roses". The mamoth "Dry County" (at ten minutes) is a classic which many thought Bon Jovi just couldn't make. The strength of the singles is enough to commend this album, but the album tracks shine too. There are layers of detail to the songs which demand repeat listens - piano scrawls, guitar punctuation, tremendous drumming and some fantastic basslines which really drive the songs forward.
Richie Sambora (responsible for some of the best air-guitar fodder) displays a new depth and soleful-ness to his playing, further evidenced on his solo albums. Tico Torres is more powerful than before, and with production that is a fine line between polish and grit, the sound is convincing. Alec Such on bass provides a fantastic musicality and movement to the songs and Dave Bryan's keyboard/piano work was never better - some great blues sections where he just tears it up, to tender ballad piano.
This is an album that is exactly that - an album. The opening four tracks leave you elevated, engaged and energized unlike any many albums, and the pacing is pretty good. this is a record that can just be put in the cd player, and left there until the end without hitting 'skip'. You might hit 'skip-back' a few times, but not 'skip-forward'. As an album there are only a couple of tracks that don't hit the highest Bon Jovi standard, and the album lacks the hunger and raw energy of "Slippery When Wet" or (the under-rated) "New Jersey", but it is a more complete album and is better equipped to withstand the test of time than it's predecessors. The freneticism of Slippery is tiring after a while, and only "Living on a Prayer" and "Dead or Alive" really last on the ear.
It is unlikely Bon Jovi will ever better this fantastic album, but let it not be forgotten that this is an excellent piece of work, and if they produce nothing else, the symphony of "Slippery", "New Jersey" and "Keep the Faith" surely justify their place in popular rock history.
14 years on from first release, it still sounds fresh. Under the "remastered" label, the album has been refreshed, repolished and repackaged. The production was taught, complex and crunchy before, but now has a new clarity and depth to the bass, crispness to the drums. An excellent example of updating and truly justifying the "remastered" moniker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eclipses everything they've done since, 18 Jun 2007
By 
M. Simper "musicalspanner" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keep The Faith (Audio CD)
It says something about the quality of 'Keep the Faith' when an album as good as 'These Days' can't hold a candle to it. This has always been my favourite Bon Jovi album and unless they can pull something out of the bag with future releases then this will always be their greatest work.

It startles me to find 5 star reviews of Crush, Bounce, Have a Nice Day and Lost Highway because none of them have been anywhere near the level of songwriting and musicianship of Keep the Faith. This is a truly brilliant piece of work that I doubt the band will ever better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A faultless rock album!, 30 Mar 2010
This review is from: Keep The Faith (Audio CD)
I will be honest. To say I called myself a Bon Jovi fan and that they were my favourite band, this is the first album I actually bought of their's (other than 'Have a Nice Day' which I borrowed off a friend and the songs I had downloaded)and I was totally blown away.

From start to finish this album just keeps pumping them out like a canon. It is one of the best hard rock albums I own.

You think you have got a good deal with the first 6 tracks of this album, the catchy 'Keep the Faith' the power ballad of 'Bed of Roses' and the grit your teeth sing-along-with blast of 'If I was your Mother' and then you hit the legendary track 7 (which I have a theory is nearly always the best on an album) 'Dry County.'I would have bought the album just for this song. I experienced that brilliant feeling of not quite believing that such a song has been created and more importantly that you have not heard of it. Just superb! I just love it, even the rest of the album does not disappoint. Many a time now I have sang at the top of my lungs 'Blame it on the love of Rock & Roll' and thoroughly enjoyed it.

This album is so well worth the money it's funny. If you want a taste of Bon Jovi buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The third "masterpeice" from Bon Jovi!, 27 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Keep The Faith (Audio CD)
KTF saw the welcome return of Bon Jovi after a 3 year break, confirming that they were still together and just as good as ever. This album is stacked with punchy rock songs that make you feel good. The ballads aren't bad either! "Bed or Roses" went on to be a huge hit along with the title track "Keep the Faith". This is a Fantastic allbum and my personal favourite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Keep the Faith
Keep the Faith by Bon Jovi (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews