Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Divine!
Although released after Divine's untimely passing, this collection of singles and b-sides was billed as his first proper album. And rightly so. It's a cohesive mix of Hi-NRG dance classics that were sizeable hits in the UK at the time, even getting Divine banned from TOTP for his outrageous performance!
This album was originally released on CD in Germany by ZYX and...
Published 12 months ago by D. Turner

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC DRAG MUSIC DEVINE
VERY OF THE TIME AND A GREAT DRAG QUEEN AT HIS BEST ,REMEMBER HIS SONG "YOU THINK YOUR A MAN" REAL FLOOR DRAMATIC DANCE SONG .
Published 5 months ago by markus


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Divine!, 23 July 2013
By 
D. Turner (Cardiff, Wales, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although released after Divine's untimely passing, this collection of singles and b-sides was billed as his first proper album. And rightly so. It's a cohesive mix of Hi-NRG dance classics that were sizeable hits in the UK at the time, even getting Divine banned from TOTP for his outrageous performance!
This album was originally released on CD in Germany by ZYX and subsequently by Tring in the UK under the title "You Think You're A Man", and has been long out of print. So it's great to see it given the Cherry Red reissue treatment. The bonus 'Trumpet Mix' of "Hey You!" has been dropped from its German counterpart (and to be honest, there was very little difference between this mix and the version on the album anyway) and the 12" versions of "You Think You're A Man", "I'm So Beautiful" and "Walk Like A Man" have been added instead. The colour of the cover has also been changed from yellow to the more appropiate pink. And it sounds FANtastic!
A special mention also needs to be made for the superb artwork. The jewel cased CD contains a lovely 12 page booklet; with a biography, relevant UK discography and full page reproductions of those classic single sleeves. Divine stuff!
Highly recommended and top marks to Cherry Red for another superb reissue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80s nightclub mixes!, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved Divine in the 80s! You Think You're A Man 12 inch was a night club classic,as soon as this came on,the dance floor was heaving! Stock Aitkin and waterman worked their magic on this hit and I'm So Beautiful. This release was a godsend as my 12 inch vinyl is long gone.5 stars to cherry pop for including these must have extended versions!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oh,,, happy memories of the 80's. You had to be there to appreciate this music (!) and the icon Divine... Saturdays nights in Newcastle..... Those were the days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A DIVINE collection of classics, 2 Jan 2014
A superb collection of some of the most entertaining PWL-productions at the time. Many of them still works today. But why, WHY, is the original dance version of Twistin The Night Away missing?! Such a shame! It was much better than the featured remix, and all the effort to give the buyers a complete set of mixes got lost. Would have been 5/5 if been included. Divine is missed. Bless you, dear angel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hi-NRG heaven, 9 Dec 2013
By 
L. W. Bowler "Lee" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You Think You're A Man is worth 10 alone! I can remember discovering this track when looking through a DJ's record box - the 12" cover got my attention, who, what is this?? Needless to say I 'borrowed' the 12" single and took it home to have listen. It was stunning - i'd never heard anything like it before - it was so uplifting and full of power, I adored it. I still know very little about Divine and to be honest, i'm not a true fan of his voice. The 12" single has since got astray and i always wanted a remastered/CD edition of the track and that glorious 12" mix. Needless to say, I became addicted to that Stock, Aiken and Waterman sound - yes it became very watered down from 1987 onwards but to me, its melodic, was the sound of my youth and I can still hear You Think You're A Man in every track SAW produced!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Divines Classics, 7 Aug 2013
I got this item right after it was released;What can i say it brings me back to the powerful music of the 80ties with a brilliant sound quality....absolutley amazing. CHERRY POP I LOVE YOU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good updated edition, but could have been better, 10 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. D "Mr. D" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is for: Maid In England (Expanded Edition)

The album is enjoyable camp Hi-NRG pop, lightweight and fun. What we have here is a very straight-forward reissue of the previously released edition, now adding 3 bonus 12" mixes; "You Think You're A Man", "I'm So Beautiful" and "Walk Like A Man". The sound quality on these 3 tracks is noticeably improved from previous CDs. However, with the inclusion of these 12" mixes it would have made more sense to drop the two edits of "You Think You're A Man" and "I'm So Beautiful". Both of these are identical versions only with the intros crudely chopped off. "You Think Your A Man" is 8:02 with a 2:16 intro on the full 12" version, edited to 6:59 with a minute of the intro chopped off on the shorter version. "I'm So Beautiful" is similarly edited from 7:53 to 7:08. So effectively these 2 tracks are included twice and take up disc space that could have been otherwise utilised. The reclaimed 15 minutes of disc space would have allowed for the 12" version of "Hard Magic" and/or the 7" mixes of the singles; "I'm So Beautiful" and "Walk Like A Man". None of these tracks have appeared on CD so far. It is of course possible that the master tapes no longer exist. One thing I especially like in the booklet is that photographs of all of the single covers are included and given a full page for each. That's a nice touch.

Here is the track list with the track timings, so you can see exactly what is included:
01) Divine's Theme 2:10
02) You Think You're A Man 6:59
03) Give It Up 2:45
04) I'm So Beautiful 7:08
05) Show Me Around 3:17
06) Walk Like A Man (Remix) 5:27
07) Twistin' The Night Away (Remix) 5:34
08) Good Time '88 3:45
09) Hard Magic (Magic Mix) 3:22
10) Little Baby (Remix) 6:15
11) Hey You! (Remix) 5:42
12) Divine Reprise 0:56
Bonus tracks:
13) You Think You're A Man (12" Mix) 8:02
14) I'm So Beautiful (12" Mix) 7:53
15) Walk Like A Man/Man Talk (12" Mix) 7:44

I can also recommend "The Hit Collection" for the earlier Bobby Orlando produced tracks. I have also reviewed that CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MY DIVINE COLLECTION, 23 Dec 2013
By 
Bradley S Martell (calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
IT IS NO SECRET THAT DIVINE COULDN'T REALLY SING!!! THIS DIDN'T STOP HIM FROM HAVING A FANTASTIC RECODING CAREER. PWL/ STOCK /AITKEN / WATERMAN / NOT ONLY PRODUCED THIS ALBUM BUT WROTE A LOT OF THE MATERIAL. THIS RECORD IS A CLASSIC & EVERYONE WHO EVEN GOES CLUBBING KNOWS ALL OF DIVINE'S HITS. I LOVE THIS RECORD & I AM SO HAPPY THAT CHEERY POP RECORDS INCLUDED THE 12' REMIXES. SOME OF THIS REMIXES WERE ONLY AVAILABLE ON VINYL. I RECCOMEND THIS ALBUM TO ANYONE WHO LOVES REAL DANCE MUSIC FROM THE 80'S. CHEERS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Expanded, but still missing some alternate releases related to this album., 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was kind of hoping that this release would have included more from the label re-releasing this. B-sides, singles etc. relating to the songs included on this disc. But still its better than none at all with the few 12" versions that have been added.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As it said made in England, he was a one off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maid in England
Maid in England by Divine (Audio CD)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews